We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison MK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maison MK to your Saves list
Maison MK
14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Saint Andrews, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

My friends and I spent a few days of our inter-semester break at Maison MK. We chose this riad because of its great reviews and ideal location.. and we chose well! The hotel was absolutely beautiful, a Morrocan-chic riad with a boutique, modern twist. We got a great Moroccan vibe but still felt very much at home. The staff was top-knotch, very warm, welcoming, and accommodating; from setting out tea and coffee right outside our bedroom each morning, to helping us navigate the streets, to booking reservations for henna, restaurants, and even camel riding, to simply always offering a warm smile and a friendly "hello." The food was absolutely delicious (definitely try the club sandwich and drink as much of their OJ as possible!), there was no need to eat elsewhere. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I could go on and on, but, simply put, the Maison MK is perfect. There is no better place to stay in all of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
403
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We chose Maison MK because it looked beautiful on the website & we were even more delighted when it looked even better in real life. Everything is curved & sensual, & the feeling of the whole place suggests that a huge amount of thought has gone into its design & creation.
All the rooms in the hotel are quite different, but there is a cohesive feel that binds them all together - this is obviously the work of people that understand design, form, lighting, and function beautifully.
But the real beauty is that on top of this great design is superb service & a very relaxed vibe. The staff are so friendly and helpful and unobtrusive - they seem to have the knack of knowing when you need them & they just appear beside you ready to make your life even more perfect.
We stayed for 3 days & we would have happily stayed for 3 months... Maison Mk is a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

FIRST IMPRESSIONS - We arrived around 8pm and having survived the gauntlet which is ‘road crossing’ avoiding a host of bikes, mopeds, donkey & carts, we stepped into a world of serenity and tranquillity that is Masion MK. Fresh orange was poured and we instantly felt at ease in this chic, yet comfortable Riad which would become home for the next 3 nights.

OUR BEDROOM – we opted for the ‘master suite’ which had my boyfriend reaching for his camera as soon as we were left alone, to capture the beauty of the room before I managed to desecrate it with clothes and wet towels….

The bed was covered in rose petals, the room alight with candles – it was a truly romantic setting. Little touches such as an ipod, mobile phone with credit to use in Marrakech, a vase of fresh roses plus fresh coffee and a flask of tea delivered outside our room each morning didn’t go amiss.

The bathroom was fit for a princess, boasting luxurious robes, slippers and of course the signature giant rubber duck. I would note that the bathroom and bedroom are separated by a curtain, so not ideal if you’re planning your 1st mini break – however there is a bathroom situated on the ground and second floor if you require privacy.

THE RESTAURANT – we ate in the Riad often, the food on our first night was a simple lunch menu as we didn’t arrive till late. The second night we opted for the 5 course taster menu and at 55 euros per person it is a culinary delight that tantalised our taste buds with a variety of spices. The service was relaxed and impeccable – I can’t urge you enough to try the home made OLIVE bread.

BREAKFAST – thankfully the weather allowed us to dine on the roof terrace for breakfast and what a treat it was! Lashings of sunshine, fresh fruit, yoghurt, mixture of breads and pastries & a range of eggs cooked to your liking – a great start to the day.

THE CINEMA – with so much to do and see in Marrakech I didn’t think we’d use this room at all, however with rain invading our first day we headed back to the cleanliness of Maison MK to curl up in front of a movie. If you get the opportunity, this is a perfect “boys room” heaven with giant screen, numerous remote controls and popcorn on tap. There is an up to date DVD selection to suit most tastes.

THE SPA – Please, please, please if nothing else, try the traditional Hammam. I don’t want to give too much away but my top tip is WEAR the flimsy knickers (white for girls, black for boys) and go with it…. (!) you’ll come out with smooth skin and feeling cleaner than you’ve ever felt before.

Advice – when venturing out into Marrakech for the first time here is some advice:
• The road is never closed
• Don’t let anyone help you with directions as they will want payment
• Ignore young men who may swear at you – stay chilled
• Be stern and ignore
• Walk with purpose
• Be polite and ask if you can take photos of people – some may refuse
• Only pay what you think it’s worth


Thank you to all at Maison MK for a truly memorable Moroccan experience and congratulations to owners Paul & Aoibheann for their dedication.

