We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff, Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Saba

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Saba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Saba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quartier Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff, Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Riad Dar Saba is located in the Medina, a 20 min walk from Djemaa al Fna. When we first arrived late in the evening, the street looked quite scary and dark but I later realized that most of the streets in the Medina appear that way at night. The staff were incredibly helpful and sat down with us on arrival to go over the map of the city and provided us with tea and delicious cookies made by the hotel cook. We got sick during our trip and ended up sleeping in and the hotel generously served us breakfast after the designated time and walked us to the pharmacy. The room was clean and pleasant but our bathroom was open to the bedroom which wasn't ideal since we got sick, but would have been fine otherwise. There is also a separate toilet room off of the lobby. We took the option of having the hotel cook make us dinner one night which was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech. They hotel arranged a one day tour with a group to Ait Ben Haddou and Ourzazate which was okay but not really worth the drive and I wouldn't recommend it. Perhaps the two day tour would be worth the trip as the one day consisted mostly of driving in a van with only half of the seats having seatbelts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this Riad in a hurry as my trip to Marrakech was a sudden decision and I relied on feedback from Tripadvisor. Well it turned out a good decision as I was really pleased with the Riad and the help and support I received from Mohammed -- the Manager there.He was patient and courteous to all my questions and requests and if he said he would do something then you could be sure it was done.He even helped to organize a trip to the Atlas mountains for a couple of nights at a cheap homestay there.
The room I had was spotless and comfortable with plenty of room and the shared areas were also clean and comfortable.
The owner Jeanne-Phillipe (I think that's the correct spelling) was also very friendly and helpful.
All in all I would recommend the Riad Dar Saba without any hesitation it was a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of the Medina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

This riad was a real relief! Marrakesh is a busy and noisy city. The heat can be quite oppressive and make you feel uncomfortable. But Riad Dar Saba was the perfect choice. It was in the right location, not too far from the main sites or the souks. Even a small shop at the end of the road which was great as you will be drinking loads of bottled water. After a day of exploring, you come home to a peaceful Riad where you can recoop and refresh. The staff were really helpful, very kind and willing to spend time with you. The owner is down to earth and seems genuinely interested in your story, but not in a prying manner. You can be as quiet or as open as you like. They were well organised when helping you, sorting days out for you and the manager is young but a wealth of information about what to pay in the souks or what to experience in Marrakesh Very clean, very friendly, very welcoming. This riad was perfect for the price, great value for money. You would not regret your stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I made a last minute trip to Marrakech. I looked in Trip Advisor at the reviews, so I chose this Riad based on the positive comments. To get there was a bit tricky (taking in consideration the arrival time was 2am) However, upon arrival, I met Mohamed (the manager) and made me feel at home right from the start. He speaks Arabic, French and English. The bedroom was well decorated, very cozy, clean plus it had a ceiling fan with a AC. The breakfast was simple yet delicious. Very nice staff and owener. I stayed there for two nights, and I left very pleased! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 for four nights and had three of the rooms. The riad was charming although it was hard to find the first couple of days, after constantly getting lost in the souks. The staff made us feel very welcome and their coffee was delicious. I would recommend this riad to anyone who wants to be close to the souks and the square.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked several nights in Dar Saba and stayed in different rooms. Mohammed is very friendly and helpful when arranging tours. However, the bathrooms need a bit of extra care, as the shower in our second room was broken and ran out of hot water in 4 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

The Riad has been recently renovated, the rooms are clean and the terrace is nice if you want to relax and see the stars at night. Simo the guy in charge of the riad is very friendly and goes the extra mile to ensure the guests are happy. I stayed 3 times and will stay again if I go to Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saba

Address: Quartier Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Saba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a typical Moroccan riad, the hotel is set in the old town of Marrakesh, surrounded by the beauty and mystery of the many small lanes of the souks.Close to the Jamaâ El Fna Square, the hotel includes 5 comfortable bedrooms with a ceiling fan or and a private bathroom. Three rooms are air-conditioned.In addition to this, there is a patio where guests can have meals and a spacious terrace with deckchairs where guests can get their breakfast and meals.The staff will offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to show you the Moroccan culture, cuisine and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Saba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.