We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll never taste roast lamb like this anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 614 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You'll never taste roast lamb like this anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

At £80.00 for two, there are cheaper restaurants in Marrakech, but when you consider the beautiful gardens, the lovely ambiance and surroundings, and the wonderful food, then this place represents very good value for a truly special evening. My wife and I had the pancakes to start (wow) and then the roast lamb, a dish for two that was simply wonderful,it is a must if you go here...... for pudding we had the pineapple tart which was a masterpiece in food art besides tasting as good as it looked. Service was good and the Gres Rose wine was just perfect.....all in all faultless, and without a doubt will be on our return list when we visit crazy but wonderful Marrakech. Table tip: ask for a table outside in the gardens by the pool.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    166
    37
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“beautiful surroundings ... service ...meah..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

you enter the hotel from a beaten up street, its a beautiful riad in the Kasbah district. Upon arrival lots of french speaking staff in uniforms.. seems like it will be a good experience. Sat down in restaurant.. waited... staff looked at us and ignored us... waited. about 10 minutes.. got up and asked what was happening... told food was only being served in the bar... OK.. schleeped into the bar, waited... barman watched us.. waited 5 minutes .. stalemate... gestured for menu.. brought cocktail menu, asked for food menu.... waited... asked for supervisor, ordered food .. nobody asked us if we wanted ANY DRINKS.. its 38 degrees...! waited... 40 minutes, food arrived on the bar... we watched it..waited..barman watched it.. waited... asked for him to bring it over. Ate food it was good... still no offer of drinks.. Demanded bill.. paid left.. over an hour waiting... Had it not have been scorching outside we would have left after first idiotic wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great setting and location..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Following trip advisor reviews and also our riad owner, we went to Le Jardin one evening this week during our short stay. Overall a great choice - lovely setting, good food (I had the chicken lemon tagine) and decent wine. Service a bit brusque to begin with (hence just the 4 stars), but overall no complaints and we would go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“delicious food in a nice riad in the south medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

When you want to have a nice dinner in the center of the south medina , in a nice garden , then you have to go there. It is a 10 min walk from the jamaa el fna , but worth the walk. The food is very good , as well the lunch menu as dinner are fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A hidden gem in the medina. We ate there twice during our 4 days trip. The food was very good, especially the pastilla, fish tajine and beef steak. The atmosphere was very nice and the waiters are very friendly. They also have a good selection of Moroccan wine. We love all the food and wine that we tried.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.