Room Tip: We stayed in the master suite, but I'm sure all the rooms are perfect in their individual way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at Maison MK a few days days ago, we do not usually write rewiews on trip advisor but we felt we needed to give something back and tell everyone how wonderful Maison MK is.
We loved the warm welcome given to us on arrival and we imediadelity felt at home.
When we frist walked into our room, our senses bloomed. Soft lighting, delicate essence, soothing music, rosepetals...beautiful.
We made use of every part of the maison, great private cinema room( you can even have pop corn if you like!), we fell in love with the roof terrace with wonderful views of the Atlas mountains and the Medina. We spend most of our days soaking up the sun and our evening playing the board games (jenga, Connect4) while having great cocktail and smoking Shisha!
If we were not the we were having treatments, hamman-massage is to die for,we felt so soft, pampered and rejuvenated! My boyfriend loved the face and scalp massage.
I had a great pedicure and manicure on the roof terrace.
We had the gastro Mk experience and it is definitely worth it.From drinks and canapes on the roof terrace leading to a stunning five course dinner taken in the restaurant by the plunge pool.each course was beautifully presented and did not disappoint taste wise.
We had a really great time talking to the staff about the local lifestyle, places to go to,they all have a very friendly personnality and nothing is too much trouble for them to make you feel comfortable.
we hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Riad is cool with a little water feature in the lobby. Its public spaces are not as beautiful as the Riad NoirD’Ivoire but it has a nice 6 table restauarant, a small smoking room, a little hammam and massage room and a Movie Room with a big screen.No ugly televisions for these bedrooms, this is the only set in the house. I walk up to the roof terrace which is shared by all the guests .This is where guests take their breakfast and it overlooks the Medina.
Up to this point Riad Noir D’ivoire wins hands down but aaaah the bedroom, beautiful, cool, chic, funky, ambient ….. simply fantastic. There is a high ceiling which is adorned by a billowing burgundy silk and glass chandelier, totally original and spectacular. The room has an Ipod dock,which is already playing funky local tunes as I enter. There is also the scent of cinnamon . There is a nice full length mirror on the wall next to an ornate chest of drawers,with a vase of red roses placed on top.The furnishings are splendid. An original green and amber upholstered armchair in one corner ,and a beautiful red built in sofa adorns one whole alcove with a faux grey chimney reaching upwards wiith an inset for 5 candles to romance uo any night. There are also 2 nice modern Moroccan art pieces on the wall. In the centre of the room is a clay sculpted bed with a huge inviting mattress adorned with very tasteful bedspreads, duvets and cushions and scattered with petals. The flooring is simple tiles, but well finished, This is without any doubt my favourite ‘bedroom’ of the week.

