We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Saba

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Saba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Saba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Sidi Bou Amar Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good rooms, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the start and end of a tour of Morocco and it's ideal. Located within the Medina, it's suitably located for getting to most of Marrakech's places of interest but also convenient for exploring the new part of town. It's situated down a quite street and is lovely and peaceful. Between the two of us, we stayed in four of the Riad's five rooms - all are of a similar standard, well decorated and appropriately quiet. The owner is very pleasant and helpful. We didn't partake of food other than breakfast or the change to organise trips, but both are available. Watch your head as you approach the Riad in the street... there are a couple of low arches!

Room Tip: First floor rooms a little more expensive, but I preferred my ground floor one - seemed a little lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
49
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Riad Dar Saba is located in the Medina, a 20 min walk from Djemaa al Fna. When we first arrived late in the evening, the street looked quite scary and dark but I later realized that most of the streets in the Medina appear that way at night. The staff were incredibly helpful and sat down with us on arrival to go over the map of the city and provided us with tea and delicious cookies made by the hotel cook. We got sick during our trip and ended up sleeping in and the hotel generously served us breakfast after the designated time and walked us to the pharmacy. The room was clean and pleasant but our bathroom was open to the bedroom which wasn't ideal since we got sick, but would have been fine otherwise. There is also a separate toilet room off of the lobby. We took the option of having the hotel cook make us dinner one night which was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech. They hotel arranged a one day tour with a group to Ait Ben Haddou and Ourzazate which was okay but not really worth the drive and I wouldn't recommend it. Perhaps the two day tour would be worth the trip as the one day consisted mostly of driving in a van with only half of the seats having seatbelts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this Riad in a hurry as my trip to Marrakech was a sudden decision and I relied on feedback from Tripadvisor. Well it turned out a good decision as I was really pleased with the Riad and the help and support I received from Mohammed -- the Manager there.He was patient and courteous to all my questions and requests and if he said he would do something then you could be sure it was done.He even helped to organize a trip to the Atlas mountains for a couple of nights at a cheap homestay there.
The room I had was spotless and comfortable with plenty of room and the shared areas were also clean and comfortable.
The owner Jeanne-Phillipe (I think that's the correct spelling) was also very friendly and helpful.
All in all I would recommend the Riad Dar Saba without any hesitation it was a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of the Medina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

This riad was a real relief! Marrakesh is a busy and noisy city. The heat can be quite oppressive and make you feel uncomfortable. But Riad Dar Saba was the perfect choice. It was in the right location, not too far from the main sites or the souks. Even a small shop at the end of the road which was great as you will be drinking loads of bottled water. After a day of exploring, you come home to a peaceful Riad where you can recoop and refresh. The staff were really helpful, very kind and willing to spend time with you. The owner is down to earth and seems genuinely interested in your story, but not in a prying manner. You can be as quiet or as open as you like. They were well organised when helping you, sorting days out for you and the manager is young but a wealth of information about what to pay in the souks or what to experience in Marrakesh Very clean, very friendly, very welcoming. This riad was perfect for the price, great value for money. You would not regret your stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I made a last minute trip to Marrakech. I looked in Trip Advisor at the reviews, so I chose this Riad based on the positive comments. To get there was a bit tricky (taking in consideration the arrival time was 2am) However, upon arrival, I met Mohamed (the manager) and made me feel at home right from the start. He speaks Arabic, French and English. The bedroom was well decorated, very cozy, clean plus it had a ceiling fan with a AC. The breakfast was simple yet delicious. Very nice staff and owener. I stayed there for two nights, and I left very pleased! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 for four nights and had three of the rooms. The riad was charming although it was hard to find the first couple of days, after constantly getting lost in the souks. The staff made us feel very welcome and their coffee was delicious. I would recommend this riad to anyone who wants to be close to the souks and the square.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked several nights in Dar Saba and stayed in different rooms. Mohammed is very friendly and helpful when arranging tours. However, the bathrooms need a bit of extra care, as the shower in our second room was broken and ran out of hot water in 4 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saba

Address: Derb Sidi Bou Amar Bab Doukala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Saba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Saba welcomes you in a typical Moroccan riad located in the medina of Marrakech at 15 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square and surrounded by the beauty and mystery of countless alleys of the souks. The property comprises 6 comfortable double bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and toilets. Each benefits from air conditioning. You can dine in the patio or on the terrace. You can also enjoy a sun-lounger terrace. The staff at the Riad Dar Saba will offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to introduce you to the culture, cuisine and Moroccan traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Saba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.