We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
21 Derb Chtouka | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0) 524 38 18 51
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner in this lovely hotel.
I do not make many reviews but feel that I should.
We are returning to this restaurant again today.
It is set in the kasbah area opposite the tombs, the setting is fantastic as it was a former palace.
The service and food is very good and reasonable for the quality of the hotel.
We had fish of the day with fresh veg it cost £12 each.
We have eaten all over marrakech with the help of trip advisor and we have not been disappointed with any of our choices, thank you everyone for putting your reviews on as it helped us make a fantastic choice.
We would not have found this restaurant without trip advisor.
Most restaurants and riads are in back streets but when you go in them they are fantastic.
Casanova is great for Italian and freshly cooked.
Riad kinza if you want a fantastic road meal in 5 star surroundings.t
Don't be put off by the odd bad co
mment look at the majority vote.
We eat all over the world and we thought that marrakech would be hard to findrestaurants, how wrong we were.
They have some of the best in the world, it is a fantastic place you go from slums to 5 star in a few steps, that is part of marrakech, visit this restaurant you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    263
    115
    23
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A lovely cool spot for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here after a 4 1/2hour walking tour of Marrakech so we were very hot, thirsty and tired! It was like an oasis! Cool, shady and welcoming with water spray around the table areas which was appreciated! The staff were friendly and attentive. The 3 course non- resident lunch menu was great value and delicious. Particularly the Melba starter which we had thought would be like a bruschetta (toast?) but turned out to be one of the most delicious cold soups I've ever tried with a sort of iced goats cheese - amazing! The staff organised taxis to take us back to our hotel and the barman looked after us while we waited. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The varied menu and good wine selections are only part of the experience - the beautiful setting in the courtyard of the hotel's gardens and friendly service complete it. If you are not staying here, do ask for a tour at the end of the meal, it was great to have a snoop around the public parts!

This hotel is one of the best examples of an unassuming door leading to somewhere magical that I can think of in Marrakech - and there are lots of those kind of doors around!

It's a pretty big place considering its location and boasts some impressively tall palms as well as the usual variety of colourful flowers and plants, an intriguing 'secret garden gym' and a rather inviting pool. The bar area is also fabulous - huge ceilings, some interesting art and complete relaxation.

Definitely recommend for a stylish, romantic dinner and could be a lunch option if you are visiting the nearby tombs. It's in the Kasbah part of the Medina but accessible by taxi straight to the door if you prefer not to walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were staying at a Riad nearby and went here for a meal one evening. The setting was very pleasant, the staff excellent and friendly and the food {with a good selection) was very good. A lovely evening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to visit this riad for lunch as it was on the same derb as the riad we were staying.

It wasn't hard to find despite local children asking if you needed help finding it.

Once into the lobby, remember this is a hotel/riad rather than solely a restaurant, we were guided to an outside eating area next to the pool. We went for the buffet lunch which had a selection of mooccan food and some more western meats. The food was nice and tasty but as you find with most buffets, was slightly overpriced.

However it was the setting that made this lunch stand out front others in marrakech. The pool area and gardens were beautiful and quite romantic. We had a walk around after our lunch. We were also offered use of the full size pool area which we would definitely taken up if we had known as it would had been a nice change from the plunge pool in our riad and a great place to relax away the craziness and midday heat of marrakech.

We would recommend for a relaxing lunch if you're not in a structure budget if not just for the pool area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.