We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after. Ticked all the boxes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well looked after. Ticked all the boxes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose to stay here in November 2012 after a personal recommendation. It was absolutely beautiful, and even more lovely than the pictures on the web-site.
The décor and the location were the most important things to get right for us, and Maison mk scored top points for both. The design was unexpectedly very Moroccan, but furnished in a modern and extremely luxuriant fashion. The lighting was superb, especially in the bathroom where my wife did appreciate the Hollywood lights and extra make-up mirror. The location was very peaceful, which is surprising given its close proximity to the main square and to the main road by the medina gate.
We couldn’t cover everything we wanted to do here in our 3 days (the cooking course for example), and there were lots of extras that we didn’t use, but appreciated them all the same. It was nice to feel spoiled. This maison achieved top marks from us also because it appealed to us whilst at the same time we know it would appeal to our children and grandchildren. I would say we are rather conservative. Comfort, peace and quiet, attentive service and top quality services are our requirements, but having all the facilities of a hotel, along with fun and friendly staff in less formal town-house would appeal to our children. “Maison mk” is very relaxing and inviting as well as being absolutely beautiful so we would love to return perhaps for a family celebration.
Finally I must mention, for those that may not be aware, that you cannot get better food anywhere in Marrakech. The restaurant special evening meal is outstanding. The lunches, the breakfasts, and the snacks covered all our requirements superbly, from the best of traditional food to fine dining. The spa was also wonderfully tranquil, the menu extensive and the prices pretty good. We learned a lot about Moroccan life chatting with the staff but Marrakech outside the door is fascinating of course, although a little daunting. Partner this with the safe and beautiful haven of Maison mk makes it an unbeatable experience which we hope to get the chance to continue one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
365
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you want the perfect location, perfect service, perfect food and perfect night’s sleep then Maison MK is, well..... perfect!

My wife and I spent 4 nights here and were overwhelmed by the fact that for all the reviews you read make for a great experience, Maison Mk still exceeded them! Hanane and the team were exceptional and were at hand for anything you needed with some great recommendations. The rooms were exquisitely designed and very comfortable and the bathroom we had in room 2 was huge!! I won’t go on about the rooms too much as ours was great and the other rooms looked great too!

The Riad itself was beautifully recreated and very well laid out with a great little plunge pool on the ground floor for those moments when you need to cool down. The roof terrace was amazing, again great layout with amazingly comfortable oversized sun loungers along with a perfectly placed shaded lounge area when you need to step out the sun for 10 minutes. The team at Maison MK are very discreet and stayed out of the way but whenever you thought “Ah, I could do with a drink right about now!” a member of the team would mystically appear to get them for you... I loved that!!! At sunset , the roof terrace comes into its own with a 3rd tier which places you slightly higher than all the other buildings around you, you are presented with an unparallel scene across the City and can watch the sun set and at the same time see and smell the Medina come to life as they start the cooking in the square and the smoke rising into the sky.... all viable from the roof of your own little piece of paradise! Oh, the ‘House’ music was brilliant and spookily similar to my own playlist!

We had dinner from the Gastro MK menu on two of the nights and..... amazing!!! The fusion was perfect and I was caught eating food my wife would swear blind i had told her i didn’t like!!! All 5 courses were delicious and the second night we ate, the chef concocted a fresh menu for us so we didn’t have the same things again.... still amazing!

Treatments.... I would recommend the treatments at Maison MK even if you don’t stay here, book in for a treatment, they are great!

In Summary, Paul and the Team have done an amazing job here with this little gem and we will be coming back year after year as it is..... you guessed it.... Perfect!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the obviously choice but after that we preferred Room 2 (which is the room we stayed in) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We would highly recommend a stay at Maison Mk, it’s a great experience.
This was our first visit to Marrakesh and we had an amazing time.
We stayed 3 nights at the Maison Mk, after staying at another Riad the Dar Massaï for the first 4 nights. We will be adding their report soon.
The location is good Maison Mk is about 5 minutes walk to the market and the souks. Maison Mk is in a very quite area.
This Riad certainly ensures you chill out and enjoy your stay from the moment you arrive. They gave us a tour of the hotel as soon as we had drunk out welcoming mint tea. you're made to feel very welcome from the moment you walk in the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family of 3 stayed at Maison MK for four nights in December of 2012. I tend to be a bit fanatical about my travel plans, and MK didn't disappoint one bit.

From the first email, Hanane and her staff were incredibly gracious and answered each and every question I had (and I always have a lot of questions). The staff was among the best I've ever experienced, although the service throughout Morocco was beyond compare. I fell ill during our stay, and tea and honey were immediately sent to the room. The staff entertained our daughter, and she was delighted to make new friends in Morocco. Each and every member of the staff was warm, engaging, and delightful. Any request or question was quickly and thoroughly answered by Hanane--she's a true gem, and MK is quite lucky to have such a personable and gracious manager.

We stayed in the Master Suite, and I was a bit worried about space and amenities. I must say, the pictures on the website are beautiful, but don't do justice to the sheer beauty of the riad. While the rooms were being cleaned, I peeked into the other rooms, and they are all simply amazing.

The cooking class was fantastic and should not be missed. It provides a unique opportunity to tour the markets like a local, and the chicken tagine we made was the best dish we had during our 2 week stay in the country. Breakfast on the rooftop is lovely. From the bees during breakfast, to the Call to Prayer, there is something magical about Marrakech, and MK was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had the East West combo of hammam and massage which was fabulous. We then had a drink on the roof bar - comfy seating great service and an ice cold beer - really lovely way to relax after our lovely treatments

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a superb stay at Maison MK - it was our first choice of hotel and we loved staying there. The location was great - we arrived from the taxi in the chaos of Marrakech and there was our lovely member of staff to say hello & arrange for our xcases to be carried for us. This little touch summed up the shole stay. Attentive service, attention to deatil, and so many little things that helped to make this a very special place.
The hotel is even better than the website, which was a lovely surprise. And the atmosphere is really chilled and relaxed. A great combination - designer cool and also relaxed.
Can't wait to return...we will see you all soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Marrakech is magical, and maison mk fits very well in that category.
I stayed with family in June this year and it is indeed a magical place.
You arrive at a very modern airport and within 20mins in a very modern air conditioned taxi you find yourself in what feels like the streets of a very ancient life.
Then you are led a few minutes walk past the bread maker, the local baths and butcher, the nice tourist shops and then children playing outside a ultra modern door in an ancient street . This is “mk” as it says on the wall.
Inside, it all flips round again. The exquisite smells of orange, the cool still air, the peace and quiet, the tinkling water and soft music, roses everywhere, fresh orange juice handed to me immediately, the incredible beauty.
That was just the beginning of what was the most memorable holiday I have ever had so it deserves this write up to let people know. We spent lots of time out shopping and walking as it was close to every where we wanted to see including the square. We always had this beautiful retreat and its lovely friendly staff ( who seemed to speak every language of every guest) to greet us when we returned. Sad to have left for good as it now feels so far away. One day we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.