The dressing room is small ,a little niche in the corner hidden behind a curtain.
The bathroom is very pretty it has been sculpted out of clay and forms part of the architecture of the bedroom.The wall behind the bath curves over creating a partial cocoon. The bathtub is normal size, inset into a clay sculpted base which is underlit.All of this is encased in a beautiful beige Moroccan stucco.There are lovely light fittings surrounding the bathroom mirror and overhead, but the bathroom wall does not go to the ceilings ,so there will be more chances to join in the chorus of the toilet symphony. But at least the sound system in the bedroom is excellent and there is a thick curtain leading to the bathroom to hide much of the unwanted noise pollution. In the bathroom hangs a fluffy lush hooded bathrobe, and of course they don’t forget the beautiful soaps, gels and shampoos.
My favourite touch is the local mobile phone provided so that people can contact you easily. it is preloaded with enough credit to make some local calls. The directory contains the number of the police, a taxi company and of course the hotel itself (very useful when lost in the Medina).It also has the numbers of the other rooms, great if you visit with friends. Though this is my cheapest room of the week at 400 euros, it is also the most sublime.
My dinner is a simple modern take on Moroccan cooking ,it is served in the small, neat funky dining space. Everything here is well conceived.
I get back to my room and the candles are lit in the fireplace and there is romantic Arabic music playing. I sink into my mattress and sleep deeply.
I wake early, to find the owners have placed a flask of coffee on a stand outside my room.Another lovely touch.I pack and then ascend to the roof terrace to take my last Moroccan breakfast.The local breads are fresh and tasty,the eggs are well prepared.The view over the Koutoubia and the Medina gives me a healthy appetite.Lying next to me is Tabby, a very lazy luxuriating feline stretched out in the sun.I agree with her,this may be the best place to sleep in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul_at_maisonMK, Owner at Maison MK, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Hi Mark, thanks for the glowing review. As you are mentioning other places in our review I would like to put it in context for other readers, its probably good to point out that your review is an excerpt from your wonderful 13 page detailed report you made on the 6 places you stayed ( and some others you visited) while in Marrakech -Royal Mansour, maison mk, Amanjena, Noir D’Ivoire, Mamounia and Kasbah Tamadot. Thanks so much for the votes on the best in town too as we were absolutely thrilled to have come 2nd place after Royal Mansour, and that we are the cheapest!
Maison mk is intended to be a simple uncomplicated design and an original one too. It is intended to be high service, and we aim to score high in friendliness and warmth, high in ability to provide all the mod cons and as you say ‘cool chic funky and ambient’ areas for the modern savvy traveller, and high in levels of detail and cleanliness and so is intentionally overstaffed to achieve this. Maison mk is intended to be a positive place where the answer is usually and we love the ‘barefoot 5 star’ label guests keep calling us.
Within the contemporary décor of maison mk are so many authentic details which tell a story. We adore the Moroccans recognising the translation of their heritage as it is kept rather than changed into a boutique hotel style you might find in any major city. However not every visitor sees this – one being the Moroccan bathroom setup because of the high ceilings. We rarely have a comment on these now since the introduction of those really heavy curtains you mention but it is also in the plan for this year to put doors (wooden or glass) in some of the rooms so that our guests have choices!
We will pass the comments on to Mouna our Moroccan cook about the home made breakfasts, but next time you should try her full English afternoon tea – she does some amazing macaroons and spicy scones which you didn’t get to try! Finally I got time to learn how to make the raib yoghurt with some of our guests as they couldn’t go home without the recipe and yes its so simple so let me know if you need the recipe too!
Again thanks for our 2nd place vote – we are thrilled and hope to see you again! keep in touch and good luck with your own project.
Aoibheann (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We celebrated our short honeymoon at this fantastic Riad right in the heart of the Marrakech! The Riad was stunning and you could see the attention to detail which had gone into the Riad everywhere. We had a wonderful stay. Friendly staff. Amazing food in the Gastro MK. Beautiful location. Great hammam. Perfect for a special occassion or romantic break. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Leaving the 4 children at home we stayed 4 nights at Maison Mk as a surprise to celebrate my husband,s 50th Birthday. It was everything we wanted and more. We stayed in the suite which was magical - both luxurious and stylish without being gaudy or over the top. From the moment we were greeted at the airport we were made to feel welcome and from then on the customer service was faultless. Every member of staff was a credit to the riad. Unfortunately due to a mix up we hadn't received any info prior to arrival but Mary was swift to supply us with all the information we needed to plan full and exciting days. We wandered the souks - location is perfect - sipped roof top cocktails at sunset, dined in the private dining room, had a cookery class with the chef, a hammam in the spa and took a trip to the Atlas mountains which included a trek and lunch in a very unspoiled Berber house. We also took a dawn balloon flight which was incredible. We loved the buzz of Marrakesh and having lived in India relished the vibe of the city. However Maison Mk despite being in the heart of it is a total oasis of calm. We would unreservedly recommend Maison Mk and are working out an excuse to fill it with our own house party! Nicky and Storm, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Room Tip: Go for the suite -worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison MK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison MK

Address: 14 Derb Lafkih Sbaai | Quartier Ksour, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison MK is a cool, romantic, sophisticated house right in the middle of the Marrakech medina. Everything in the riad is curved and organic. Our six beautiful rooms are creative, rich, romantic, decadent and totally indulgent! Brand new in Jan 2008, we have wow-factor suites, spa loveliness, stunning lighting, and cutting edge design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison MK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Mk Marrakech
Maison Mk Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison MK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.