We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place...atmosphere... I want it back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Save Saved
You added Riad L'Orchidee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad L'Orchidee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Remich, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place...atmosphere... I want it back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to the city Marrakesh I got shocked I glued to my partner and didn't know what to look after first me my luggage or my gucci bag, even thou it was just a 50 meter walk from the taxi...dirty, stinky and millions of people around I was regretting not taking 5* hotel outside centre... A tiny little street with tiny little door... And another shock! A little oasis inside... Small paradise I loved it from the first second. Wonderful rooms and specious bathrooms, superb food, mega friendly and helpfull staff... This place is magic. With an open roof in front of magnificent swimming pool with the floor covered with a flower petals we had our dinner...quiet, smell of the mint tea all over... Next day i felt bit more comfortable to walk around the city... again evening on the top of the terrace with the view on the Marrakesh...mint tea, fresh orange juice...stinky Marrakesh... I want You back! every moment in that place was so different, amazing! Great centred location close to main square, muzeums, palaces, and all other places ' to see'! evening in Caffe Arab sensual restaurant which I also do recommend! Definitively go for camel ride, the riad stuff will arrange everything and price is very good! Loved it, loved it, loved it. We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    50
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all, definitely get the airport transfer as the Riad would be impossible to find on your own the first time! The Riad is small, quiet, very clean, cozy, and has a very nice staff (particularly Sandra the french woman at reception). Breakfast was included for us, and was absolutely delicious. The Riad is about a 12 to 15 minute walk away from the square, and conveniently has ATMs on the way the way there.

The rooms are spacious, have strong air conditioning, bathrooms are very clean, and Wifi reaches the room.

I removed one star not because of the Riad itself but because of a trip we booked through it-- we went on a day trip to Ouzoud waterfalls (which by the way is absolutely worth it, breathtaking place!) and paid to be on an airconditioned mini-bus. The bus was FAR from air conditioned, extremely cramped, and after talking to other travellers we realized we had paid a little more than everyone else by booking through the Riad. We felt we overpaid and were falsely advertised to.

However, other than that trip, this RIad is truly a relaxing and great place to come back to at the end of a day in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for the first two nights of our first trip to Marrakech and it was lovely. It's a bit tricky to find as it's down a few alleyways where taxis don't go but once you get your bearings it's easy. The Riad is well situated for exploring J'maa al Fna and the north of the Medina. The staff are excellent - really friendly and accommodating - and the Riad itself is a welcome calm, quiet, cool place amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The ground floor pool is particularly wonderful! Our room was lovely and the bathroom was completely unique. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This Riad is very pretty and charming inside. All of the rooms are decorated well and are clean and comfortable. The location of this Riad is a little tricky as it is through the souks but once you get your bearings it's not too difficult to find. The team were very helpful and friendly. We had a mix up with our taxi transfer on the morning of departure and the owner herself came at 5am to drive us to the airport. The food and drink here are also excellent. The terrace is developing and the plunge pool was a welcome relief after the heat of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The riad was staffed by very friendly and helpful staff, which made the holiday so much more relaxing and enjoyable. The riad was very relaxing and the calming decor was a contrast from the hustle and bustle of the medina and the souks. The location was excellent however after a week the basic breakfasts got a little boring but even this did not put a damper on our holiday. Overall great accommodation from which to explore Marrakech!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location once you find it - hidden away down the lanes. This Riad is like a tardis inside. Only 6 rooms so not crowded. Nothing was too much trouble for the team, they were very chatty and helpful. Nice breakfast, as another review mentioned, it wasn't rushed. Excellent value for the price paid - thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stay in this hotel from 25-06-2013 till 29-06-2013.
This period was very hot so we had two excursions to sea (Essaouira and Oualidia).Prices were reasonable.Prices for food and drinks are a little bit high.
Eating outside is much cheaper.Staff did not work very much as a team and there was nobody who leads the staff for dividing the work,so that can be better.It was a little unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad L'Orchidee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.