We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rice side dish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rice side dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

TAsty rice accompaniment, great service, and setting. Pricey, but you do get what you pay for. Settings are great too. We went to the paris themed restaurant. Staff were excellent too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    181
    42
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and exemplary service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

By far the highllight of our brief stay in Marrakech, our dinner in the gardens were nothing but a delight. Both the starters and main courses were excellent although the deserts were too sweet and bland for our taste. Not a cheap experience especially if you wish to sample their good Moroccan wines but the friendly and attentive service and lovely setting made this all worth while.
The fixed price lunch menu also looked very tempting but were not able to sample this - next time perhaps?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Disappinting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked this restaurant on the strength of all the good reviews we had read on tripadvisor. There seemed to be only one bad review which we ignored, however in hindsight we had exactly the same bad experience. Although it usually has a wider variety of choice on the menu, tonight (Saturday) was Morrocan night. It was a set menu with 3 choices of starter main course and desert... With No prices shown.
The starter we both chose, chicken pastile was unpleasant. The chicken unrecognisable incased in a pastry covered in icing sugar.
The veal tanjia was a poor quality cut of meat with fat and sinew and no veg or sides. I could barely touch it without feeling ill. Neither of us where too keen on desert either. This was our third night in Marrakech and we had enjoyed beautiful meals the nights before.
Insult was added to injury came with the bill, it turned out to be the most expensive meal so far.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Directeur général at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We regret that you were dissatisfied with your dinner at Les Jardins de la Medina. It was unfortunate you chose our Moroccan menu which clearly did not meet your expectations. Our staff should have perhaps spent more time advising you of the details of each typical Moroccan dish, created by our Chef, whose talents have been praised regularly on Trip Advisor over the last 4 years.

The pastilla, a traditional dish from North Africa, Is a kind of puff pastry with a base of onion, parsley, coriander, boiled egg, almonds and either chicken or pigeon.This blend of sweet and savoury, is flavoured with cinnamon.. it Is therefore normal and quite natural that chicken should be an ingredient of the stuffing used in this typical recipe. It’s the same for the Tangia, made with hock (by defintion a non-greasy meat) and cooked and traditionally served without any vegetables or any other accompaniments.

By the same token, the price of this traditional Moroccan themed evening, with its specific chart, illustrating the different regional customs( shown bottom left of the menu), and including a performance by a Gnaoua group of musicians from Essaouria, was 390 dhs.

Please allow us to doubt that this is insulting or offensive, in view of the prices usually charged for this same service elsewhere. We appreciate that there must be freedom to criticise as there Is no point in just receiving flattering praise. Your comments can help to balance the 95% satisfaction rate obtained by our restaurant on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This restaurant really is well worth a visit! We have been living in Marrakech for a month and nowhere we have eaten has come close. The service, setting and food were perfect. I would highly recommend the cous cous as a main, rich flavours and a decent size portion (I couldn’t finish it despite not wanting to waste a mouthful!) Go, go, go you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“afternoon tea or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a small haven and is great for lunch or afternoon tea - even has chocolate cake and icecream

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.