We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back the next night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0) 524 38 18 51
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our Riad recommended the restaurant and we were not disappointed! Very friendly service. We began with wine by the pool and they treated us to several amuse bouche. Delicious! We then had a lovely dinner with an attentive staff. We returned the next night to much of the same! Lamb tagine, John Dory with a pureed artichoke (OMG), shrimp with vegetables , amazing. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    136
    30
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Problems in Paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I swung by this place for lunch, led by good reviews. The environment and the food were really nice, but one thing ruined our enjoyment - terrible service. Something that was supposed to be a routine one-hour lunch turned into two and a half hours of mostly waiting. For example, it seems that waiters can only serve but not take the orders at the same time. For that you have to wait for a special person, some sort of coordinator, that only takes the orders and it took him around 20 minutes to show up at the first place. Obviously, one guy for the whole restaurant really wasn't enough at the lunch time peak. The other nuisance was the fact that waiters kept bringing other people's orders to us, while at the same time they miss-communicated one of the desserts we ordered, so we waited and waited until we managed to catch one waiters and ask about the dessert just to find out that the order never reached the kitchen. All in all, for the prices they charge, service was more than inadequate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, very romantic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited this hotel to have a meal at the restaurant as had read very good reviews. All staff very friendly. It is a really special restaurant under all the trees, smart furniture and plates etc.
Service was mostly good but our plates were left sitting for at least 20 minutes before they were collected at the end and we were served the wrong pudding.

Food was delicious - we tried some of the Moroccan menu and some of the international one and both really nice. My only thing was that there was too much food on the plates!

Would definitely return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Reasonably priced luxury. A little more than we had paid for a meal all week, but a lovely treat, and well worth the price tag. Staff couldn't have been more friendly, and we were well looked after from the second we arrived.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A good location, which can be accessed by taxi, right in the middle of the city. We were warmly welcomed and had a drink before dinner in the bar which was lovely and cosy with an open fire. The atmosphere in the restaurant is lively and a guitarist played, adding to the atmosphere.
The food was ok, but not the best we experienced in Marrakech. The tagine was served without bread which surprised us. We ordered a poached plum dessert but when it was served it was strawberry!
The service was ok but we certainly didn't feel that they had done anything special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.