We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus to your Saves list
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   N. 57 -58 Rue de la Bahia | Riad Zitoun Jdid Medina | Medina of Marrakech, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #376 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff are lovely and extremely helpful! The rooms are good,we stayed in a suite! Nice and clean! The bed was a bit too hard for my liking but otherwise fine! Breakfast is in the Si Said riad round the corner! If you want some sunshine the roof terrace at the other riad is better! The terrace at Bab Firdaus isn't very nice with only a few sunbeds and a view of neighbouring satellite dishes!! All in all we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled E, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the service provided by our colleagues and the ambiance & roof terrace.

We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of a great motivation for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

With warmest regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
61
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just came from Angsana Riad Bab Firdaus.

First, the downside.

1. We booked this riad via Venere.com, and per our booking, we were supposed to stay in a suite with a kingsize and queensize bed. When we arrived we were surprised to see the our room was a regular deluxe room with one kingsize bed. The riad staff just made us stay in two separate deluxe rooms for our first night, and moved in an extra bed in one of the rooms the next day.

You should really make sure you get the room you booked for as you might get disappointed or harassed when you check in.

2. Since we were there during the height of summer, it was very hot. Although the rooms are airconditioned. the airconditioning just couldn't handle the heat. For instance, we set our aircon at 16 degrees but it could only cool down the room to 24 degrees. And the property did not have functioning electric fans

Now the good part:

1. The service provided by the staff is excellent. The "concierge" nicknamed Couscous and the bellboy Hitcham did all they can to make us feel welcome. As we didn't want to have to haggle for a cab at the airport, we decided it was best to have the hotel arrange a pick-up for us. This was easily arranged and for 170 Dirhams it was a good deal. When we arrived at the gates of the Medina from the airport, both Couscous and Hitcham were there to welcome us and and brought us to the property through a short 3 minute walk.

2. We arrived in the evening and I wanted to explore the Djemaa El-Fna, so I asked Hitcham how to get there. Instead of just showing me the way, he actually accompanied me not only to the square but even through the souqs and acted as a tour guide. Such a great unexpected service.

3. Since Angsana has five properties close to one another and the restaurant wasn't located at our riad, the staff would always accompany us to and from the restaurant.

4. Our flight out of Marrakech was in the evening but we had to check out at noon, so the the hotel gave us a "wash-up" room where we could take a shower and even sleep from 12 noon until the time we had to leave at 4 pm.

5. The hotel also recommended and excellent personal guide to take us around the major sights of the city

I would recommend this riad if only for the excellent and friendly service provided by the staff. They really go out of their way to help you. However, just make sure you actually get what you book for to avoid complications

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaled E, Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey

We are delighted to know that you had a ‘Magical stay’ at Angsana Riads Collection. It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the service provided by our colleagues.

Our sincere apologies about the misunderstanding upon arrival, your feedback has been discussed in length with head department for follow up. Kindly be assured that your comments is shared to our entire team and I am certain that this will serve as a great inspiration for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us & recommending our Riad! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having read all the Trip Advisor reviews before we booked, I was a little nervous about my choice of Riad Bab Firdaus. Should we have chosen Blanc or Si Said? We stayed for a week (perhaps 5 nights would have been sufficient to do Marrakech, but as it was between 41 and 46 degrees it meant we could sight see at a slow pace!) and it was wonderful. Such friendly, helpful staff and so,so peaceful inside the riad. The room had some lovely touches - large canisters of all toiletries, complimentary bottled water each evening, candles lit when your bed turned down - and was spotlessly clean. The bed was on the hard side but it didn't spoil our stay. The rooftop had sunbeds with towels and sunhats provided but unfortunately the parasol was broken, so we nipped 2 minutes round the corned to Si Said and sunbathed there. They also had a small pool on the roof! Breakfast was served in Blanc, opposite Si Said, pastries and rolls with a choice of eggs and copious amounts of delicious fresh orange juice. We also ate in Blanc one evening - on the pricey side but very tasty. Alcohol is expensive and available in hotels and riads but very hard to get in the old city (Café Arabe in a street off the souk was a good find) The riad is perfectly located - handy for the spice and tin souks, the museum and palaces - and a 15 min walk through the cobbled streets and fascinating shops to the main square and other souks. The spa in Bab Firdaus had a fantastic 2 for 1 offer on, well worth a visit! We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Marrakech and would recommend any of the riads (though Si Said possibly has the edge because of the pool on the roof) Top tips - if travelling in July/August, pack a fan!! The air con in the room is great but as soon as you step outside, the heat is overwhelming. With regard to dress, you might feel uncomfortable walking round in skimpy shorts and strappy tops (don't take anything clingy anyway - it's too hot!) I wore a scarf round my shoulders in the souks and the side streets but in the main square there are more tourists and you aren't stared at so much. Knee length shorts were fine.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can. We had a deluxe which was fine for our stay but it was a little limited o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

nice riad with nice and very helpful staff; location is easy to find in complex city like medina; connection with guide also important; staff at reception willing to bring you around location first time in order not to loose way which is for the quests very reassuring

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After 6 days out in the Sahara ,we wanted to stay in a place in Marrakech that would be atypical of true Moroccan Riad, yet with all teh 20th century amenities. Angsana Riad Collections was a perfect match. Clean as a whistle, great staff Mohammed and cous Cous yup thats his nick name. . you can visit any of there 5 Riads all withing walking distance of one anoter. Great Wi FI worked in the room , we were on ground floor. i suggest you tyr for this room fabulous spacious and great bathroom. Nothing more to be said, WE are world travelers , have ben for years and this Riad is one of the places we will return to!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at Riad Angsana in the Medina, the heart of Marrakech. Not only was this hotel top-notch in every regard (hospitality, cleanliness, location, and ambiance), but it was the highlight of our already outstanding trip. After a long day of exploring the hectic markets there is no better feeling than jumping right out of the action into this tranquil and stunningly beautiful Riad. The decor is traditional, yet elegant and the amenities are abundant. Upon checkin, we were provided with a local cell-phone pre-programmed with the reception and manager's phone numbers just incase we needed anything at anytime... talk about service! The Riad also organized a fantastic, English-speaking, private driver to take us outside of Marrakech on day trips. The only down-side we experienced was trying to find the hotel initially. Several local kids wanted to 'help' guide us then demanded payment causing a bit of a scene.. watch out for them!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed in the Bab Firdus for a 4 night break in Marrekech with my daughter towards the end of May. The Riad is a beautiful calm sanctuary to come back to after the bustle, excitement and heat of Marrakech. Our rooms were beautifully furnished and cleaned twice daily. Our breakfast, which was served at the nearby Si Said Riad was freshly made and elegantly served. There is a nice roof terrace with sun beds if you want to relax in the sun. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They advised us, walked us to restaurants, arranged taxis, and gave us a cell phone in case we got lost! We will be returning!

Room Tip: We had a de luxe room each. The rooms were spacious with a large shower, no bath. There was no dres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus

Address: N. 57 -58 Rue de la Bahia | Riad Zitoun Jdid Medina | Medina of Marrakech, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name which means "gateway to heaven" conjures up a sense of magic, and you will see why when you arrive. Beautifully restored, this seven-room riad is filled with traditional artifacts, hand-woven carpets and custom-made furniture. After a day of sightseeing, indulge yourself in a luxurious massage at the Oriental Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Bab Firdaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.