We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place I ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zelda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Zelda to your Saves list
Dar Zelda
7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Upgrade to a Junior Suite
Ranked #123 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place I ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Staying att dar Zelda made our first time in Marrakesh a complete architectural experience. This beautiful private house has been restored in exquisite taste.
We were lucky enough to stay in the traditional suite of rooms that combinined traditional arabic grandeur with modern comfort in a way that I won´t forget in a hurry. I fact, I don´t think I have ever stayed in rooms as beautiful as these, anywhere.
The roof terrace with the wiew of the minarets was perfect for breakfast and early evening relaxing after the bustle of the streets.
The location, close to the northern part of the Souk was perfect for exploring the medina, The staff very friendly and efficient, and made sure we felt perfectly at home in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The traditional suite of rooms was breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archibald_Frid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Pesonal service from the start, providing a taxi pick up from the airport (for a fee). This car journey is an experience itself - the traffic in Marrakech is manic! As we arrived in the evening, we ate in the hotel the first evening and the food was lovely.

We paid for one of the smaller rooms available but it was well sized with a large, comfy bed and very clean.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace which was nicely laid out and very peaceful. We enjoyed returning to the riad about 4pm each day and relaxing on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine and a book before heading out in the evening.

All staff were very helpful and polite and went out of their way to ensure an enjoyable stay. This included telephoning restaurants on our behalf to make reservations (Le Foundouk) and actually leading us to the restaurant to avoid getting lost in the winding streets!

The Riad is close to a mosque with external speakers and so you will hear clearly the prayer chants (including 4am prayers!) but this is part of the Marrakech experience, isn't it?!!

I hope that we will be able to return to Dar Zelda again in the future but at the very least I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We just come back from Marrakesh where we spent a week. We stayed at the Riad Dar Zelda and had a wonderfull time. The riad is very well situated, 5 min. walk from "la place aux épices" and 10 min. walk from "la place Jemaa El F'na". The owner, Michel, is very frendly and professional like all the employees, many thanks to all of them and especially Mustapha and Nadja who were so kind and helpfull with us. Our room was a junior suite, plenty of space and very good value. I defenitly recommend this place to stay in Marrakesh. We will come back again for sure. Jérôme.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivierapremiumtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We had a wonderful stay - the riad is very well appointed and a great value for the price. We thought the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to accomodate us and our small children. When I mistakenly paid twice (once on a credit card, once by cash - it was my mistake, not theirs), the manager jumped on his moto to intercept us at our car and return the money when he realized what had happened. There are many riads in Marrakech now and I couldn't compare it to all of them, but we had a lovely few days here and I would return in a minute.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Amidst the sights, sounds, and smells of Marrakech's markets and souks, it's easy to become overwhelmed. Even if you're only spending a few days in this pink city, you'll find yourself surrounded by both excitement and (sometimes aggressive) enticement from the vendors and locals that make up the Medina's population. Dar Zelda is a lovely, welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of that excitement. Tucked away on a small path, it's interior is charming and sophisticated. The staff is attentive and accommodating. Throughout our stay, we were treated to lovely balance of European hospitality and local custom. Simple rooftop breakfasts in the morning and mint tea in the evening. They are happy to walk with you to restaurants so you don't get lost in the endless criss-cross of streets, score you a bottle of wine for a night in, launder your clothes, or suggest recommendations for better shopping, nightlife and the like. Marrakech often times felt more like "travel" than "holiday" because of the locals' tendency towards over-embracing it's tourists (to put it gently), but Dar Zelda managed to become the kind of peaceful home base that one needs if they are looking to find relaxation in this vibrant and colorful city. Oh, and it's proprietors are apparently in the midst of building a spa adjacent to the riad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jseid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Landing in this riad after the first cultural shock of Marrakech is just a blessing. Mint tea as a greeting, beautiful and spacious room(The patio was amazing), great staff. Almost all is included (water, tea, juice, breakfast), there is wifi which makes it very convenient...and it's difficult to wonder out! The terrace is great and you can see amazing sunset. There is a small pool to freshen up (first floor) before sunbathing on the terrace. Michel, the owner, was just the best host. Easy to walk to all places within the Medina and to two amazing restaurants: Founduk and Terrasse des Épices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFTHATMIGHTHELP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Just a super place to stay in the Medina very near the Souks and the Central Place of Marrakech and with a super great and kind staff ! I do highly recommend such a place for a stay !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IFTHATMIGHTHELP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#57 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#47 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zelda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zelda

Address: 7, Derb Laakar | Kaât Bennahid, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Zelda is a small luxury boutique hotel in magical Marrakesh. The Riad has 4 double bedrooms, 3 junior suites and one grand 19th-century luxury suite. The decor is resolutely Zen and minimalist, but respectful of the ancient Moroccan artisanship: wrought iron, silks, precious woods. Every room is refined and luxurious.Dar Zelda is ideally located in the heart of the Medina (historical city center), just next door to the Medersa Ben Youssef (a must to visit; in all the guides) and the Museum of Marrakech. The riad is 10 minutes from the celebrated Place Djemaa El Fna and 2 mn to the souks (bazaar).Dar Zelda has a discreet/competent team of workers always attentive to realize your desires.The riad has 24 hour reception and room service. Lunch, dinner or snacks can be made to order anytime. You will enjoy the small heated pool and several terraces dominating the entire Medina and the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zelda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing