We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic little riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We booked this little riad for our honeymoon trip over NYE. Unfortunately this is the most expensive time of the year to stay in Marrakesch, so we paid more to stay then you would normally, but this is the case with all the properties there and we have been aware of this in advance– so next time we will be definitely picking a different time of the year (and we hope very much there will be next time!) Paul , the owner was fantastic with helping us out when Easyjet cancelled one of our original flights and we had to re-book – they really care about their guests, which shows and was most appreciated. Thanks!

Overall we found this property to be a lovely hidden gem in a perfect location, really trendy with a good eye for details, with a very friendly staff and we truly enjoyed our stay here. Loved the lounge area, little pool & roof terrace – pity it was too cold in the evenings to have a meal or drink out there. Food was lovely, especially the local recipes, not haute cuisine, but good homemade cooking. Loved the home made yoghurt! We stayed in room NO.3, which was lovely, not big, but exactly what we expected from a room in a Moroccan riad. And I loved the little 'window corner' in our room - siting there reading a book with a view was truly relaxing!

If you go in busy season like us, make sure you pre-book restaurants and services before your arrival – could not get in to some of our first choice establishments, as they have been fully booked or had to wait for late night seating. Also, when riad fully booked (as in our case), facilities are stretched – for example we really wanted to spend a night watching a nice DVD in the TV room (which by the way is great!) but could not get in the nights we wanted – Pauline made a few jokes about the necessity of starting a waiting list, which actually might have helped. We managed to get in one afternoon, but it was not the same as a proper cosy evening viewing. Gym very small indeed, but did the job for my husband – and plenty options for running outside.

We tried the spa one afternoon, the massage was lovely for me (my husband found it too touchy feely and not strong enough, but he is a bloke!) but we both had mixed feelings about the Turkish spa – we experienced this before, and this is a very LIGHT version – hardly any scrubbing – good if you try it first time, not so good if you expect the usual full works. Again - question of preference.

The reason why I am not giving full 5 stars is there have been several little issues, which did not spoil our stay, but would they not occur it would have made our stay absolutely amazing. This is not meant to be a criticism, as I can imagine how difficult it might be to get everything 100%, but hope this will help Pauline & her team to reach perfection for the future, because they truly deserve to be perfect.

• The towels, robes & slippers – really worn and severely torn, grey instead of white. I think no need to go into details, as Paul explained below why this has occurred and I believe this is now being fixed – well done

• The coffee first morning in the thermos was not nice, very weak and strange colour. We thought it was a local ‘recipe’, so did not mention it, but then during breakfast at the roof terrace the coffee was lovely. We gave it a try another morning, and it was much better. We did find this with few other things – a bit of inconsistency - turn down service sometimes happened , sometimes not, chocolates appeared only on 2 nights out of 5, wet towels have been left on the floor sometimes even after cleaning. Wine glasses in the room have been quite filthy as well, although water glasses have been squeaky clean. We try not to sweat the small stuff, but this is something which might be beneficial looking into.

• Clean up took extremely long. This happened every day – the cleaners would usually enter the room when we left for breakfast and we took our sweet time enjoying our breakfast – but we still had to entertain ourselves for some time before the room was ready to go back to. One day out of curiosity I went to the room to see what was happening, it was wide open to signalise cleaners are in, but when I entered the room there was absolutely nobody there just things thrown around. I picked up my camera and few bits and left – what worries me anybody else in the riad could have done the same.

And my personal little niggle – as this was a part of our honeymoon, we got used to be welcome by a nice letter accompanied by a bottle of wine or champagne or other lovely little goodies in other hotels to acknowledge the occasion. Sadly not in Maison MK. Paul, the owner actually promised to upgrade us on our last night to the suite so we can finish off our honeymoon in style, but this did not happen, which was a bit of a shame, as we have been looking forward to it.

All in all, we had a great time and are happily recommending this little riad to all our friends – I hope that they had a chance to iron out all the little issues so they can truly reach the No.1 reputation they deserve. Hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
374
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan,Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Marrakech is not exactly a relaxing place...what is lacks in clean streets and open spaces, it makes up for in sunshine and exoticism. Within this chaos lies MaisonMK, a space of tranquility and well-being...comfortable rooms, stunning roof terrace...breakfast continues well into the early aftn. Staff is attentive and accomodating, and service (also concierge) is 5 star. No hestitation to recommend MK to any and all visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Maison MK, it was so relaxiing and stressfree just what we needed. Your staff are absolutely wonderful; they were always on hand for anything we needed at anytime - you must be so proud of them, they are really wonderful, never too busy to help you and never too busy to stop and talk.

Our only concern was we were told; here in Scarborough; that we should take travellers cheques to change into Moroccon currency; however that caused us the only stress; as this was not so and we had to spend alot of wasted time trying to change them; with the great help of your staff finding a bank/financial instituation to change them. I think this should be made clear on your site;that you do not need to do this and can just change sterling.

Other than that we had a wonderful time - thank you so much to you and your wonderful team - brilliant - twas just the time together we needed.

Yvonne and Martin Welburn

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed at the Maison mk at the begining of November 2009. It was our first time in Marrakech so it is difficult to know how it compares to other riads but I can't imagine you would find anywhere better within the medina. The location is excellent - very easy to find. The space inside is great, considering there are only 6 bedrooms the roof terrace is really big and ideal for relaxing after a morning in the souks. We really liked the laid-back atmosphere which is enhanced by the background 'chill-out' music. The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. On our first evening we had dinner on the roof terrace - the meal was excellent and the views were fantasitc, we felt like we were on a film set. We also thought the breakfast was very, very good. I do agree with some of the previous comments, the bedrooms are not big but they are comfortable. We stayed in room 6 and it does not have a roll-top bath (as mentioned on their website) but a great shower, which we preferred. It is also a bit unusual to have a bathroom which is not in a seperate room (not much privacy). And some people might find it unsual that a luxury 'hotel' does not have a TV in the room but for us it was a bonus to be completely cut off from the news. To finish on a positive, it was one of our best holidays ever, not least because the Maision mk made it really special. I hope we will be able to go back there again some day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

A great riad and well worth a stay if you're up for some peace and luxury whilst in the midst of the medina.

