We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay at Riad L'Orchidee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad L'Orchidee to your Saves list
Riad L'Orchidee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay at Riad L'Orchidee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent one week in Marrakech at Riad L'Orchidee and enjoyed it very much. It is not very expensive, so we didn't expect much. The rooms were quite small but okay (every room faces the patio, so it is not very private), and the staff was actually excellent and very obliging. They organised a desert trip for us and were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was okay but could have been more diversified. We spent much time on the rooftop to enjoy the sun.
The location is good but you won't find it on your own, so I would suggest to book the driver from the hotel to fetch you at the airport.

Room Tip: We booked a room on the first floor, which I found is more private than the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This riad was a delightful surprise, we were just looking for somewhere cheap, clean with wifi, and tumbled upon this jewel of a place. This riad has been completely renovated and has a Zen theme. The first we noticed was how fresh and clean it is, it looks like it has just opened but this is down to excellent management and maintenance, including a spotless and well stocked kitchen and a very pleasant roof terrace. There is a cute little budgie which sings all day and can be played with, which was a nice extra. The staff are very welcoming and all look happy, even when we came back at 5.30 in the morning. The manager is handsome, charming and happy to spend time with you and make sure you have enough information for your needs and it is easy to find. They had another riad near to this, which has also been completely renovated and is really beautiful, and very chic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We chose RIAD L’ORCHIDEE as accommodation during our holiday in Marrakesh. We stayed at many wonderful places all over the world , but RIAD L’ORCHIDEE is now one of our favorites! We spent 3 days and 2 nights at Marrakesh. We just returned from Marrakesh and we would like to share our positive experience about this hotel. The Riad L’Orchidee has a beautiful traditional decoration, very clean and very comfortable. The staff was available and very helpful, they organized everything with a smiling face. The price is very accessible. It is essential to taste a mint-tea in the courtyard listening to Arabic music.
The location is also good at the center of Marrakesh. You can go by walking to all touristic places such as the SOUK, DJEMAA EL FNA SQUARE , KOUTOUBIA etc.
It was nice and practical to have Wi-Fi at our room.
Thank you so much to all the hotel staff at RIAD L’ORCHIDEE
We personally highly recommend this hotel .
Rana-Mizgin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizgin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva York, Nueva York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were 6 friends staying at this Riad from 23th to 26th of february. We have nothing wrong to say and the stay was really pleasant. All the rooms were clean and big and also the staff of the Riad is really nice.They help you in whatever you need and advice you in any question you may have.

The situation is perfect but maybe it's a bit confusing to find it if you have never been before in Marrakech.

Finally note that the breakfast is AMAZING!!!

So, don't hesitate to book this Riad because it's one of the best in Marrakech in quality and price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juancanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My two sisters and I stayed here for five days just a couple of day ago. We stayed in the Jasmin room (accomodates 2- 3 people).
The riad itself is just so peaceful with beautiful decor. The minute you enter, you are taken away from all the hustle and bustle of marrakech. On arrival, we were served mint tea and moroccon biscuits. The manager, Karim, sat down with us and talked us through the different things we could do in marrakech. Karim was just absoloutely wonderful during our whole stay, always willing to help and take his time to explain directions. All the other staff were lovely too, and so friendly.
The room was lovely, but because there were three of us, one person had to sleep on a camp bed which was just totally uncomfy. However, we ended up sharing the bed so two of us were sleeping on one.
The breakfast every morning was great. Slight variations every day so you don't get bored with the same things. The coffee was great, and the orange juice too.
The riad itself can be hard to find, especially on your first day when you are unfamiliar with the area (We got hopelessly lost!). However, by the second day we had found our bearings and could find the place with ease. The riad is located in small alleys but we were always safe walking through them, even at night as the area is well lit.
The riad is actually in good location, 15 mins walk to the square and about 25 min to the majorelle gardens.
We are very glad we booked this riad after alot of researching.
Thanks for a fab stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeMusketeers786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first visit to Marocco, and we booked our first night at Riad L'Orchidée based on reviews that we found around the web. The room was excellent; very clean and tidy, and spacious enough for even a somewhat longer stay. The atmosphere in the Riad is very relaxing, almost Spa-like, and everything is well arranged. Warm water works, the bed is good, and the air conditioning heats the room well (we stayed in the Riad in February).

The Riad is located in a small ally close to the parking of Riad Larousse. The ally is lit at night, so we felt quite safe walking home at night to the Riad (it's a 15 minute walk from Jemaa el Fna). The Riad offers an Airport pickup (and dropoff) service for 15 euros, that we chose not to use because we wanted to find the Riad ourselves. This, however, proved to be impossible even with a map, so in the end we paid more than 15 euros for the taxi + someone who was 'helpful' enough to bring us to the Riad through the maze of the Medina - for quite a big sum of course. So, I would recommend anyone to use the airport pickup service, because it actually saves money.

The most positive aspect about the Riad is the politeness of the staff. We wanted to drive to the Sahara in a rental car, and return to the Riad afterwards. They organized the (good) rental car, booked the Riad for the day after our return, and even arranged a room at a nearby Riad for us for the days their own rooms were full. They also booked a Hammam for us, and were extremely friendly and service-oriented. When it turned out the other Riad would not provide a very early breakfast for us before our flight back, Riad L'Orchidée stepped in without complaint to serve us the breakfast at their Riad - even though we were not even staying there anymore.

So, in sum, I would recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I were there in mid January. We had such a good time- the riad was clean and comfortably heated when it got a bit cold at night. We enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop every morning consisting of a variety of different breads and Moroccan pastries.

The manager and staff were friendly and very helpful, making our first time to Morocco very easy. They gave us recommendations and helped us to book some day trips as well as a hammam. One day we were tired from sightseeing in Essaouira and they organised dinner for us at the riad consisting of everything from salad to fries, tea and even shisha for a reasonable price. We would go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darylteo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#86 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#125 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#162 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#299 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing