We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Riad Orchidee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad L'Orchidee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad L'Orchidee to your Saves list
Riad L'Orchidee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing stay at Riad Orchidee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A really lovely Riad with good accommodation. Staff very friendly and welcoming; they go out of their way to be helpful. Can't praise their hospitality enaough. The Riad is not easy to find, we recommend using the airport transfer, but it is away from noisy streets. We stayed in the winter, the courtyard was cold for eating, but the bedrooms had individual heaters and we very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
50
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Do not be put off by the alley ways you have to walk to get here. The front door opens to a wonderful Riad The rooms are well furnished with everything you need The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble.With a 15 min max walk to the square its in an ideal location to explore all the city has to offer. There is even a small pool to relax in and a roof terrace to what the sun go down and have a beer

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms are similar But if you are a light sleeper go for a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This riad is in a good location in some of the smaller streets. It's a 15 min walk to jemaa el fna square. Good fun to walk and did not feel unsafe at any time even in middle of night.

We were picked up at the airport and had a tea and then a very nice lemon chicken tagine on arrival.

There is a roof terrace (if you can stand the heat in marrakech) and a fridge with water, sodas , beers and wine for a reasonable price. Rooms are spacious and clean.

We booked a tour to the ourika valley through jean-christophe the manager who comes in every day and will help you in every way he can. Speaks perfect english.

Great stay,

Peter and Dorien , Holland.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were both extremely happy with this Riad. First and biggest tip, if flying in, contact the Riad before and arrange an airport transfer as it would be very hard to find without this. We paid 15 Euro one way for 2 people and thought this was great value for money. When you arrive you will see what I mean

The Riad is clean and the decor is traditional. Our room was a good size and comfortable, I think we had the lead in room as well. Breakfast varied every day but was always a good selection and filling.

The service was great, have no complaints there at all. The only slight issue we had was that one of the staff members spoke no english but with my broken french we always managed to get what we needed.

Its location would have to be one of the biggest selling points to this Riad. It is about 3 min walk to the start of the Souks and about 10 from there to the main sq. You can walk the main road way which takes about 15 mins to the sq and this will offer a less "hassle" stroll away from the Souks.

The terrace on the roof is great to get away from it all. Being an almost dry country it is not easy to find a bar and have a nice drink. We bought some duty free and spend a few hours on the roof making our own drinks in the sun - perfect!

Would recommend this to anyone looking for great value, good service and a comfortable stay in a crazy city.

Room Tip: Book an airport transfer with the riad as it may be difficult to find without this
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We did enjoy very much during our stay in this beautiful riad. Our family of five had a very nice and spacious room with beautiful bathroom and fireplace. It is easy to recommend this place if you want to stay in the heart of Medina. This place is not designed for families with small children but our boys were happy with nice place and beautiful pool filled with refreshing water - we stayed during the winter when water was very efficient to wake you up!

Room Tip: Try to have base floor room, they are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Good location in the Medina if you want quiet and away from the hustle but close to the souks and good walking distance to the nouvelle ville. Rooms were basic with less than ideal showers. However there is a swimming pool and a lovely terasse to hang out on. Good service, the people were helpful. The breakfast was good, with a some effort to provide some variety for multi night guests. The location is a bit hard to find so if you don't mind paying extra, take the raid owner's chauffeur from the airport. Would still reccommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have just came back from Marrakech and this riad is the escape from the crowded noisy streets.Our room is on the ground floor there is bird noise of course but it doesn't bother us at all it gives a pleasure to woken up by birds.Jean-Christophe manager helped us in every kind of problem and always very friendly ı felt like at home during my stay.Also the shampoos in the bath smeels really good.Although the weather is not so good during our stay we enjoyed sitting in the terrace and see the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad L'Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Orchidee

Address: 42-43 Sidi Bouamar - Riad Laarouss | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad L'Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad L'Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad L'Orchidee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.