The roof terrace is worth an overnight stay on its own - ace views of the city and Atlas mountains - chilled and comfy!

A couple of tips:

Cafe de la poste - not remotely moroccan but a great restaurant with an excellent bar/lounge upstairs.

A day in the mountains is a must if you have a chance - both Kasbah Toubkal and Branson's Tamadot are beautiful and worth an overnight stay (probably the latter if you're up for a blow out!) if you've time...

Cafe des espices - in the heart of the souks with a great roof terrace looking over the chaos!

All in all a great small riad with personal touches galore (shisha, coffee every morning, drinks on the roof, breakfast watching the sun rise etc...) with no negatives!

Go, get lost and good luck getting the music system to work!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

I would say this is one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. It was so well thought out from the atmospheric lighting to the cool lounge music on the i-pod and the coffee left outside your room in the morning. The riad is in a great location, so close to the main square and easy to find when returning after having a few drinks. The staff were really friendly and helpful and after a day in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, it was lovely to come back to the tranquility of Maison MK.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daddysgrl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

After reading all the reviews about Maison MK we were excited to stay there. However I feel that their website is quite misleading about the quality of the hotel and services provided.

Pro's

1. Excellent staff who go out of there way to make you feel comfortable
2. Extremely comfortable bed
3. Excellent Spa treaments
4. Wireless inernet
5. With only 6 rooms its very quit and relaxing

Con's
1. Even though they advertise suites on their website. The rooms are very small and are NOT suites.

2. Open concept bathroom, which put me off staying here again. Be warned the bathroom is only seperated from the main bedroom by a tiny patition. Meaning there is lack of privacy and god forbid you eat something that doesn't agree with you.

3. They also advertise having workout facilities on site which I was intially excited about. However the gym consited of a bike and weight system shoved into the tiniest room possible. The room basically had just enough for the two pieces of equipment and nothing else

Overall i don't feel like it lived up to its five star reputation. As a well travelled person I have stayed in various 5* hotels and this doesn't even compare.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, owner at Maison MK, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
This is an interesting review – I immediately contacted the reviewer on Tripadvisor but they did not bother answering to say who it was. We also give all of our clients a feedback form together with their invoice on their departure, but none of these comments were on any feedback forms we received in December. Also, all of the comments, both good and bad, are easily accessible from the other 120 reviews on tripadvisor – so I have no idea whether this clients stayed with us or not.
Assuming it may possibly be a genuine client, as always I am happy to go through the comments one by one on Tripadvisor because this was put into the public domain by this ‘client’.

1. Website is misleading. I strongly disagree. As a professional photographer, I have the ability to easily make the riad look much better than it really is, or to be realistic, or much worse than it really is. We have double checked with many, many clients on their arrival to ensure that the website is realistic and gives a fair impression (we even ask the question on the feedback form) and all the clients feel it is a fair & accurate impression of the riad – most actually say it is even better. We do give a lot of information to clients, from the initial detailed emails, through many more emails during the pre-welcome period, and the 19 page in-room document that is sent to clients. Our room sizes are clearly stated – Master suite is 52m2, and the others are 26m2. We generally describe the master suite as a suite (it is 6.5metres x 8 metres & has a big banquette, ‘throne’ chair & table & a window seat), and the others are described as bedrooms. However, we have control over all our own output and we do not have editorial control over external tour operators & if these professionals feel that ‘suite’ is the correct word, then they use it in their descriptions of maison mk. Most riads in Marrakech describe their rooms as suites – I feel we provide a very realistic impression of what we have to offer a client (its not in our interest to entice a client to maison mk & then not be able to deliver the goods & have a disappointed client at the riad !)

2. Open concept bathrooms. Yes, the bathroom and bedroom are in the same room. The ‘tiny partition’ is a 2metre high brick wall with a thick curtain & a pretty silk voile over the top. This is very typical of Marrakech riads because of the layout of the ancient buildings. All our photos show the interiors of the bedrooms so there should be no surprises for any client on arrival.

3. Workout facilities. We actually say on our website & in pre-arrival information that “Our gym is small but perfectly formed, just like those guests which spend time in it. We have a Kettler multigym & a Nautilus exercise bike to make breaking into a sweat as pleasurable as possible. “ The fact that there is a £1000 Multigym & a £1000 exercise bike in a small room should therefore be exactly what the client should have expected from the website. The gym was in a bigger room last year & was used once in the whole year, so we moved it to a smaller room so that we could extend the heavily-used spa rooms, and yet still be able to offer some gym facilities. It is a facility that is provided to allow fitness enthusiasts to tick over whilst away on their holidays. We have, in the past, also arranged for a daily membership of the best gym in town, and also had internal and external people to take clients on long distance runs around Marrakech.


This client thought we had excellent staff, great beds, great spa treatments, wi-fi (which is in all rooms & all floors & free, and also a free laptop for client use), and quiet & relaxing. So it seems unusual to give us one star for ‘Value’, 2 stars for ‘Room’, and 3 stars for ‘Location’. All other reviews we have ever had comment on the fabulous location – easy to get to & easy to get to the square & taxis & in the best part of town.

I do hope that the client will be able to get in touch with me after reading this so that we can find out more details to establish what happened & why their expectations were different from the information that we strive to deliver as accurately as possible before all clients’ arrival at maison mk.

With respect,
Paul Hopkins (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.