We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time and still 'le meilleur'!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zelda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Zelda to your Saves list
Dar Zelda
7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third time and still 'le meilleur'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Michel and his great staff make Dar Zelda a great place to call "home" now for my wife and me. Dar Zelda has so much magic, because not only is it breathtakingly beautifu decorationl(see the new decor done in December 2012), but in the great hospitality of the staff: Alladin; Meryem, Tissam and of course the best host in Marrakech, Michel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay! Beautiful roofterrasse, great breakfast, beautiful room. Alladin and the girl were very helpful and friendly.
Great value for money.

Only thing: You have to walk through some very small streets to get there. Make sure you know the way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikbenmarlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. the riad is nice and clean, the room was quite large and the staff was great. Mohammed picked us up at the airport and was always there when we needed something. The roof terrace was quite special. The location is perfect. Very central to everything. Overall it was very pleasant. Prices were right.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

we booked one of the rooms but got downgraded to their most basic room upon arrival, which wasn't a pleasant experience, other than that it was a nice place, but the restaurant they recommended was terrible...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights (for the second time) together with our two young children and enjoyed it very much again. The whole place is a nicely restored beautifull historical house, generously and tastefully (contemporary French/Moroccan) furnished (also in the rooms!), clean, good location, very helpfull and friendly staff (also English speaking). So quite comfortable, also when you are used to luxury venues. The suite is very big, the other rooms are of moderate size but suitable, there are not many rooms.
Very good is that they cover the patio in winter time, so even at the chilly nights you can sit there or in the adjacent public room with fire place. The splash pool is also heated, so our children spent an our a day in it playing.
Dinner is good if you like to have it there, and breakfast on the large roof terrace is a joy every morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjan_Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place was beyond my wildest dreams in terms of style, comfort and beauty. A private riad/residence, carefully restored with beautiful spacious rooms and a wonderful spacious roof terrace where we spent long warm evenings sipping rosé wine and eating olives. Everything very clean and fresh. The riad is situatied very close to the souk and many good restaurants. We were extremely well taken care of by the very friendly owner couple who made us feel completely at home. This is a trip I will remember for the rest of my life - and I will most definitely return. Cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookworm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This Riad is a real gem! Everything, from the stylish antique interiors and spacious, comfortable rooms to the attentive service, exceeded our wildest expectations.

It's only a few minutes walk to the Souk (near the Ben Yousef Mosque and the Marrakech Museum), and even closer (100 yards) to our favourite restaurant and bar, Le Fondouk.

Above all (no pun intended) we loved the big, cosy roof terrace looking out over the Medina. Here, we drank rosé wine and watched the beautiful North African sunset while the muezzin called out the evening prayers. The terrace is separated into different sections, allowing for privacy as well as bigger parties. Breakfast, and an unlimited supply of coffee and water, was available completely free of charge.

The charming hosts, Michel and Brandon, who even invited us to lunch with them on our last day, really took care of us throughout our stay and made us feel very much at home. (They both speak English as well as French, as do the Moroccan staff).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasEngstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#56 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#47 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zelda

Address: 7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Zelda is a small luxury boutique hotel in magical Marrakesh. The Riad has 4 double bedrooms, 3 junior suites and one grand 19th-century luxury suite. The decor is resolutely Zen and minimalist, but respectful of the ancient Moroccan artisanship: wrought iron, silks, precious woods. Every room is refined and luxurious.Dar Zelda is ideally located in the heart of the Medina (historical city center), just next door to the Medersa Ben Youssef (a must to visit; in all the guides) and the Museum of Marrakech. The riad is 10 minutes from the celebrated Place Djemaa El Fna and 2 mn to the souks (bazaar).Dar Zelda has a discreet/competent team of workers always attentive to realize your desires.The riad has 24 hour reception and room service. Lunch, dinner or snacks can be made to order anytime. You will enjoy the small heated pool and several terraces dominating the entire Medina and the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zelda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing