We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Experience at Maison mk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Experience at Maison mk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 10th anniversary with a trip to Marrakech. Although we travel frequently we had not been to Morocco before so we consulted friends, travel magazines, and TripAdvisor to find the best place to stay. Based on the incredible experiences and excellent feedback about maison mk on TripAdvisor (and a few emails back and forth with the riad) checking out the mk website and reading the fascinating blog that the owners wrote about their experience building the riad, we booked our stay at mk.

Before we arrived we were in frequent contact with Pauline and Jallel to book restaurant reservations in advance and also to coordinate transfers from airport and guides. They were incredibly responsive via email and assured us we would be taken care of. We could not have anticipated how amazing the service and attention we would receive would be until we arrived.

From the moment we arrived at the airport (one suitcase missing), we were in the excellent hands of the mk team. They would go back to the airport to fetch my missing suitcase, and gave us a wonderful tour of the riad upon arrival. We went to one of the dinners straight away - booked by team mk - and it was truly spectacular!

Our room at mk was so perfect - attention to detail was evident everywhere - from the in-room sound system with the best soundtrack on earth, to the rose petals, gorgeous tub, softest bed linens, wonderful toiletries, exquisite lighting, and of course there was more. First thing in the morning, your coffee tray is outside your door. When you are ready, head up to the gorgeous open terrace for a sumptuous breakfast - the best orange juice, breads, jams, homemade yogurt, ethereal eggs, coffee and tea. A dream and the view of the Koutoubia is fantastic from the roof.

Each day, Pauline, Jallel, and the other folks gave us sage advice about shopping the souks, where to have lunch, and sent us off with bottled waters. They arranged for drivers for dinner when necessary and we hired a driver to take us to the Quartier Industriel which is well worth a visit for Akkal and Amira Bougies. Team mk also introduced us to the local merchants within meters of mk - and all treated us like family. We'll be back to visit Mustafa for leather goods again!

The whole interior of mk reflected the wonderful taste and identity of Marrakech. We enjoyed many mint teas (love the kettle and toppers), beers, and wines while relaxing in the various nooks of the riad. We had a few lunches which were absolutely delicious - so fresh and well-seasoned and the absolute best sweet crepes on the planet! (I skipped crepes in Paris afterwards because I knew these were better!). The food at mk is excellent and it is worth enjoying at least one lunch and dinner during your stay.

Maison mk was immaculate! Everything was so clean and well cared for at the riad. We LOVED the hammam and the massages are legendary. I bought all the products I could possibly carry back.

There hasn't been a day since we got back home to San Francisco that we haven't thought about our stay at mk and how welcomed we were and we absolutely plan to return next year.

  • Liked — Location, staff, food
  • Disliked — Nothing it was perfect
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
365
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

This is a beautiful oasis in the bustle of the Medina. Stunning decor and fantastically considerate gestures in the room such as an IPOD and a mobile phone programmed with numbers you might need to take out with you. The riad and its rooms are beautiful with stunning lighting, rose petals and candles which create the perfect Moroccan atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast on the beautiful terrace overlooking the rooftops of Marrakech is an experience you won't forget in a hurry. To top it all, the Hamman is out of this world. We will definitely go back for the whole experience and can highly recommend you visit.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

A luxurious retreat from the bustle of the Medina. Always a friendly welcome and very helpful staff. With lovely food and a lovely chef! What can we say? It was all we hoped for!

  • Liked — High quality and luxury
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Maison MK met our expectations! it was such a great place to stay for our honeymoon. We booked the master suite and it was soooo nice! Staff is absolutely friendly and always there to help.

food is amazing if you obt for staying a night in ( we did!) YOu can relax on the roof or in one of the rooms inside.

Gosh no more to say just perfect! a nice ending to our honeymoon. We could not have asked for more!

  • Liked — The eye for details
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

We stayed at Masion MK for five nights with a two night break in the Atlas mountains. The Riad is stunning. A great relaxing place to stay with the best service. The design of the hotel is fantastic - we stayed in two different rooms both of which were spacious and clean. The staff go out of their way to make the stay memorable with little touches such as petals on the beds. The food is great and the location couldn't be better - just a short walk to the souks and the Djemaa el-fna. The riad arranged our transfers to the mountain and stored our luggage making everything nice and easy. Maison MK made our stay in Marrakesh and we would certainly return, even just to stay in and do nothing but relax in the riad.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.