We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I have just come back from a 4 days stay at Maison MK. What can I say: It really worth it. But let me start some months ago, because Maison MK is not only what you experience once in Marrakech, it is also the advise, help and all the support you receive from Paul (owner) and all the rest of the staff in order to prepare your stay in Marrakech. From excursions and guided tours to restaurant bookings for dinner, and even they look for a gymnasium where we could go the days we wanted and pay just per day (even though they have their own “mini” gym). And I can tell you that they work with the best of the best. The company they work for tours and excursions…what can I say about our guide, just that when we arrived from our first tour we immediately asked Jallel (the manager at the Riad) if we could have this guide for all our excursions!! Thank you Afid for showing us your country.
And now let’s go to the Riad itself. First of all, and really a very important thing: “What you see is what you get”. If you visit their web site, that’s Maison MK. No “photoshop”, lovely decorated rooms, 2 minutes walking to Jema El Fna square and the Souks, incredible terrace for breakfast…and really lovely and nice staff. All staff members, from managers to the girls cleaning are always trying to deliver you the best possible experience, always smiling. They never answer “no”, and if you receive the first “no” answer, it’s because you are asking for something impossible.
About breakfast, they serve a really good breakfast consisting in yogurt, croissants, bread and butter, orange juice…and you can also order any kind of eggs or omelette. We also had lunch the day we arrived, very good chicken and tomato salad (you will eat tons or tomato salad in Marrakech). We also had a private dinner our last night, they have a short list of wines, all from Morocco. But they surprised me, we drank a white one which was really good and very reasonable priced. Regarding the food, as they do not have a “menu list”, you have to arrange the day before what you would like for dinner, but the cooker is really good and our dinner, consisting in a fresh cucumber soup, avocado salad, mojito, monk fish and strawberry desert was really good.
I’m sorry but we did not try any spa treatment, but I tried the TV room, two comfortable sofas, a projector and a home cinema which makes you feel like in the cinema. You just need a coke and pop corn. Why I didn’t ask? Maybe they could have provided also this!!
I think I’m not missing anything, if we come back to Marrakech we will definitely stay at Maison Mk.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
364
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Immediately when we entered the Riad, we were in awe of its beauty and simplicity. The staff was warm and welcoming during our stay. Everything in the Riad was sought out for those looking for our relaxing get away. From ipods/mobile phones in each room to the roof deck and spa, Maison MK helped us completely tune out and escape the hustle and bustle from inside the medina walls and life back home. Cannot say better things about the Riad or its owner. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuhane92
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

After not visiting Marrakech for several years we were absolutely blown away by this Riad located in the old market area of this historic city. Every whim was attended to with superb service and staff. The food was absolutely fantastic as well and Jallel and his staff made our 30th wedding anniversary incredibly special. As world travelers we would have to say it is in one of our top three favorite places to stay in the world - in fact we love the experience and staff so much we have booked the entire Riad for a week in December and will bring close friends from around the world to enjoy this truly special place.
Mark and Carolyn Blackburn
Honolulu, Hawaii

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VjwVjw
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My husband and I spent a superb five days at Maison MK and thoroughrally enjoyed our first stay in Morocco. The riad was excellently furnished and the rooms were luxurious with the added benefit of relaxing music at your finger tips with a complimentary ipod. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we had some great nights out at the recommendation of the managers. The food was very good and the breakfasts ,with the fresh home-made yogurt and fruit salad, divine! Would defintely say any stay in Marrakech is not complete until you visit Maison Mk!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

...and I was not dissapointed. I never write reviews so here goes. As soon as you enter Mk, from the hussle of Marrakech, you are transported into a different world. The style and decor are beautiful and so it's well designed, and this runs through the public areas to the bedrooms. For a riad it has verything you want - good location, good outdoor space to relax, good food and good staff. In fact I have to say the staff from top to bottom were friendly, helpful and went out of there way to make our trip that much better. That's it..my review virginity is over..maybe I will get addicted at writing reviews now.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We won 2 nights at the above hotel. We arrived and were given a lovely cup of Mint tea and some local cakes.
The hotel has 6 rooms and is decorated in a manner that encourages you to relax and wind down - sumptuous sofas ,billowing shade and trickling water .
We dined at the hotel one night and the food was fantastic - 5 courses beautifully presented and tasted great.
The hotel is very central and within a few minutes - if you don't get lost -you are in the main square .
The manager was great at recommending places to visit and a restaurant for our second night.
Lovely trip and luxurious,relaxing hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

My wife and I are very fortunate to travel internationally, on a regular basis. This is one of the first times that we’ve felt compelled to write a review. My wife and I stayed at this unbelievable Riad/Maison during our first trip to Marrakech (March 2009). As you might imagine our first trip to Africa, despite reading all of the tour books was still filled with some level of anticipation. As soon as we entered Maison MK, all of our anxiety disappeared.

We can’t say enough great things about Maison MK, and everyone involved. The owners, management team, and each member of the daily staff are unpretentious, fun, real, professional and very accommodating. They make it very obvious that they are there to make sure you are comfortable, having a great time, being safe and feeling pampered. It was amazing to see them easily manage the different expectations of each set of guests, which is easier said than done.

Because travel is such a treat for us, we don’t approach it lightly. There is a ton of research about the location, the transportation and of course the accommodations. After arriving in Marrakech and seeing many of the other Riads in person, we were even more pleased with Maison MK. Believe me, we are not taking anything away from the others, but you can’t explain the feeling of class and style.

The right mix of local staff with great recommendations, international style without being pretentious. The owner Paul took time to help us before we arrived. Once we arrived Paula was very helpful and patient. Jallel the manager was great. Very knowledgeable and accommodating from walking us to a location hard to find, to changing reservations, to entertaining us and making sure we had everything we needed.

Oh and the location is terrific. Trust me you don’t want to be on the outskirts. To be able to walk to all the great spots is priceless. Also you can see the square from the roof. We enjoyed our mint tea and beers from the roof while the swallows were above.

You will be so glad you made the decision to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.