We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food, a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 589 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We found this on our first night as a place open in the area. It has a really nice setting, and the staff are very friendly. The food was beautifully cooked and excellently presented. It is quite a lot more expensive that any of the surrounding places but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Directeur général at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I want tho thank tou for your very nice comment about our restaurant, a part of Les Jardins de la Medina Boutique Hotel
You have to know that la Table des Jardins is mainly for the guests of our small boutique hotel. It Is open 7 days a week from 07.30 – 23.00 hours non-stop, and a catering team of 30 persons are on duty daily to the great satisfaction of our guests without exception. far from commercial and touristic places, we just have on service per diner, and our seats are limited for your confort.
La Carte offer a choice of 45 dishes for dinner (and 25 for lunch), using only fresh produce, entirely home-made. In the heart of on of the biggest private garden of Marrakesh, we offer a lunch (starter, main course and dessert) for £18s per person . In the evening, we also offer 2 menus ; the first of Moroccan inspiration for less than £30, and the Tasting Menu, incorporating flavours from here and overseas, for less than £35.
Best regards from Marrakesh, waiting to see you soon!
Luc Fougere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    148
    31
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner in this lovely hotel.
I do not make many reviews but feel that I should.
We are returning to this restaurant again today.
It is set in the kasbah area opposite the tombs, the setting is fantastic as it was a former palace.
The service and food is very good and reasonable for the quality of the hotel.
We had fish of the day with fresh veg it cost £12 each.
We have eaten all over marrakech with the help of trip advisor and we have not been disappointed with any of our choices, thank you everyone for putting your reviews on as it helped us make a fantastic choice.
We would not have found this restaurant without trip advisor.
Most restaurants and riads are in back streets but when you go in them they are fantastic.
Casanova is great for Italian and freshly cooked.
Riad kinza if you want a fantastic road meal in 5 star surroundings.t
Don't be put off by the odd bad co
mment look at the majority vote.
We eat all over the world and we thought that marrakech would be hard to findrestaurants, how wrong we were.
They have some of the best in the world, it is a fantastic place you go from slums to 5 star in a few steps, that is part of marrakech, visit this restaurant you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A lovely cool spot for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here after a 4 1/2hour walking tour of Marrakech so we were very hot, thirsty and tired! It was like an oasis! Cool, shady and welcoming with water spray around the table areas which was appreciated! The staff were friendly and attentive. The 3 course non- resident lunch menu was great value and delicious. Particularly the Melba starter which we had thought would be like a bruschetta (toast?) but turned out to be one of the most delicious cold soups I've ever tried with a sort of iced goats cheese - amazing! The staff organised taxis to take us back to our hotel and the barman looked after us while we waited. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The varied menu and good wine selections are only part of the experience - the beautiful setting in the courtyard of the hotel's gardens and friendly service complete it. If you are not staying here, do ask for a tour at the end of the meal, it was great to have a snoop around the public parts!

This hotel is one of the best examples of an unassuming door leading to somewhere magical that I can think of in Marrakech - and there are lots of those kind of doors around!

It's a pretty big place considering its location and boasts some impressively tall palms as well as the usual variety of colourful flowers and plants, an intriguing 'secret garden gym' and a rather inviting pool. The bar area is also fabulous - huge ceilings, some interesting art and complete relaxation.

Definitely recommend for a stylish, romantic dinner and could be a lunch option if you are visiting the nearby tombs. It's in the Kasbah part of the Medina but accessible by taxi straight to the door if you prefer not to walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were staying at a Riad nearby and went here for a meal one evening. The setting was very pleasant, the staff excellent and friendly and the food {with a good selection) was very good. A lovely evening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.