We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is laughing at you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
21 Derb Chtouka | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0) 524 38 18 51
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
london
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“The owner is laughing at you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went here on a recommendation, so will no longer take any notice of this persons views. You enter via a bar, with lots of staff milling around doing nothing, but grinning at you. Once in the restaurant the setting is very pleasant, (even romantic) sitting around a large pool, with lots of twinkling lights. The food is good, bland international stuff, the service indifferent/surly & very slow. It's pretentious and selling a mediocre experience at a European price, which is quite outrageous bearing in mind you are in some back street in Marrakech and you are paying for a single person meal what lots of Moroccans' earn in one week. If I ate this meal in London, in a similar setting, I would expect to pay 50% of what we were charged. We left feeling full, but ripped off and I certainly would not recommend it. The only person having a wonderful experience in the owner, when he looks at his bank balance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Directeur général at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam
Your comments caught our attention, and rather than laughingly dismissing them, we would rather take the time to answer them, at the risk of sometimes being contradictory. We consider that the key to our success is through making the best possible offers, balancing quality with price, and that under all circumstances, it Is the satisfaction of our genuine customers that counts the most. This is, for example, the reason why each of our guests is always invited to complete an evaluation of their experience, and this document is later analysed to determine our action plans for improvement.

In the first place, you do not enter the restaurant through the bar but through the Reception area of our riad, which was formerly a princely residence of the Medina. Our hostess then accompanies you to the gardens and to the restaurant beside the pool. The menus at our Riad offer a choice of 45 dishes for dinner (and 25 for lunch), using only fresh produce and they are entirely home-made; from our starters to our desserts, including our pastries and bread. Our argan and olive oils are chosen from carefully selected producers from the region of Essaouira. 60% of our dishes are based on original Moroccan cuisine from different Andalucian, Berber and other regional culinary traditions. We are not like the ‘mass tourist factories’.
Yet given the remarkable character of our place, (the largest private garden in Marrakech) and the small size of our dining area, we limit our number of guests to allow everyone to dine in the best conditions.
Our restaurant is mainly for the guests of our boutique hotel. It Is open 7 days a week from 07.30 – 23.00 hours non-stop, and a catering team of 30 persons are on duty daily to the great satisfaction of our guests without exception. Since we are talking about prices, and in this historic and princely surroundings, we offer a lunch (starter, main course and dessert) for 250Dhs per person (or £18). In the evening, in addition to our "Carte, we offer 2 other menus ; the first of Moroccan inspiration for less than £30, with appetisers included, and a Tasting Menu, incorporating flavours from here and overseas, for less than £35. Finally our wine cellar offers a selection of 14 wines by the glass in addition to our main wine list, a choice of Nespresso coffees or Harney & Sons teas, as well as a choice of digestives, such as pure malt whiskeys, cognacs, old rums and quality liqueurs.

We let our clients make their own choices and comparisons. It is undoubtedly why for these reasons that the Les Jardins de la Medina received the Award of Excellence for its restaurant and for its boutique hotel - The Traveller’s Choice 2013 for Morocco and Africa. So we should like to thank you for allowing us to present our boutique hotel and its restaurant to you in a better way and we invite our readers to discover on Trip Advisor the genuine comments about our services in these two categories, we fully trust their judgement. Please check also our Trip Advisor Comments on the Hotel category.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    123
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FABULOUS food and setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We came here after reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were truly not disappointed. The food was simply delicious, the service was 5 star and this was, without a doubt, the best meal we had in Marrakech. We loved it so much that we came back for a 2nd meal before leaving...and again it was wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

One of the best restaurant in Marrakech. We had a tipical Moroccan dinner. We started with a mix of three different pastilla and then we had one chicken tajine (one of the best I ever had in Morocco), a lamb tajine (very good) and a seafood cous cous (average, and full of veg with few pieces of fish). The atmosphere is nice and altought the temperature was very hot we enjoyed the fresh air created by the vegetation all around. Obviously, the price is expensive compared to most of the restaurants in Marrakech but good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2 twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This restuarant is a little more upmarket but very nice. The surroundings are beautiful. The food is interesting as you can sample from 'here' or 'there' which is different. Staff were very friendly and the service was quick and good. Ambience was nice. You felt you could dress up a little to go there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am so sick and tired of these fancy places that can not live up to what they are trying to be.
Cold food, hot glas for the cold beer, menues getting mixed up, restaurant manager making a fool of himself. No, I wouldn't suggest anyone to go to the restaurant or to the bar - Les jardins de la Medina.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.