We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We looked hard to find the ideal place to stay for our honeymoon in Marrakech. We wanted easy access to the Souks and the Medina; we wanted Luxury; we wanted pampering and we also wanted an escape from the Souks and the Medina when it all got too much!!

MK provides all of the above and more, the staff are first class; nothing is too small, or trivial. We were made to feel really stupidly special on our honeymoon - the master suite was stunning enough, but on arrival our room was scattered with rose petals to really make this a special break that we will never forget.

Our only regret was that we wanted 5 nights in Marrakech and opted to move to another hotel for the last two nights so that we could really escape the hustle and bustle of the Medina - knowing what we know now, we could have achieved this by simply chilling by the pool, booking another Hamman, relaxing in the cinema room, popping the cork on another bottle of wine and generally locking ourselves away for a day (or two)!

Thanks to Paul, Pauline and the rest of the staff at MK for a truly memorable trip - we have fallen in love with Marrakech and with the MK - we will be back!!

Two key travel tips:
1) pack lightly, depart from home with plenty of space luggage capacity and pre-pay your excess baggage (!), bring loads of cash and enjoy the souks!
2) Don't be afraid to eat at the food stalls in the Medina - Great food, great atmosphere, great value!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
365
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in late October at MK. The location is great - right in the heart of Marrakech. The riad itself is beautifully presented. The staff are fantastic. Pauline and her team could not do enough for us. Ask them for recommendations of restaurants to eat in the evening - there are lots (and better than eating in).

We would recommend MK without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This is a fabulous riad, the location is superb and the views from the roof terrace are breathtaking. It is very obvious from the moment you arrive that someone or some people have taken great care and pride in it's construction and design down to the very last petal. There are petals strewn on the beds and in the baths, all very romantic shame we were on a girl's wk end away without the fellas! Pauline the manager is very sweet and helpful and we found the rest of the staff particularly Ismail also very attentive. We would recommend the riad's own spa treatments which are also very reasonably priced. We only stayed for three nights, so a very short trip but still worth going for a taste of Marrakech. I am sure we will return and would consider booking the whole riad with our friends who all want to come now that they've looked at our photos.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Maison MK is a truly fabulous riad/hotel, I would say the best I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail is fantastic and the staff are without exception excellent, welcoming and very good at what they do. The location is perfect, and the decor fantastic, especially the roof terrace and the sunken lounge (which I loved).

We heard of Maison MK through Mr and Mrs Smith and also Conde Nast. The website is excellent and particularly useful is being able to see up to the minute availability (or close to at least). We were given excellent advice before visiting and the owner's recommendation to go to Kasbah du Toubkal led us to stay there also, which we really enjoyed.
The manager (Pauline) gives a tour of the riad upon arrival which is a very nice touch. Not once did I see anything out of place or unclean about our rooms. The beds are really comfy and the bathrooms very well done (wet room are a big bonus).

Individually, Laila (the cook) is one of the nicest, friendliest individuals you could ever hope to meet. We really enjoyed our cooking course at the riad. The food was also of an extremely high quality throughout our stay. Hasnaa is an excellent masseuse and also all the housekeepers and other spa ladies were totally on top of everything.

The owner (who was staying out there whilst we were) clearly cares so much about the place and it all shows to the guests as every little thing makes a difference. Pauline, is full of helpful advice and great recommendations.

We have already been recommending the riad to our friends and will hopefully be back one day. Whilst it is not cheap, you definitely get what you pay for. All in all, an absolutely excellent place to stay, can't think that any place in Marrakech could possibly be better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Fantastic location in the Medina with excellent staff who were so friendly, helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble for them. They arranged our guide around the city, booked restaurants and arranged for a guided trip up into the Atlas Mountains and lunch at Kasbah Tamadot.

The riad itself was stunning and with only 6 rooms, it felt more like a home than a hotel.

The owner and managers were charming, courteous, efficient and friendly. This riad comes highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

On arrival at the hotel we had to park a short walk away as you cant take a car up to the door of the hotel. We arrived amongst a huge amount of hustle and bustle on the streets which to most Europeans would seem like chaos but for Morocco this is the norm. We were met out on the street by Pauline the Manageress who greeted us at our taxi and had also arranged for our luggage to be taken to our rooms within the hotel. The short walk from the street to the hotel was an interesting opportunity to sample the delightful chaos of Morocco and as we arrived at the door of Maison MK there was a wedding procession with lots of people baring gifts and playing music going past, another culture experience right on the door step. As you walk through the door of the hotel it is a million miles away from the chaos out on the street and as soon as the door is closed the transition from chaos to serenity is instant!!!! We were greeted by all the staff who through out the stay were helpful and friendly and Pauline spent time showing us around and explaining the facilities of Maison MK. We were then taken to our rooms where much to my delight there was an iPod docking station with speakers surrounding the room for you to play a selection of music from the iPod in the room or for you to use your own. The room was very tastefully decorated, the lighting in the room is amazing, the bed was extremely comfortable, the mini bar was full, the bathroom was stunning and there were rose petals spread across the bed and the bathroom adding a stunning finishing touch. The room had fresh flowers, the linen and towels, dressing gown and slippers in the room where of very good quality and I can not find one single fault with the place. I am currently sitting here desperately trying to think of one single improvement of potential enhancement they could make to improve my stay and experience of Morocco and I can’t think of one single thing.

All that remains is a huge thank you and congratulations to Paul and his wife (the owners) for creating this hidden gem and to Pauline and the staff for making our stay a fantastic and memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We can thoroughly recommend this Riad. If you would like a really special experience, something completely different from the normal hotel stay, this could be for you. The standard of personal service from Pauline and her staff, was nothing short of amazing, with nothing too much trouble. The Riad is well located, with just a short walk through the Souks to the main square, which is the centre of activity, especially at night. If I have one small caution, would say that it will normally be more expensive to book taxis through the Riad, as against a direct arrangement. All in all, we had a really lovely stay and a most interesting time. The Sunshine Family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.