We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Save Saved
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I booked a three night Maison MK for our honeymoon in October 2012. This trip was doubly special as it was the first trip we'd had away just the two of us since before our little boy was born in April 2011. We booked Maison MK as we'd seen the reviews and it sounded exactly what we were looking for - an informal and cosy, yet luxurious and top quality riad within the medina. We were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived, we were treated to the lovely relaxing atmosphere, amazing customer service and attention to detail which made our stay the relaxing break we'd needed - and so much more!

We stayed in the master suite, which is gorgeous, and impeccably maintained. Little touches like the scented oils in our room and the coffee on our doorstep every day are just a couple of examples of how this place stands out from anywhere else we've stayed before. The friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff couldn't do enough to help us but at the same time were never imposing and left us to it unless we needed anything. We literally didn't have to worry about a thing; every time we returned to our room it had been tidied up and new gorgeous scented oils were burning! We took full advantage of the lovely rooftop bar, both in the daytime for lounging about reading our books and in the evening for sundown drinks and later on wine under the stars :-)

The spa and restaurant are amazing too - we had the evening arrival package with massage and hamman plus taster menu. Such a lovely welcome to Marrakech and instantly allowed us to unwind ahead of the rest of our stay.

Thank you Maison MK for a truly unique and thoroughly relaxing break!

Room Tip: We loved our room, the master suite but according to other reviews the others are equally lovely. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
364
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Well this is long overdue which I suppose is alright given my age.I am still thinking of my magical holiday of a lifetime at Maison MK, and so this review was still on my 'please do' list. Amongst the mayhem of the madness of Marrakech we found this oasis of beauty and charm and endless treats. It is the perfect place for a mother and daughter to be spoiled and pampered. It has a beautiful little spa onsite, amazing food, and drinks any time of the day or night. It has plenty of peace in the day to read and sunbathe, and lots of buzz at night to dress up for.I would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I visited Morocco in October 2012 and spent the first two nights at La Mamounia, the next two nights at Kasbah Tamadot and the final night at Maison MK.... which was the perfect end to a perfect visit, my fourth to Morocco, but the first for my girlfriend. Maison MK has a package which includes a private kitchen experience- exploring the Souks with the chef, Omar, to locate ingredients for a tagine (we selected lamb) and then returning with the goodies to spend three hours preparing bread, vegetables, appetizers, and tea (he knows how to make it and then you will be asking everyone if they prepare it the same way). Omar was assisted by an able woman- who created the bread with my girlfriend.

Important here is what Maison MK did for me. I asked if we could participate in the private kitchen experience two days before we would check-in; no problem. How many properties would do that? The manager, Emily, helped me before our arrival to identify great shopping locations and activities. Maison MK is near the Djemaa el-Fna; easy to reach from the street. It's magical; the colors, the staff so helpful... the service quietly attentive; the spa is great and... Omar's food in the very romantic restaurant is terrific- begin on the roof for cocktails.

If you have only one night in Marrakech, spend it at Maison MK; if you have more than one night in Marrakech, then spend the final night at Maison MK.

Room Tip: Each room has a personality. Ours was on the second floor, at the top of the stairs. Vibrant color...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you're looking for a boutique hotel experience in Marrakech, this is it! Emily (the manager) is absolutely fantastic and was so helpful in guiding us through a great couple of days exploring Marrakech and was actually amazingly helpful in giving us tips regarding our travels throughout the rest of Morocco! Every member of the staff is so friendly as well - especially Simo!

Definitely make a reservation to eat at Gastro MK and do not stay here without booking a cooking class! We had a fantastic time learning how to make a tagine, homemade bread, and a wonderful Moroccan vegetable salad. The location is also fantastic because you can walk just about anywhere to go and see the major sites (especially the souk and Jemaa el Fna square). And don't forget: the splash pool in the courtyard is meant for swimming! It was such a treat to jump in and float around during the 110 degree (43 C) heat wave.

As for the rooms: check out the website and request the one that speaks to your personality. We stayed in Room 2 with a bay window looking into the courtyard and loved it. Emily was kind enough to give us a tour of all the other rooms and believe me, all of them are great so you can't really go wrong!

