We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people,good rooms,showers can be better(litle water pressure).” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Save Saved
You added Riad L'Orchidee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad L'Orchidee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Marrakech
1 review
“Nice people,good rooms,showers can be better(litle water pressure).”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stay in this hotel from 25-06-2013 till 29-06-2013.
This period was very hot so we had two excursions to sea (Essaouira and Oualidia).Prices were reasonable.Prices for food and drinks are a little bit high.
Eating outside is much cheaper.Staff did not work very much as a team and there was nobody who leads the staff for dividing the work,so that can be better.It was a little unprofessional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    52
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
48
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent place. The courtyard where breakfast is served is also equipped with beautiful pool. The breakfast is leisurely with nobody rushing you. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of contentment. A lot of care is given to make a stay in the Riad L'Orchidee a special experience. My room and bathroom were large and airy. Nicely furnished. The staff are friendly and professional. They work very hard indeed.
I highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: I had a room above the swimming pool. I think it's probably the quietest room as there is no ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent more than one week in Marrakech and 5 nights at Riad L'Orchidee and enjoyed it very much. The rooms were amazingly big with very nice tadelakt, especially considering the low price. The rooms are nicely decorated and cleaned every day. The staff was very nice and very helpfull. They try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The last night we had to go to the hospital, fortunatly the riad manager (Alain) was so kind to take us there and stay with us although it was in the middle of the night.
Besides a lovely roof terras my favorite thing to do was to play with the bird Elif.

Next time in Marrakech definetly going back to this riad.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed for a couple of nights and really liked the riad. Very friendly and kind staff who make a big effort to chat to you and make sure you're OK. Great breakfast and rooms nice, too! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this riad last week for 3 nights. We loved it. The riad has 6 rooms, so roughly 12 people are staying maximum. Our room (we stayed in Amarillis) was really quite spacious, with a good sized double bed and a big bathroom, as well as space for our bags etc. The bathroom did develop a bit of an old water smell, but we did have heavy rain and nowhere in Marrakech seems particularly prepared for rain. The rest of the building is equally lovely. There's a pool, though we didn't use it - it's in the center of the riad, around which the rooms are, so it is mostly just for show. We did however make use of the sun terrace, which is lovely - a real slice of peace in a manic city, and the restaurant area (only for breakfast, but it was very good - plenty of food to start your day). You can also buy wine in the riad, which is good, because bars are few and far between in the city.

The staff are the real selling point though - they're lovely, very friendly and helpful. In a city like Marrakech where everybody seems to be trying to trick you out of money, it was lovely to meet a group of locals who love their city and are happy to help.

The riad itself is slightly out of the main souk area, which is good because it makes it easier to find (it's down a somewhat dodgy looking alley, but it only seems that way when you first arrive - it's really very safe) and quieter. I was woken up once by the call to prayer, but I'm a light sleeper. The riad itself is quiet at night. The rooms seem quite close to each other, and the building is quite open plan, so we were worried about noise but mostly noise from ourselves!

Our one concern prior to stay is that we weren't asked to pay a deposit - we neednt have worried. We paid everything when we left, and there was no problem whatsoever. That's just, it seems, how they do things.

I highly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: We stayed in Amaryllis, which was lovely. However, the impression we got is that all the rooms are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent one week in Marrakech at Riad L'Orchidee and enjoyed it very much. It is not very expensive, so we didn't expect much. The rooms were quite small but okay (every room faces the patio, so it is not very private), and the staff was actually excellent and very obliging. They organised a desert trip for us and were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was okay but could have been more diversified. We spent much time on the rooftop to enjoy the sun.
The location is good but you won't find it on your own, so I would suggest to book the driver from the hotel to fetch you at the airport.

Room Tip: We booked a room on the first floor, which I found is more private than the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This riad was a delightful surprise, we were just looking for somewhere cheap, clean with wifi, and tumbled upon this jewel of a place. This riad has been completely renovated and has a Zen theme. The first we noticed was how fresh and clean it is, it looks like it has just opened but this is down to excellent management and maintenance, including a spotless and well stocked kitchen and a very pleasant roof terrace. There is a cute little budgie which sings all day and can be played with, which was a nice extra. The staff are very welcoming and all look happy, even when we came back at 5.30 in the morning. The manager is handsome, charming and happy to spend time with you and make sure you have enough information for your needs and it is easy to find. They had another riad near to this, which has also been completely renovated and is really beautiful, and very chic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad L'Orchidee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.