We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also perfect in winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zelda

Save Saved
You added Dar Zelda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Zelda
7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Also perfect in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights (for the second time) together with our two young children and enjoyed it very much again. The whole place is a nicely restored beautifull historical house, generously and tastefully (contemporary French/Moroccan) furnished (also in the rooms!), clean, good location, very helpfull and friendly staff (also English speaking). So quite comfortable, also when you are used to luxury venues. The suite is very big, the other rooms are of moderate size but suitable, there are not many rooms.
Very good is that they cover the patio in winter time, so even at the chilly nights you can sit there or in the adjacent public room with fire place. The splash pool is also heated, so our children spent an our a day in it playing.
Dinner is good if you like to have it there, and breakfast on the large roof terrace is a joy every morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place was beyond my wildest dreams in terms of style, comfort and beauty. A private riad/residence, carefully restored with beautiful spacious rooms and a wonderful spacious roof terrace where we spent long warm evenings sipping rosé wine and eating olives. Everything very clean and fresh. The riad is situatied very close to the souk and many good restaurants. We were extremely well taken care of by the very friendly owner couple who made us feel completely at home. This is a trip I will remember for the rest of my life - and I will most definitely return. Cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This Riad is a real gem! Everything, from the stylish antique interiors and spacious, comfortable rooms to the attentive service, exceeded our wildest expectations.

It's only a few minutes walk to the Souk (near the Ben Yousef Mosque and the Marrakech Museum), and even closer (100 yards) to our favourite restaurant and bar, Le Fondouk.

Above all (no pun intended) we loved the big, cosy roof terrace looking out over the Medina. Here, we drank rosé wine and watched the beautiful North African sunset while the muezzin called out the evening prayers. The terrace is separated into different sections, allowing for privacy as well as bigger parties. Breakfast, and an unlimited supply of coffee and water, was available completely free of charge.

The charming hosts, Michel and Brandon, who even invited us to lunch with them on our last day, really took care of us throughout our stay and made us feel very much at home. (They both speak English as well as French, as do the Moroccan staff).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Staying att dar Zelda made our first time in Marrakesh a complete architectural experience. This beautiful private house has been restored in exquisite taste.
We were lucky enough to stay in the traditional suite of rooms that combinined traditional arabic grandeur with modern comfort in a way that I won´t forget in a hurry. I fact, I don´t think I have ever stayed in rooms as beautiful as these, anywhere.
The roof terrace with the wiew of the minarets was perfect for breakfast and early evening relaxing after the bustle of the streets.
The location, close to the northern part of the Souk was perfect for exploring the medina, The staff very friendly and efficient, and made sure we felt perfectly at home in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The traditional suite of rooms was breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Pesonal service from the start, providing a taxi pick up from the airport (for a fee). This car journey is an experience itself - the traffic in Marrakech is manic! As we arrived in the evening, we ate in the hotel the first evening and the food was lovely.

We paid for one of the smaller rooms available but it was well sized with a large, comfy bed and very clean.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace which was nicely laid out and very peaceful. We enjoyed returning to the riad about 4pm each day and relaxing on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine and a book before heading out in the evening.

All staff were very helpful and polite and went out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay. This included telephoning restaurants on our behalf to make reservations (Le Foundouk) and actually leading us to the restaurant to avoid getting lost in the winding streets!

The Riad is close to a mosque with external speakers and so you will hear clearly the prayer chants (including 4am prayers!) but this is part of the Marrakech experience, isn't it?!!

I hope that we will be able to return to Dar Zelda again in the future but at the very least I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We just come back from Marrakesh where we spent a week. We stayed at the Riad Dar Zelda and had a wonderfull time. The riad is very well situated, 5 min. walk from "la place aux épices" and 10 min. walk from "la place Jemaa El F'na". The owner, Michel, is very frendly and professional like all the employees, many thanks to all of them and especially Mustapha and Nadja who were so kind and helpfull with us. Our room was a junior suite, plenty of space and very good value. I defenitly recommend this place to stay in Marrakesh. We will come back again for sure. Jérôme.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay - the riad is very well appointed and a great value for the price. We thought the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to accomodate us and our small children. When I mistakenly paid twice (once on a credit card, once by cash - it was my mistake, not theirs), the manager jumped on his moto to intercept us at our car and return the money when he realized what had happened. There are many riads in Marrakech now and I couldn't compare it to all of them, but we had a lovely few days here and I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zelda

Address: 7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Zelda is a small luxury boutique hotel in magical Marrakesh. The Riad has 4 double bedrooms, 3 junior suites and one grand 19th-century luxury suite. The decor is resolutely Zen and minimalist, but respectful of the ancient Moroccan artisanship: wrought iron, silks, precious woods. Every room is refined and luxurious.Dar Zelda is ideally located in the heart of the Medina (historical city center), just next door to the Medersa Ben Youssef (a must to visit; in all the guides) and the Museum of Marrakech. The riad is 10 minutes from the celebrated Place Djemaa El Fna and 2 mn to the souks (bazaar).Dar Zelda has a discreet/competent team of workers always attentive to realize your desires.The riad has 24 hour reception and room service. Lunch, dinner or snacks can be made to order anytime. You will enjoy the small heated pool and several terraces dominating the entire Medina and the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Zelda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zelda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.