Even though we only stayed here for 3 nights it felt like home... so much so that we came back here at the end of our trip to spend 6 hours freshening up, visiting the spa, and having a farewell dinner on the roof before going to the airport.

The only critique I have of this place is that the spa massage is a tad disappointing. The Moroccan bath/scrub was great but the massage portion left a lot to be desired. Especially after driving for hours in a car through the mountains...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from Maison MK after a wonderful relaxing holiday, it was our idea of heaven as this place was small and intimate (only six rooms) there are so many good things to say about this hotel, from the service, the location, the food (Gastro MK a reasonably priced must), wonderful staff, fabulous room, bed, bed linens etc.
A tray of either tea or coffee left outside your room to start your day.
Breakfast served at a relaxed pace on the terrace with choices of fabulous pastries, pancakes and eggs cooked to your request,
Afternoon tea to be tried at least once as every item served was delicious, although unable to manage Gastro on the same day!!(For the best guide to what is included in this see their comprehensive menus detailed on their web site.)
Gastro MK, very high quality cooked food, unfaultable and reasonably priced, just hope Omar is still there when we return.
As this is a small riad you feel most of the time you have the place to yourself, pool (plunge) was always free and available. Roof terrace with day beds and loungers were always available.
Spa was great, we’ve have had massages etc in many places in the world and both agree this was by far the best. Extensive spa menu and reasonably priced, expect to pay what you would in UK.
My advice would be to read what is available on their extensive web site any questions you have get promptly answered by email. Plan what you want to do, when and maybe book spa treatments, gastro or any trips you may want to do a few days in advance of your holiday, they do take outside bookings for both the spa and gastro and do get booked up.
Marrakech itself if never visited before is not for the faint hearted, I would describe it as scarily beautiful, the Riad itself lets you escape the madness, speak to Emily for advice on what to expect and how best to deal with things.
If you are reading this review to help you decide if to stay here or not, unless you are a ‘Butlins’ type of holiday lover (no entertainment here) then no need to look further, we are so glad we did and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just came back from this lovely riad, the experience started by getting picked up from the airport and escourted to the main door without carrying our bags which is always nice in 30c heat.

The riad is beautiful, when we entered the front door and walked into the courtyard to meet the manager I knew I had chosen well! the place is very quiet inside, the rooms were perfect with everything thought of and the place in general had an air of safety about it. We spent a lot of time on the roof top sunbathing and drinking, the bar on the rooftop we especially liked because of the view that surrounded us and watching the sun go down. There is a shower on the roof to cool down in the heat but we preferred the pluge pool in the court yard which is a 30 second walk down the stairs. The thing we liked was the attention to detail the personal service and the professionalism of the staff which seemed to be the ethos of the riad.

the location is excellent and is approx a 5 min walk down to the market and the souks, one evening we decided to go to the new town to get round some of the bars and one of the members of staff walked us down to the taxi rank which is a couple of mins away and negotiated a price for drop and return which was a good and on returning (0300)the same taxi driver and the medina security guard even though they did not have to walked us to the riad door which I was very impressed with.

overall we very much enjoyed our 3 day break and will be returning the next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at maison mk for two nights in September, at the start of our honeymoon. The Riad is beautifully designed and very well located, about a 5-10 min walk from the Jemaa El Fna square.

Perhaps the best feature of maison mk is the exceptional service from the staff. The client manager, Emily, gave us loads of info before we arrived and made sure we knew what to expect when we arrived at the airport. The waiters and other staff were all very helpful, and would bend over backwards to help us without being too obtrusive. They organised a little honeymoon treat of a bottle of bubbly, which was a really nice touch.

We stayed in room 3, which I would recommend - it has a lovely window seat overlooking the courtyard. The rooms aren't huge, but are very comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic.

The roof terrace was a real plus - a wonderful place to have breakfast or an evening drink.

We ate at Gastro mk one evening, which was brilliant - some of the most delicious food we've ever had the pleasure to eat!

Unfortunately all this luxury does come at a price - no other places on our honeymoon had quite this level of service, but most were about half the cost! So whilst it was a wonderful stay, our only regret is that it will be a long time before we can afford to stay there again!

Overall, though, we had a fabulous time at maison mk and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Rob K

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.