We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kechmara

Kechmara
1bis & 3 rue De La Liberte | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-22532
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 547 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: International, Bar, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Kechmara is in the 'new marrakech'. We'd had a long day walking from the old city to the new. We had a bit of trouble finding it as the road it is on continues over the cross section / junction. It closes between 3pm and 8pm - we arrived about 5pm so had a walk around and got some cold drinks elsewhere whilst we waited. We arrived again about 7.40pm and the staff we very friendly - whilst they were setting up they arranged some chairs for us to sit outside and wait. Quite a few vegetarian options (and even more if you eat in the daytime - slightly different menu for the evening) which was great, and they all sounded tempting. I had the 'Kech Salad' which was AMAZING; blue cheese, walnuts, figs, croutons, lettuce, olives, poached egg etc. Soooo tasty. My boyfriend had the fish burger which he said was really good. My son had the kids meal of cheeseburger and chips which he said was good. I had the chocolate fondant for dessert and it was easily one of the best desserts I've ever had! Super rich and sickly but if you have a sweet tooth you will be in heaven! My son had the banana split which was huge, and also pretty sickly. My boyfriend had a coffee with ice cream. We also had cocktails which were all awesome (my son had virgin cocktails which were exciting and tasty). We were given olives and cheese thins whilst we waited for the food to come out. The setting is really nice on the roof terrace, it was lovely as the sun went down and it became dark. The place did get quite busy but service remained excellent. Highly recommended. We spent about 800 dirhams (about £60) but we had two courses each, two cocktails each and a large bottle of water so pretty good value really.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    96
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went in Kechmara for our last dinner in Morocco, tired of all the tajine and cous cous eaten during our staying.
The first "wow" is for the location. The terrace itself worths the visit, it is the very same location you would expect to find in one of the coolest European capital: cool, fashonable, modern in term of design and really cozy (the are no lights, just the candles of each table). The second "wow" is for the food. The fish burger is something memorable I think. High food quality and fitting ingredients combination, I couldn't ask for more.
A Plus for the wines carte and for cocktails (we were soooo extited about it, as in Morocco is definetly not easy to find a place you can freely drink alcool).
Prices reflect the quality and the service.
High recommended!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern and DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friend and I visited Kechmara upon a recommendation and we weren't disappointed!

The restaurant itself is very modern, clean and inviting with a beautiful roof terrace. Apparently there is sometimes live music up there, though not when we visited. We sat of the terrace for our meal and it was lovely and cool, a retreat from the heat outside.

The service was excellent and the drinks were TO DIE FOR. Beautiful cocktails. We had a two course meal of Moroccan style tapas and then mains. I think it was chicken skewers and then duck with apple chutney. Both were absolutely delicious and reasonably priced.

We finished our meal with traditional mint tea which was lovely as the sun came down and they illuminated the terrace with candles.

I can't recommend Kechmara enough, I would definitely go back given the chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Worth it for the cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Ate there, we started with two Caipirinhas (Brazilian cocktails) these were excellent, certainly measure up against any we have had anywhere else. We had the San Diego burger and fries and the roast chicken with sauté potatoes. Both were ok, nothing outstanding though.
On a side note this was one of the few places I found that sold draught beer.
An ok meal though nothing great

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went for a cold drink, was surprised with a great chicken sandwich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

An excellent friend told me about Kechmara and how I should check it out. Finally I did thinking we could get a nice cold drink and get out from the Marrakech heat. It was nicely air conditioned so we were not sweating bullets.
Service took a bit to get to us, but I'm learning that just might be the Marrakech unless your in a five star hotel. Anyway got the menu and got a very nice carrot infused virgin cocktail with a splash of cinnamon. We also got a chicken sandwich that was incredible. It had eggplant, some sort of lettuce, and an incredible sauce that reminded me of the big chicken wing restaurants in the US. In the states it's called buffalo wing sauce. It was totally great and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kechmara also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kechmara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kechmara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.