We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of tranquility right in the mix of bustling Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Haven of tranquility right in the mix of bustling Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Superb 3 night stay aided by the most courteous and relaxed staff. Excellent accommodation and a fantastic spa. Everything was organised with precision. Right from the hotel pick up to a superb guided tour into the Atlas Mountains. Hugely recommended for a relaxing long weekend away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
362
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech and it did not disappoint! We chose Maison MK largely because of its great reviews and they also did not disappoint, although none quite conveyed the level of care taken by the staff at Maison MK. The location was superb - just 5 minutes from the Medina - but the real charm of the riyad was the feeling of tranquillity once you shut the door. The rooms were superb - both the communal areas and our room were seeped in luxury, well maintained and added to the feeling of being cossetted. Everywhere was very clean and all facilities worked well (we had an amazing bath!). The food was outstanding - we had two evenings with the gourmet menu, we liked it so much! Breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight - both the Moroccan and French style food very enjoyable The Spa was a delight and both myself and my (massage novice) husband really enjoyed the hamman and massage. We had a cookery course which proved a highlight of the visit for both of us - although quite how Omar can drink his mint tea that sweet is beyond me! Most importantly, though, the staff were amazing - always willing to help and arrange anything we wanted, right down to 'saving' us when we ventured out for dinner one night and forgot to take our credit card with us! Service with a smile throughout!
We would definitely recommend this riyad to our friends (and have done!) and we will return ......

David and Vicky Wastell

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I must share my feelings about a secret piece of Heaven behind a very normal Marrakesh door. On arrival we were greated by happy friendly staff that would do anything for us without a hint of delay. We were taken to Room 1 where the colours and lighting were simply wonderful, and a gorgeous smell of orange and cinnamon surrounded us and completly filled the room. The bathroom was scattered with rose petals, and every type of oil, cleanser, and lotion was on offer as part of the room rate.

Each morning we were greeted with fresh coffee outside our door, and breakfast was served on the roof terrace - and what a view. Each day at 1600pm, tea and freshly baked cake were served which was so good we had to get back to the Riad for this every day (were were there for 5 days).

The restaurant was exceptional with interesting and quality food on the tasting menu, and we have eaten in worse 'star rates' establishments.

There's more - don't forget the SPA as it offers luxurious treatments and my skin has never been so soft - my husband was also impressed. While I spent time in the SPA, the staff helped my husband discover local culinary experiences for which he was extremely grateful.

So looking forward to return and sharing this wonderful piece of Heaven in Marrakesh, If only more places in the world realised that the simplicity of good people, and a good eye for colour and design can make the difference between good and extremely good, there would be more places like Maison MK.

Thank you Maison MK - Denise Lockwood

Room Tip: They all look stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you're going to Marrakech, look no further, simply the best place in the city.. bar none.


Location
Great location, 5 minutes walk from everywhere you want to be in Marrakech's Medina but somehow when you get back it seems you have stepped into your own private oasis miles away.
Taxis are available yards from the front door if you wish to venture further, and trips are easily organised from the riyad itself or from the numerous places on the doorstep.

Decoration/Rooms
Chic, sophisticated and chilled with a generous helping of quirkiness.
Almost everything is bespoke and helps to create a lovely relaxed and unique atmosphere. You'll definitely appreciate that you're not in a generic hotel
The rooms are generously appointed and the attention to detail is epic!. We really appreciated the iPod Dock (and iPod), local sim (and phone), travel adapters etc etc.

Cleanliness
It seemed to me that staff cleaned our room every time we stepped out, literally 2-3 times per day.
Staff are well turned out and the communal areas are well maintained.

Service
The staff are incredible.
Nothing is too much trouble, we were always greeted with smiles and they were always ready to help in any way they could.

Activites
The great thing about the riyad is that they have give you the flexibility to do as much or as little as you want. We spent most of the time kicking back in the private cinema room, roof terrace and spa, but there were cooking classes, excursions and much more.

Food
The food is outstanding. Breakfast is fresh cooked (an in the case of the yoghurt fresh churned) every day. Lunch and dinner are great and residents of the riyad are given first choice of the best seats (a nice touch i think). Just look at the Gastro MK reviews - enough said.

Price
In life, you generally pay for what you get.

Overall i would recommend this riyad to anyone!. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the MK and it was absolutely fabulous. The staff are second to none and could not do enough for us. They anticipated our every need. The breakfasts were excellent... French one day and Moroccan the next all served on the fantastic roof terrace with views towards the mosque.

Most of the time we were the only people there so we actually had the roof terrace, the riad and the staff to ourselves.

One of the highlights was the cooking course we did with chef Omar and Mouna his assistant. We got to make vegetable salads, tagines, couscous, bread and mint tea. We carried the bread to the local communal oven and had it baked there. Omar and Mouna were excellent teachers and showed us traditional techniques. We were then served what we had cooked for lunch on the terrace with a complimentary dessert.

Later during the afternoon each day there was a beautiful cake made by Mouna served with delicious mint tea.


The other highlight was the excellent tasting menu meal in the restaurant cooked by Omar. The food was of exceptional quality and the presentation superb.

We cannot praise this riad enough. Everything about it was fantastic but it's real
strength is their people. They were all quite delightful. Would highly recommend and would go again if we had the chance.

Room Tip: My husband and I hade the biggest room number 1. It was huge with a sitting area. The special advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Maison MK is an amazing Riad, with remarkable attention to detail, the staff, food, décor and cocktails on the roof and all beautifully presented. Literally nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they booked a day trip to the Atlas Mountains, as we set off they presented us with a bag of clothes to give to the Berber children so that everyone has a great time.
It’s a perfect location to get out and about to enjoy the fantastic frenetic souks, then return to the perfect oasis to relax and chill out.
I would highly recommend the whole experience, the taster menu, the trip to the Atlas Mountains, the cookery course with the head chef Omar and relaxing in the house Hammam and treatment room. Staying at the Maison Mk was a truly excellent, special experience. If you are looking for a relaxing treat this is an amazing place a real gem. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Marrakech riad has been refurbished with a great eye for design, from the courtyard plunge pool to the bedroom fittings, and features everything you need for a luxury break: in house hammam, massage room, even a private couples cinema. But the real treat at Maison MK is the service from the staff who take care of everything to make your stay as perfect as possible, and always with a smile.

If staying here, you should definitely take the chance to enjoy the degustation dinner, if not do a cooking course with head chef Omar, and relax with a treatment in the in-house hammam.

Room Tip: Room #3 with the bay window overlooking the central courtyard is pretty special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.