We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Saba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Saba to your Saves list
Riad Dar Saba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   278 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Quartier du Riad Laarouss - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #250 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Execellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the small yet very comfortable Riad. Rooms were nice and clean. As common in all Riads it only has windows towards to yard so in the mornings its likely that other guests will enjoy their breakfast right in front if your window. Also in terms of noise protection its nothing for prudes. The wooden doors and window blinds dont give and noise protection, neither does the curtain that seperates room and bathroom. But hey, if you want extreme privacy and a great view you should never book any riad in the first place!

Price was great, staff very friendly. Overall absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this Riad located in the medina as most people recommended but that was a big mistake. In fact, staying anywhere in the medina is a mistake!! We left the Riad 1 hour after check in and went to the first hotel we could get in the new city.
On arrival, our riad was in an alley where our taxi couldn't go. We had to walk and lots of teenagers and kids started circling us to offer directions for money. We somehow managed to walk away from them but then couldn't find the riad as none of the roads in the medina are labeled. A young man passing by asked us which Riad we were looking for and he took us to a narrow alley that goes under a bridge where it is dark and another guy was waiting!! Our luggage was still with us, my girlfriend was terrified, I somehow worked out the door numbers and realized that we will have to go under the bridge to get to the riad. The main door of the riad was in fact under the bridge!!!! Having now found it, the young man asked for money. I was prepared to pay him and I offered 20 dirhams. But he is only interested in 100 dirhams or 50 euros which I didn’t have on me and we started arguing while the riad’s employee stood by and watched! Finally he became threatening and warned me that I had to give more money. I gave him the 20 dirhams and closed the door. As soon as we got in, we were relieved of this ordeal but also not looking forward to going outside again. The riad itself was small, and our en-suite room was just a big bed on one side and on the other side a bathroom and toilet. The room and bathroom/toilet was separated by a small curtain!! The Riad’s manager told me it is common in Marrakech not to have bathroom doors!! At this point, this was no longer a holiday but a nightmare and it was all too much to take on. I got on booking.com and booked the first hotel we could find. Fortunately I booked the El Andalous, a 4 star which did not disappoint at all for the price we paid. As for the Riad, despite not giving the right information on their website about the layout of the room and bathroom and the horrible location, I still had to pay them 400 dirhams to be able to walk away!! We didn't see the rest of the Riad so cannot comment further but would not recommend staying anywhere in the Medina

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The location is 10 mins walk from the main square and apart from the call to prayer it was mostly quiet at night. The rooms are clean and cosy and we loved the extra touch of rose petals on our bed on our first night. When we arrived in our taxi we had all too willing youngsters wanting to guide us to our destination but ensure you have change -20 dirhams should do as 100 dirhams (almost £10!) for 30 seconds of their time was requested from us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thanks to the manager who made our stay very pleasant and comfortable. The rooms are nice and very clean.
We loved breakfast with this excellent baguette and pancakes!
Now we got frightened the first time when taking this little passage to the Riad but we never had a problem walking in or back. Other tourists were asked for money by young men by showing the way and if this happens to you just walk on and ignore them. They will leave.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just to extend thanks to all at Riad Dar Saba, Mohammed and everyone. Although I was in incredible pain due to illness, they all went above and beyond hospitality not only that, but the accomodation was spot on and better than anywhere I have chosen before. I have told everyone I know about this place and in fact plan to return with my mother so she can share some heaven too Ainshallah!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We received excellent service and assistance during our stay at this Riad. Mohammad was always willing to help with directions and advice as well as organising our return taxi to the airport and holding our luggage at the Riad whilst we travelled elsewhere.
The food from a set menu was excellent, the rooftop terrace privately secluded suntrap and the place has a very relaxing atmosphere to it. If anything, the one issue is that the place is so quiet that noise does travel in and out of the rooms very easily.
A couple of reviews have said this place is hard to find, but that is Marrakesh for you and it is not that hard at all - we would advise you ask the riad to arrange transport from the airport to their front door to avoid the hassle of finding it for the first time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our room was very nice - clean, comfortable and very good shower. The riad was attractively decorated, the breakfasts were good and the staff very helpful.
It was easy to find our way to the main square (after a couple of times) and it was a very quiet location. We didn't have time to try any of the excursions - maybe another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saba

Address: 278 Derb Sidi Bou Amar | Quartier du Riad Laarouss - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Saba 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Saba welcomes you in a typical Moroccan riad located in the medina of Marrakech at 15 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square and surrounded by the beauty and mystery of countless alleys of the souks. The property comprises 6 comfortable double bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and toilets. Each benefits from air conditioning. You can dine in the patio or on the terrace. You can also enjoy a sun-lounger terrace. The staff at the Riad Dar Saba will offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to introduce you to the culture, cuisine and Moroccan traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Saba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.