We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful little guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Nakhla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Nakhla to your Saves list
Riad Nakhla
72, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun kedim - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #556 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful little guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were moved to this guesthouse from another riad - it is very clean, very attractive, very quiet and highly recommended. It is well located near to the square and the staff are extremely helpful. We were taken to the airport by the manager himself in his own car!

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are lovely as it is quiet, airy and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

It is not easy to find a good riad between the hundreds of riads in Marrakesh, but Dar Nakhla is definitely a good choice!
Great location, great price, nice room and breakfast, good decoration. The staff is the best! Najib and Samir were very friendly, welcoming and helpul and the breakfast ladies very nice too!
Totally reccommend! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great little riad in the medina. Close to the Djemaa el Fna but off of a side street so it is quiet. Clean with a great friendly staff and a lovely roof (where they serve breakfast) with wonderful views. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated. Seemed to be cheaper than a lot of other Riads in the area. Watch out for low ceilings in the stairwells, my husband bumped his head a couple of times (he is around five feet, eleven inches (about 1.8 meters)) but he should watch where he is going. By the way, their website is not (currently) listed on the tripadvisor page but it is http://riaddarnakhla.com.

The riad could be a bit hard to find if you do not know where it is (we had a friend come meet us at the train station to show us the exact location). My husband and I put together a quick directions sheet to help – you can view and download a PDF here: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B4KDOs-RLEGxMjNYWk5VZS1UOXFjYXI0MFpLd2Q4dw

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Dar Nakhla is a great place to stay. It's a fantastic lokation – lovely and quite corner of medina and it's just few minutes away from the famous square. Building itself is very interesting, tastefully decorated in a moroccan way, and it has sunny roof teracces. Best of all is a super friendly staff, very generous and helpful. We spent with them fantastic time. They can also organize guided tours in Marrakech, as well as trips out of city. If you prefer to dine in riad, girls will prepere delicious food for you. I'm sure we'll go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levanto, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Riad Nakhla actually saved us from a double booking in another hotel, so we didn't choose them but were really glad they found us. Najib and Samir could not have been more helpful or welcoming, without being invasive but really going the extra mile to make us comfortable. The building is fascinating and tastefully decorated. In two days we kept finding other stairs and more cabinets and niches with beautiful pots and jars. Rooms clean and comfortable.
Would choose to stay here again and gladly recommend Riad Nakhla to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay and was well looked after by Najib and Semir. It was like being at home! The Riad is beautiful and very clean and rooms were spacious and had a great Moroccan feel. It was very near to everything in Marrakesh and also was the perfect place to relax and sit on the roof terrace drinking mint tea and taking in the views of the city. We would defo stay here again, they organised us trips to the mountains and gave us honest advice of what to see etc.

They even recommended places for nightlife hotspots and had a great Morocco evening out with the general manager.

If you want to be well looked after and stay in a beautiful traditional place then stay at the DAR NAKHLA.

Thank you
Marios , Will, Fiona and Katy xx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband, myself and our 19-year-old grandson visited Marrakesh in May 2011. Our original plan was to spend two weeks in Marrakesh (as well as two weeks in Spain), but changes in work schedules forced us to cut back our time in Morocco to five days. So, it was very important that we squeeze in as much as possible and not waste our time. Najib, manager of Dar Nakhla, is the best. He advised us as to which would be the best tour for us that included riding camels into the Sahara Desert, and other advice and overall friendliness.
You might read older reviews of Dar Nakhla (before Summer 2010) that have bad things to say about Dar Nakhla. Be assured, those bad things have been fixed and more!! It is an extremely pleasant place to stay. If you want to experience Moroccan culture, this is the place to stay. It’s not the Ritz Carlton, but we didn’t want to be isolated behind gates in a fancy hotel. We wanted to experience Morocco and Moroccans. And we surely did staying at Dar Nakhla and having Najib to help us. Samuel and the rest of the staff were also very helpful, friendly and welcoming.
Inside Dar Nakhla’s walls there was quiet and serenity. Step out the door and you are two blocks from the hustle and bustle, and noise, that is the medina of Marrakesh. Our room had a private bathroom, A/C and very comfortable beds. The room was decorated in authentic Moroccan style including a beautifully painted cedar ceiling. Just outside our door was a sitting room area shared by three rooms. There we met people from France, Spain and South Africa. A bonus for us. Our 19-year-old grandson really appreciated the good wi-fi; OK, we older folks did as well. Other older reviews have mentioned noisy and smelly. We experienced neither. Dar Nakhla is clean, quiet and no bad smells, and we always felt safe.
The terrace was a special sanctuary. Set on several levels, we could sit out in the sun, or if it was raining, there is a Berber tent set up on the top level to keep dry. Yes, it rained while we were in Marrakesh.
I tried to brush up on my French so I could converse with the staff in French. But, there was no need. Najib and Samuel speak good English. Stay at Dar Nakhla; it will be an experience of a lifetime!!

Room Tip: middle floor room with the shared sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Nakhla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nakhla

Address: 72, Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun kedim - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #556 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Nakhla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nakhla Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Nakhla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.