We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location A Refreshing and Relaxing Change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
21 Derb Chtouka | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0) 524 38 18 51
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location A Refreshing and Relaxing Change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our Riad owner. A peaceful and pretty spot - Le Jardin offered a small but interesting menu of lovely dishes. Service was excellent and the food delicious. A 'treat' compared to other venues offering similar dishes at a more reasonable cost; however if you choose to have a night off from tagines and couscous Les Jardins offers some intersting international dishes cooked and presented beautifully. I thoroughly enjoyed the Thai veal and banana fritter. Recommended mainly for older friends and couples looking for a quiet spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    227
    101
    18
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely but a bit slow service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On our first night in Marrakech, our riad next door kindly suggested trying this restaurant and after some drinks at the bar, we had a delicious meal of lamb shanks. The restaurant is beautiful and the outdoor seating is very romantic.
The only downside to our evening was the service which unfortunately became slower during the evening. Our pregnant waitress tried her best but it was busy and it was at least 15 minutes before anyone took our plates so we didn't fancy dessert.
A delicious meal though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A poor experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After being recommended this restaurant we booked expecting a fantastic meal ..............
However, despite seven waiters wandering around, we endured two hours of slow, poor service and the wrong meals being served. This was due to the waitress not communicating with the kitchen we were told. Perhaps if she had listened to our requests things would have been a lot better and, as a vegetarian, I wouldn't have been served the meat I didn't order.
I had to ask for bread as all the other tables had some already, the drinks were very slow in coming, and then the trouble started.
Of the three courses ordered two were wrong - really they couldn't do much to a bowl of ice cream so that was fine but even then I had to remind them we had ordered it.
The General Manager asked how our meal was, and after a conference in the kitchen, we were offered our meals at half price - and given a glass of champagne each.
But even the bill was wrong and by this time we had given it up as a bad experience. The excuse was that they were busy but if the staff had actually been on the ball the experience might have been better. A very poor experience indeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Directeur général at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir

Please let me give you another perspective with regards to your comments above. It’s true that due to a language barrier there was a misunderstanding, and that the head waiter did not quite understand that your wife wanted a dish without any meat. But the ‘salade gourmande’ that she chose, also included ham amongst its many ingredients. We go to a lot of trouble to employ Moroccan staff, who can master ‘the language of Shakespeare’.
However, and you confirmed this to me, you were completely satisfied with the other dishes you ate. According to my promise, I did not hesitate in not charging you for this dish. After this, you ordered a dessert - a selection of home-made ice-creams, which was billed to you at the normal 80 dhs (£6) and not £7. I should also like to point out, that on top of my first good-will gesture, I chose to offer you two complimentary glasses of champagne, without being asked, in order to apologise for this regrettable misunderstanding.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal - excellent surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had booked the restaurant to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, and were not disappointed. The meal was fantastic, and was easily comparable to a Michelin Star restaurant in London - one of the best meals we have ever had. On the expensive side, but well worth it. The surroundings were wonderful, and the staff were very attentive. Will definitely be going again if we visit Marrakech.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Les Jardins de la Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Does not take much time to see it but definitely on a must see in Marrakech. Hop on Hop off buses do stop here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.