We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great riad right in the center of the Medina of Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zelda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Zelda to your Saves list
Dar Zelda
7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great riad right in the center of the Medina of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We just come back from Marrakesh where we spent a week. We stayed at the Riad Dar Zelda and had a wonderfull time. The riad is very well situated, 5 min. walk from "la place aux épices" and 10 min. walk from "la place Jemaa El F'na". The owner, Michel, is very frendly and professional like all the employees, many thanks to all of them and especially Mustapha and Nadja who were so kind and helpfull with us. Our room was a junior suite, plenty of space and very good value. I defenitly recommend this place to stay in Marrakesh. We will come back again for sure. Jérôme.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay - the riad is very well appointed and a great value for the price. We thought the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to accomodate us and our small children. When I mistakenly paid twice (once on a credit card, once by cash - it was my mistake, not theirs), the manager jumped on his moto to intercept us at our car and return the money when he realized what had happened. There are many riads in Marrakech now and I couldn't compare it to all of them, but we had a lovely few days here and I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Amidst the sights, sounds, and smells of Marrakech's markets and souks, it's easy to become overwhelmed. Even if you're only spending a few days in this pink city, you'll find yourself surrounded by both excitement and (sometimes aggressive) enticement from the vendors and locals that make up the Medina's population. Dar Zelda is a lovely, welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of that excitement. Tucked away on a small path, it's interior is charming and sophisticated. The staff is attentive and accommodating. Throughout our stay, we were treated to lovely balance of European hospitality and local custom. Simple rooftop breakfasts in the morning and mint tea in the evening. They are happy to walk with you to restaurants so you don't get lost in the endless criss-cross of streets, score you a bottle of wine for a night in, launder your clothes, or suggest recommendations for better shopping, nightlife and the like. Marrakech often times felt more like "travel" than "holiday" because of the locals' tendency towards over-embracing it's tourists (to put it gently), but Dar Zelda managed to become the kind of peaceful home base that one needs if they are looking to find relaxation in this vibrant and colorful city. Oh, and it's proprietors are apparently in the midst of building a spa adjacent to the riad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Landing in this riad after the first cultural shock of Marrakech is just a blessing. Mint tea as a greeting, beautiful and spacious room(The patio was amazing), great staff. Almost all is included (water, tea, juice, breakfast), there is wifi which makes it very convenient...and it's difficult to wonder out! The terrace is great and you can see amazing sunset. There is a small pool to freshen up (first floor) before sunbathing on the terrace. Michel, the owner, was just the best host. Easy to walk to all places within the Medina and to two amazing restaurants: Founduk and Terrasse des Épices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFTHATMIGHTHELP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Just a super place to stay in the Medina very near the Souks and the Central Place of Marrakech and with a super great and kind staff ! I do highly recommend such a place for a stay !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We felt welcomed and well taken care of from the moment the driver picked us up at the airport. The staff was exceptional and the rooms rivaled the Bahia Palace, in fact it was better. Our kids loved the hot pool and we all enjoyed the upstairs terrace. We had lovely breakfasts and dinners. The bonus was, we could choose wherever we wanted to eat within the Rhiad, one enchanting morning we even ate outside. We even had an emergency situation came up and without the staff support, I'm not sure what we would of done. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stopped at the Dar Zelda for a week between Christmas Day 2009 and New Year's Day 2010.

We were picked up at the airport by the Dar Zelda chaffeur and after the initial culture shock of the journey, were met a short walk away from the riad by Nouradine, who offered to help with our bags and offered us a drink and settled us in on arrival.

The riad itself was nice, although we stopped in The Room Vegetale - this is the cheapest room and not the best - however we were shown the family suite next door which was beautiful, so you get what you pay for. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and I would highly recommend staying for evening dinner at the riad -it was the best food we ate during our entire stay.

Another plus point (and totally unexpected) was the Wi-fi connection available free of charge and as I have a smart phone this was just what I needed and saved me a fortune in roaming charges. The room was cleaned every day, with towels changed whenever needed and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace - a very pleasant experience.

What I would say is that the riad isn't in a very nice part of the medina, tucked away in one of the many side streets, next to an overflowing rubbish bin (it was never emptied in the whole week we were there). Also, at night, we felt unsafe in the dark in that part of the medina.

Also, it is situated right next to a mosque, so the early morning wake up call to prayer(5.40 am in winter, 4 am in summer) was very loud in that particular location. However, we got used to it after a few days and what do you expect? It is Marrakech after all!

On the whole, we did enjoy our stay and if it had been in a better part of the medina, then I would have had no hesitation in staying again and recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zelda

Address: 7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Zelda is a small luxury boutique hotel in magical Marrakesh. The Riad has 4 double bedrooms, 3 junior suites and one grand 19th-century luxury suite. The decor is resolutely Zen and minimalist, but respectful of the ancient Moroccan artisanship: wrought iron, silks, precious woods. Every room is refined and luxurious.Dar Zelda is ideally located in the heart of the Medina (historical city center), just next door to the Medersa Ben Youssef (a must to visit; in all the guides) and the Museum of Marrakech. The riad is 10 minutes from the celebrated Place Djemaa El Fna and 2 mn to the souks (bazaar).Dar Zelda has a discreet/competent team of workers always attentive to realize your desires.The riad has 24 hour reception and room service. Lunch, dinner or snacks can be made to order anytime. You will enjoy the small heated pool and several terraces dominating the entire Medina and the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Zelda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zelda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.