We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing,luxurious and personal hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
london
1 review
“Relaxing,luxurious and personal hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We won 2 nights at the above hotel. We arrived and were given a lovely cup of Mint tea and some local cakes.
The hotel has 6 rooms and is decorated in a manner that encourages you to relax and wind down - sumptuous sofas ,billowing shade and trickling water .
We dined at the hotel one night and the food was fantastic - 5 courses beautifully presented and tasted great.
The hotel is very central and within a few minutes - if you don't get lost -you are in the main square .
The manager was great at recommending places to visit and a restaurant for our second night.
Lovely trip and luxurious,relaxing hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
362
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

My wife and I are very fortunate to travel internationally, on a regular basis. This is one of the first times that we’ve felt compelled to write a review. My wife and I stayed at this unbelievable Riad/Maison during our first trip to Marrakech (March 2009). As you might imagine our first trip to Africa, despite reading all of the tour books was still filled with some level of anticipation. As soon as we entered Maison MK, all of our anxiety disappeared.

We can’t say enough great things about Maison MK, and everyone involved. The owners, management team, and each member of the daily staff are unpretentious, fun, real, professional and very accommodating. They make it very obvious that they are there to make sure you are comfortable, having a great time, being safe and feeling pampered. It was amazing to see them easily manage the different expectations of each set of guests, which is easier said than done.

Because travel is such a treat for us, we don’t approach it lightly. There is a ton of research about the location, the transportation and of course the accommodations. After arriving in Marrakech and seeing many of the other Riads in person, we were even more pleased with Maison MK. Believe me, we are not taking anything away from the others, but you can’t explain the feeling of class and style.

The right mix of local staff with great recommendations, international style without being pretentious. The owner Paul took time to help us before we arrived. Once we arrived Paula was very helpful and patient. Jallel the manager was great. Very knowledgeable and accommodating from walking us to a location hard to find, to changing reservations, to entertaining us and making sure we had everything we needed.

Oh and the location is terrific. Trust me you don’t want to be on the outskirts. To be able to walk to all the great spots is priceless. Also you can see the square from the roof. We enjoyed our mint tea and beers from the roof while the swallows were above.

You will be so glad you made the decision to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We were only there for two nights but it felt like a proper holiday because there was no effort required to relax and start our holiday - everything was done for us, from meeting us at the airport to rustling up a fantastic dinner shortly after we arrived. And of course the rose petals on the bed helped....very helpful and attentive staff and amazing food for breakfast and dinner - and they even dealt very well with an awkward girlfriend's dietary requirements!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Really impossible to criticise for a 3-4 day indulgent break. Staff were supremely attentive without being intrusive. Location in the heart of the Medina is brilliant and it is like two holidays in one, stepping out from the calm of the Maison MK into the chaos that is central Marrakech. The rooftop has to be the most relaxing central city spot we've been to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Before travelling to Marrkech with my girlfriend I researched many of the hundreds of riads in the Medina, and found Maison MK to be the outstanding option for a modern twist on traditional Moroccan style, coupled with excellent service, and a great location. We were not disappointed.

Greeted at the airport by the ever helpful Amin, we were whisked through the City walls, and led along the narrow streets to the riad's imposing front door. Jallel, the manager, greeted us with mint tea and cake. Prior to us arriving, they had checked if we had any food allergies, and remembering that I don't eat eggs or nuts, the chef, Nora, had prepared two cakes without these ingredients. They were delicious, as they were every day we were there, and it was a great first impression of the service we could expect. Jallel gave us a tour (i won't spoil it for you, the website is impressive, but the reality is far better), and arranged our plans for dinner that evening. They are relaxed about you eating in, or out, and if the latter, you are in luck. Jallel has an extensive network of contacts in the city, and especially at all the top restaurants and bars (of which there are many fabulous ones to try), and can get you in anywhere, even on the day. He even found me a bar to watch the football in.

Maison MK's great location in the medina meant we could easily visit the Jemaa El Fna square, the Souks, the Kasbah, and various other attractions. We also took a Caleche (horse drawn cart) ride, which was a great way to see the sights. If you decide to spend time in the riad, there is much to do aswell. Whether you fancy shisha, dvds, games, sunbathing, hammam, or massage (my girlfriend said her massage from Hasna was the best one she's ever had), you can indulge, and seemingly at any time - the staff are happy to assist.

Our lasting memories? The views from the roof terrace really are amazing, and breakfast is delicious - best scrambled eggs ever, my girlfriend said. We used the terrace as much as possible, relaxing on the cushions with a drink in the evening or lazing in the afternoon sun. The rooms were also wonderful. Very comfy beds, all the amenities you need, cool music playing, and a great shower. We had the pleasure of being upgraded to the master suite for 2 of the 3 nights, and it is a fantastic room. Above all, the service was terrific, and we are quite fussy guests! Amin even delivered one of the yellow ducks to us after we had departed.

All the staff at Maison MK are wonderful, we can't remember all their names, but Jallel, Nora, Amin, Somi, Layla, Hasna and Paul - thank you so much. You fully deserve the excellent rating you have on Tripadvisor. We will be back soon. Peter and Jen.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed at Maison MK for our Honeymoon at the end of October. We had a truly amazing time and this chic boutique hotel made our stay all the better. All the staff were very attentive without being intrusive and could not do enough for us, the small number of rooms made it feel like we were the only ones there even though we were not!
we were given lots of information on where to go and where to eat and our excursions were all sorted for us without us having to do anything but say "we would like to do.... " they even provided a mobile phone for our use in case we got stuck/lost - and that is very likely in the souks. The food was delicious and breakfast out on the sunny terrace (even at the end of october) was a must!
Being in the centre of the medina was a great location and our trip into the Atlas mountains was fantastic - even having tea at our Berber guide's home. We would definitely stay again and would recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We just came back from our trip to Marrakech, we stayed in this hotel for three nights. From the moment we arrived we were greated with mint tea and friendly staff til the last moment we were there it was fantastic. The staff was very friendly, and the manager Jalal was very welcoming great and informative. We will stay in this riad the next time we are in Morroco. I will reccommend it to all my family and friends. Thank you so much for the great service.
Leila Taheri .chicago

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.