We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we use tripadvisor a lot, but never put our own reviews on it. So we thought we would make a start and maison MK was so good, we will start with this one.
We read so many reviews about riads on tripadvisor, but kept returning to maison mk - so happy that we did. Hanane and her team make it so special - full of great advice, perfctly unobtrusive staff, and a riad that is even more beautiful in real life than it is on the website.
They never put a foot wrong, restaurant ideas were great, food & drinks at the riad were spot on, and the spa was so relaxing that I fell asleep !
maison mk, please change nothing. The title says it all......PERFECT

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
364
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

What a place, after receiving a trip to Marrakech as a surprise birthday present once I found out we were staying at Maison MK after researching the hotel the reviews looked incredible. The hotel is in fact this and more. The Staff could not do enough for us, the spa treatments were a great way to start the mini break then after a busy day walking the streets to return to the chilled out atmosphere on the relaxed roof terrace for drinks, dinner and ambience were outstanding. I am fortunate enough to travel to a lot of hotels with work however have never had the experience and felt so at home and welcome as here, thanks to all the staff, I would recommend this place for to anyone! And hope to receive the same surprise again next year!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my boyfriend to this hotel for his 30th birthday and it was a really special stay from start to finish. The Maison MK were attentive and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was delightful on the terrace and we loved the fresh OJ, yoghurt and selection of breads combo. We were impressed how tranquil it could be on the roof with birdsong whilst the hustle and bustle of town was in full swing down below, two diff worlds that striked the perfect balance of R&R and adventure. Loved the boutique style of our room and bathroom was heavenly with rainforest shower, created a romantic funky atmosphere and again we were surprised how quiet it was at night being a city retreat. We also made the most of the spa on site and were relieved we opted for the hammam as it was still authentic but felt more hygienic than perhaps a communal one would have been and my massage was nice and strong pressure just how I like it. We are already longing to return here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The numbers say it all: over 430 "excellent" reviews in Tripadvisor, the number 1 restaurant experience in Marrakech... what more can I say? Well, the glowingly positive feedback is all true. This is an exceptional small hotel, designed with meticulous care and eye-for-detail by two very creative Brits (Paul and Aoibheann Hopkins, who we were lucky enough to meet and hang out with on the roof!) and run with equal care and passion by them and their fantastic team, headed by the friendly, super-chic and professional manager, Hanane.

Nothing here is too much trouble. I had a hunch I was going to be in for this kind of experience as soon as I started emailing prior to our trip - the responses were always lengthy, informative and very timely (and friendly too). Having been whisked from the airport, you enter the chaotic, dusty Medina, turn right and then a door with "mk" is ahead of you. Inside lies an oasis of great taste, tranquility and charm.

I loved everything about this place. The food was wonderful - I've eaten in a lot of top places and this was a very solid 1 Michelin-starred standard, which in Marrakech is an achievement (curiously, this city is not the foodie mecca you'd expect). The rooms are beautiful, sporting very high-end finishes and supremely comfortable beds. The view (and sounds) from the roof terrace are amazing, the drinks keep flowing, the pool is super-refreshing, the cinema is a great touch... I did not experience the spa personally but one of our group did and she said it was the best massage of her life.

We took two excursions organised by the riad: one into the Atlas Mountains in a 4x4, visiting an Argan oil co-operative and enjoying lunch in a Berber home; and a half-day learning how to cook Moroccan food with the chef Omar, with a trip to the market, and the communal bread oven, culminating in lunch (our handiwork!) on the roof. Both were organised exceptionally well, and were actually great value for money as well.

If you're visiting Marrakech for a short break, this is the place to go to let somebody else do the organising, relax and enjoy the very best hospitality. Thanks to all, great work, keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Staff is super friendly, surrounding area is quite and very safe (you don't have to worry about returning to the maison late at night), there is a great attention to details in everything in this place, you even get a mobile phone with a morrocan SIM in the room to use during your stay, in addition to an IPod with a great playlist of music to use in the room (connected to a sound surround system using a docking station) or outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place,and lovely people.My wife and daughter joined me in a cooking class that was the highlight of our visit, with the evening gourmet meal a close second.
Brilliant place to stay and especially to eat! The cooking lesson was such fun! Really recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A beautiful small Riad with excellence in everything they did for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Food, room, ambience and service all without fault. Hanane the Riad Manager is exceptional in her level of care. Thank you Maison MK, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;