We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, friendly,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad L'Orchidee to your Saves list
Riad L'Orchidee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Peaceful, friendly,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This riad is beautiful, calm, and tranquil. It's a great escape to the rush and noise of Marrakech outside. We had a room on the ground floor that was very spacious, comfortable, and well organized. We felt a bit like royalty! The courtyard is so charming with the pool and waterfall and the breakfast served in the morning was plentiful. When we arrived, the assistant manager served us some mint tea and we talked about our plans for the next day (our last in Morocco after 8 days there). He gave us good directions for the few remaining sites we wanted to see and was very nice and helpful.

We had stayed in a different hotel (dar) in Marrakech earlier in our trip which was on the other side of the Jemaa el Fna square and the neighborhoods were quite different. There it was very quiet and residential while around Riad L'Orchidee, you have a real working neighborhood. I actually recommend it for that reason, it's safe and about a 15-20 minute walk to the square which takes you through streets filled with people and everyday shops (i.e. not touristy). It can be a little intimidating but, as I mentioned, we felt very safe. It's also convenient for the Ali Ben Youssef Medersa and Majorelle Garden.

As with many places in Marrakech, it's difficult to find the first time around so use their taxi service or make sure whoever is taking you takes you to the door. Oddly, once you know where it is it's easy to find!

One criticism is that the prices for things in the riad, i.e. a 1.5l bottle of water, are a bit ridiculous. You can buy a 1.5l of water from any small shop for 6DH, I think the riad was charging 2E (about 20DH). However, I understand that they need to make money and the service is great there, especially for such a reasonable price!

In short, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and had a giant room, not sure if the others are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
50
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for a weekend break. The hotel is down an alley but thankfully the taxi driver walked us there when the car could go no further. The staff at the hotel were so friendly, helpful and we couldn't fault them or the service and cleanliness of the hotel. They helped book trips, taxis, massage, and even charge phone!!
Marrakech was very chaotic but our hotel was the perfect place to retire to at the end of the night. The roof top garden was beautiful too

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca, Spanje
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were 4 girls staying in this Riad, for 4 nights and we enjoyed every night. Perfect location, 10 minutes walk to the Medina. Very peaceful hotel, good to relax here after a busy day in the city! Very friendly staff, they made us feel like home - Soukran!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very pleasant stay at this hotel.
Homely atmosphere, freindly staff.
Never miss a breakfast there.
Spacious lounge for leisure, peaceful and quite from the bustle of the old city, and a very exclusive, peaceful roof terrace, good sized swimming pool.
Great size rooms.
No TV, very good idea.
very good recommendations by members of staff, for visits to various places, and excursions.
Very close, walking distance to good restaurants and Sukhs(market).
reasonable priced taxi rides to various places locally.
Cant fault, definitely go back, and reccomend.

Room Tip: choose FIRST floor rooms, for more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends and the three of us had an excellent time. The Riad felt very authentic but was also very modern inside and we particularly appreciated the air conditioning in the room. The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax and read and the pool and courtyard were perfect when we wanted to cool off. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful stay in this quiet Raid with attentive staff. The interior design was nice and the lounge area was beautiful. When my friend and I were there, there were only 2 other guests. We had the lounge to ourselves and it was nice to be able to read without having being disturbed by traffic. Breakfast was nice and filling. The raid is about a 15-20min walk from the main square or you can easily catch a cab for 20DH from the main square.

Note: In Marrakech, if anyone comes up to you and wants to "show" you around or bring you on a "walk", do politely decline. You can easily explore the Medina on foot by yourself and these people (usually men and boys) will try to extort money from you after the "walk".

Room Tip: In Marrakech, if anyone comes up to you and wants to "show" you around or bring you on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remich, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to the city Marrakesh I got shocked I glued to my partner and didn't know what to look after first me my luggage or my gucci bag, even thou it was just a 50 meter walk from the taxi...dirty, stinky and millions of people around I was regretting not taking 5* hotel outside centre... A tiny little street with tiny little door... And another shock! A little oasis inside... Small paradise I loved it from the first second. Wonderful rooms and specious bathrooms, superb food, mega friendly and helpfull staff... This place is magic. With an open roof in front of magnificent swimming pool with the floor covered with a flower petals we had our dinner...quiet, smell of the mint tea all over... Next day i felt bit more comfortable to walk around the city... again evening on the top of the terrace with the view on the Marrakesh...mint tea, fresh orange juice...stinky Marrakesh... I want You back! every moment in that place was so different, amazing! Great centred location close to main square, muzeums, palaces, and all other places ' to see'! evening in Caffe Arab sensual restaurant which I also do recommend! Definitively go for camel ride, the riad stuff will arrange everything and price is very good! Loved it, loved it, loved it. We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad L'Orchidee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.