We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star in every respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 star in every respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the MK and it was absolutely fabulous. The staff are second to none and could not do enough for us. They anticipated our every need. The breakfasts were excellent... French one day and Moroccan the next all served on the fantastic roof terrace with views towards the mosque.

Most of the time we were the only people there so we actually had the roof terrace, the riad and the staff to ourselves.

One of the highlights was the cooking course we did with chef Omar and Mouna his assistant. We got to make vegetable salads, tagines, couscous, bread and mint tea. We carried the bread to the local communal oven and had it baked there. Omar and Mouna were excellent teachers and showed us traditional techniques. We were then served what we had cooked for lunch on the terrace with a complimentary dessert.

Later during the afternoon each day there was a beautiful cake made by Mouna served with delicious mint tea.


The other highlight was the excellent tasting menu meal in the restaurant cooked by Omar. The food was of exceptional quality and the presentation superb.

We cannot praise this riad enough. Everything about it was fantastic but it's real
strength is their people. They were all quite delightful. Would highly recommend and would go again if we had the chance.

Room Tip: My husband and I hade the biggest room number 1. It was huge with a sitting area. The special advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
362
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Maison MK is an amazing Riad, with remarkable attention to detail, the staff, food, décor and cocktails on the roof and all beautifully presented. Literally nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they booked a day trip to the Atlas Mountains, as we set off they presented us with a bag of clothes to give to the Berber children so that everyone has a great time.
It’s a perfect location to get out and about to enjoy the fantastic frenetic souks, then return to the perfect oasis to relax and chill out.
I would highly recommend the whole experience, the taster menu, the trip to the Atlas Mountains, the cookery course with the head chef Omar and relaxing in the house Hammam and treatment room. Staying at the Maison Mk was a truly excellent, special experience. If you are looking for a relaxing treat this is an amazing place a real gem. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Marrakech riad has been refurbished with a great eye for design, from the courtyard plunge pool to the bedroom fittings, and features everything you need for a luxury break: in house hammam, massage room, even a private couples cinema. But the real treat at Maison MK is the service from the staff who take care of everything to make your stay as perfect as possible, and always with a smile.

If staying here, you should definitely take the chance to enjoy the degustation dinner, if not do a cooking course with head chef Omar, and relax with a treatment in the in-house hammam.

Room Tip: Room #3 with the bay window overlooking the central courtyard is pretty special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Maison MK is a beautiful Riad in a fantastic location (5 mins walk from the square, 2 mins walk from taxi drop off). The owners/staff at Maison MK have thought of everything, including sending the hotel info pack via email in advance of your stay so that you can book excursions, dinner etc before you arrive, to little touches such as cake at 4pm.
The spa is small (1 treatment room and 1 hammam room) but the treatments were excellent and they are very reasonably priced.
Dinner at Gastro MK was delicious, with pre-dinner drinks on the terrace before the meal.
Although in the busy medina area, the Riad itself is very quiet and we slept soundly.
This was our first trip to Marrakech so don't have other Riad's to compare to, but we'd highly recommend Maison MK.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely bay window which floods the room with light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's very rare for me to want to return to hotels, even when they are as good as they get, as I much prefer to keep moving on. However for Maison MK I am ready to go back at my first opportunity. I felt so very relaxed there. The accommodation is fantastic but its the staff that make the real difference between a great stay and one that is exceptional. Top marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

For a top class stay in the ancient Medina of Marakesh you can't beat the Maison MK
Breakfast and lunch are served on the rooftop garden with stunning views over Marakesh.
The old building has been tastefully restored to provide every modern convenience. The staff are friendly and think of your every need including providing you with a mobile phone,so they can come and find you if you get lost in the Souk.There is a varied and delicious menu for dinner and the rooms are all air conditioned combining traditional elegance with modern electronics

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I were thrilled when we checked into the hotel and it was exactly as wonderful as the reviews that we had read about it. The staff was extremely accommodating and nice. The rooms were exceptionally clean and had very good design and hip modern Moroccan features. It's steps away from the main square and all of the souks/shopping. They have an extremely extensive welcome guide that tells you all about everything that you would need to know about staying in Marrakech, dining out, day excursions, and general local information. I really could not speak more highly of the staff that they have. Every single thing that my husband and I needed they accommodated and they took very good care of us. they help schedule our day excursions and our reservations for our dinner. They also called one of the restaurants across town when we forgot a beautiful bowl that we purchased on one of the chairs and they had the bowl delivered to the hotel so we did not have to pay for a cab again to go back and get it. On our last day my husband got a stomach bug and they even brought special herbal tea up to our room that they felt might help and they gave us an extra bag of the thyme they used in the tea so he could use it again...although Imodium worked much better...but it was the thought that counted ! The hotel feels very safe and they have the front door locked at all times but there is someone there to open it at any time when you ring the buzzer. It was a lovely experience and much nicer than most of the places we saw in the 6 days we stayed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#9 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Lu...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#8 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Pool, Luxury, R...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#11 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Charming, Pool...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.