We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy eating and drinking in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kechmara

Kechmara
1bis & 3 rue De La Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-22532
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 589 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: International, Bar, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Easy eating and drinking in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We decided we needed some relief from tagines, and kebabs. Not that they are not lovely, but we just fancied a bit of western comfort food. Hence we found our way here.

It was a chilly evening, but not for us Brits, so the upstairs bar was empty, and the downstairs indoors was rammed, with a DJ playing some relaxing chillout music. We wanted a drink first, and to eat later. It took us a few trips up and down the stairs to find someone that understood enough English to understand our question of what was the latest time we could order food.

In the end it all worked out, and by the time we had a couple of drinks and gone downstairs to eat, we had our choice of tables.

The food was good, the beer was good. It was just what we were looking for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    105
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A haven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Looks nothing from outside, but go up to roof terrace and it's buzzing!

Burgers, salads etc. are great and very reasonable.

Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good All-Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, good food and friendly staff. Plenty of variety on the menu and a welcome break from the normal Moroccan cuisine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“when you're tired of tajine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very good (not Moroccon) food, which was very familiar to us as Belgians. Very nice and serene atmosphere, good cocktails and lovely music. Waiters are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Excellent food on our two visits. Not over expensive but high quality well priced food.. Roof Terrace also. Overall Its a cool well designed place. Its a modern restaurant owned by 2 French guys. You cant go wrong here for choice. Great service and a friendly young atmosphere. There was a DJ one night. In the same street is LOFT. We never ate here as it opens at 7.30pm. Note: Kechmara is open all afternoon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kechmara also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kechmara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kechmara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.