We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad L'Orchidee to your Saves list
Riad L'Orchidee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here three nights and were very impressed. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We were given a long map-tour of the places to go and visit on our arrival.
The hotel accommodation was clean and spacious, and an oasis in the bustling city.
Definitely recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    64
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
66
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely riad in this crazy, wonderful city. Take their offer of transport from the airport or you'll struggle to find it. No problem once you know where you're going. Staff are very helpful and friendly and our room was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Enjoyed our time at the Riad in Jasmine room (5 nights)but comment on the following to ensure people are fully aware of the standard of the Riad:
Jasmine room has only a concrete screed for a floor in the en suite area. The shower area had mould on the wall near the base. This was cleaned on request.
Only 6 coat hangers provided for 3 people. (4 more provided after on request) Insufficient for a 5 night stay.
There is shelving to store your clothes in the ensuite area but no drawers
The shower is virtually impossible to keep a steady temperature and one had to hand hold the head in case one got scalded.
The room has a small safe but the proprietor never provided the key when requested.
The towels provided gradually became more tatty as the days progressed.
The main sleeping area was attractive but the dust in one area never moved in the 5 days.
There is only one small plunge pool located outside in the downstairs dinning area courtyard.
The roof terrace is very shabby and in need of TLC.The bed cushions are threadbare and the whole area looked neglected.
Two budges are caged in the dinning area near the downstairs rooms. They tweet early so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. ( There is also a call to prayer broadcast all around the Medina at around 6am.This will probably be heard in most hotels without double glazing).
The breakfast was OK consisting of pancakes, occasional omelette, sweet rolls, banana and sweet jams/ honey.
Riad is located in a shabby area but still felt safe walking at night.
The hotel charge 15€ per 2 person2 for the taxi from the airport and a further 5€ for an extra passenger. This is equivalent to 200 dirhams.The average taxi fare is between 50 -100 dirhams( depending on your negotiating skills. We managed to get a local taxi for our return trip to the airport for 100 dh without any negotiations.
The Riad charges 5% of the total hotel charge for using a credit card.
The small takeaway that is near the hotel call Istanbul is owned by the hotel.
the average price for a takeaway purchased at the stall is around 25dh (2.5 €). A drink is 10 dhs. (1€)total 3.5€. The hotel charges 8€ Per person/per meal to have the takeaway delivered a hundred mtrs.
There is no signage to find the Riad.
From a small parking area along the Rue el Gaza (taxis come frequently to this parking area)one has to walk down a narrow alleyway past the Istanbul takeaway( about 30 metres down the alleyway, one should be able to just see the takeaway near the start of the alley),walk about 100 mtrs further down the alleyway until one sees a house door with the number271 above a door with a tramlined diamond pattern on it.( on the LHS) Turn left after the door and the Riad is about 50 mtrs on the LHS - fancy Blue Door. The light that illuminates the front door was out when we left- would be useful to have a torch if finding the place for the first time at night.
I have to wonder whether the lack of signage is deliberate in order to force travellers to use the Riads taxi service.


Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Just bring ear plugs. Two budges in plunge pool area will wake you early plus the call to prayers th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The perfect place to stay for couples looking to enjoy a long weekend in Morocco. The riad is within walking distance of the Souk and the Square. It boasts lovely clean rooms that are well serviced and adequately furnished. The staff are friendly, accommodating and do everything to make your time in Marrakech memorable. Without a doubt the Riad L'Orchidee is the riad to choose for a short, but tranquil, break in Morocco.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eppstein, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Riad L’Orchidée is simply wonderful! I stayed there with a friend in March 2014 for three nights. There were little imperfections which might have bothered us and seemed worth mentioning had we only stayed one night, but by our second day these became unimportant and now complaining about them would just seem petty and silly. The people at the riad and their amazing hospitality and kindness make up for everything, and there really isn’t much to make up for in the first place.
We booked the tranfer service from and to the airport and were glad we did, as it would have been near impossible to find the riad on our own. It is down a tiny side alley in the medina. However, after we had been led there once it was then easy to find our way back to it. The riad is a lovely building with a small swimming pool in the pretty courtyard and a sun terasse on the roof. Our room (superior room) was tastefully decorated and well equipped with a flat screen TV, A/C unit, comfortable bed and sufficient storage space. The bathroom looked a bit worn but was clean and equipped with a pretty Moroccan style bath tub, hair dryer and basic toiletries.
Breakfast was served in the courtyard and was very good, consisting of freshly squeezed orange juice, tea/coffe, bread, butter, jam, honey, cheese, fresh fruit or yoghurt, Moroccan pancakes, and cup cakes or omlettes. Breakfast ist usually served between 8:30 and 10:30, but we asked to have it at 7:00 one morning as we were going on an excursion and that was not a problem at all. In fact we were told that we could have our breakfast as early as we liked on any day of our stay, which we thought was extremely nice.
As I said before, everyone at the riad was great, but I would like to extend a special thanks to Yasmine, Achmed and Zinab for making our stay special. We had decided before we came to Marrakech that we would like to go on one of the riad’s excursions but couldn’t really make up our minds about whether to opt for the Ourika Valley or Essaouira. As I am pregnant and my friend suffers from motion sickness, I E-mailed Yasmine about half a dozen times asking countless questions before our arrival, and she answered every one of them patiently and extensively and even talked to the driver about road conditions etc. We went to Essaouira in the end and had a great time exploring the medina and eating fresh fish by the sea.
After our arrival at the riad, Achmed brought us tea and a plate of Zinab’s delicious Ghriba cookies, then asked where we were going to go and what we would like to see in Marrakesh and showed us how to get to all these places on the map. And reexplained in detail whatever we hadn’t quite gotten the first time. Following his instructions, it was then easy to find our way around.
On that day and the following ones, we had numerous questions and requests, all of which were answered and complied with patiently, kindly and smilingly by Achmed and Yasmine. On our last day in Marrakesh we asked Zinab for her Ghriba recipe, and she not only gave it to us but took us to the kitchen to show us how to make them and then packed some in a box for us to take along. So kind and sweet!
All in all, I recommend this riad wholeheartedly. We absolutely loved it, and it really is amazing value for money! We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived to when we parted from the lovely people with hugs and kisses. If we ever return to Marrakech, which I hope we will, we will be sure to stay at the Riad L’Orchidée again.
I’d just like to add for any (women) travellers considering going to Marrakech: do go! Such a wonderful, interesting place! We were a bit apprehensive before we arrived, as we were two women going to Morocco on our own, but it was absolutely no problem. We never felt unsafe and we thought the people in Marrakech were lovely. Sure, men would say things like “hi, beautiful” as we passed (my pregnant belly didn’t seem to deter them) and business people would try to interest us in their ware, but none of this was ever unpleasant or obtrusive. On the contrary, these things passed in a friendly, humorous way, and we had great fun bargaining for silver jewellery, handbags, clothes etc. and came home with some wonderful gifts for our husbands and children, and, of course, ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a wonderful time in the raid The staff was very helpful and service minded The breakfast is very good and well served The rooms are clean and lovely decorated We had some problems with the shower but they fixed it after our complaints however the warm water supply was not sufficient enough
Its good value for money hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

9 of us recently stayed in this riad and couldn't have asked for any more. The rooms were stunning (especially cos I had the big room above the pool) and the people there were brilliant. Ahmed was a good guy but Mohammed the guy who stays there too was top drawer. He let you treat the place as if it were your own home and anything you needed he was on hand to help you with it. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#218 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#59 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#228 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sadaka
Riad Sadaka
#89 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#143 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad L'Orchidee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.