We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Fes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jean Claude

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Jean Claude to your Saves list
Riad Jean Claude
10 bis Derb El Miter, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Toronto, ON, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best food in Fes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I had the most incredible stay at this riad. Jean Claude has done an amazing job making this guest house feel as if you were staying with a Moroccan family.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breathtaking, tranquil gardens are a welcome escape from the hustle-and-bustle of the medina. It's in perfect proximity to the medina - close enough to walk to, yet far away from the loud night action.

Be sure to have dinner at Jean Claude's!! The couscous was the BEST we had in Morocco. Our biggest regret was not eating there more often. We should have eaten here EVERY night.

Jean Claude and his staff members were phenomenal! They were friendly, helpful and made us feel so welcomed.

You'll be happy that you stayed here. A truly wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Riad is excellently located on the outskirts of the medina with reasonably priced parking adjacent. It is one of the few at his price where you will get a garden and real swimming pool as opposed to so called 'plunge pools'. Bedrooms have somewhat eccentric colour schemes, but good showers with plenty of hot water. We had two rooms and consequently a private balcony with tables and a stunning view of the medina. Breakfasts are among the very best we have had in several trips to Morocco.
The highlight is Jean-Claude himself. He really is prepared to go the extra mile. In our case this was sorting out quickly and effectively a problem caused by our car hire company, which could have been a major issue. He also gave us a guided tour of Fez in his own car on our first day. He took us to the supermarket and taxied us to restaurants which he recommended and booked for us, all of which were outstnding. Thank you Jean-Claude, we would thoroughly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Riad Jean Claude is about M. Jean Claude. He makes the difference. From the first exchanges of emails to the farewell at the train station, he fulfills all his commitments with kindness and attention. After reading a previous evaluation at Tripadvisor I was concerned if we made the right decision in making a four days reservation at this Riad. I expressed my concerns with Jean Claude and he assured that he would pay attention to all details. and he did, the room was warm and cozy. The Riad is simple, but conveniently located, the breakfast is very good and the dinner at the Riad was marvelous, by far the best couscous we had in Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaverton
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Overall the Riad Jean Claude is fantastic. Jean Claude himself is a very kind and generous host, always willing to provide useful and sound advice and act as tour guide when time permits and the Riad is beautiful in a great location. The breakfast each morning is a great way to start the day, definitely recommended.

There is only one problem we had with the Riad - the Bed and the heater. Unfortunately the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the room could not stay warm throughout the evening. We couldn't get proper rest (no sleep at all really) each night which impacted our ability to stay energized throughout the day.

Jean Claude - if you read this - please replace the bed in the Marakech room and add a space heater. The investment will definitely improve your clients well being and experience of Fez.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcdefes, Propriétaire at Riad Jean Claude, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Hello dear customers. I inform you that the mattress of the Marrakech room has been changed and is now new. Air-conditioning works perfectly. Welcome to Fes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I spent two nights with my mother in this beautiful riad. We got lost trying to find the exact location, so Jean Claude came to pick us up even if we were actually pretty far from the hotel. He welcomed us with tea and then gave us a guidebook in our native Spanish to wander around the different paths marked throughout the city. He then walked with us to the beginning of the first path to show us where we could have dinner. It was a pleasure to come back to the hotel every evening after the bustle in the medina to find a smiling Jean Claude and a comfortable sitting room to read and admire the trees around the swimming pool. The room itself was beautiful: the only one with a satellite TV we had in the whole country, very well presented, spacious and clean. Fully recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Riad Jean Claude in December 2010. We have traveled quite a bit over the years and never before had we received such a warm reception with outstanding personal service from beginning to end. Jean Claude has given new meaning to the term "customer service." He helped us in myriad ways to get settled and feel comforatble navigating through the Medina. Everything he did from transportation to laundry and everything in between was done with a friendly, sincere smile....nothing was too much for him. In addition to this, he shared advice regarding safety and some personal anedotes that were very funny. At the same time, they helped us gain insight into a new and very different culture.

If you will be traveling to Fes, do not miss the opportunity to stay at this riad which is beautiful, perfectly located and has a wonderful host. By any measure Jean Claude is the best!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

I loved Riad Jean Claude and here's why!

- The Owner: Jean Claude is such a gracious host. He went out of his way to ensure that we had a pleasant stay. From picking us up at the train station, to driving us to the Ville Nouvelle, to doing our laundry, to calling Supratours on our behalf, nothing was too much trouble for him.
- The Riad: What a beautiful riad. The gardens were so peaceful. The rooms were spotless and large. The bathroom was huge! The decor was stunning. We couldn't believe that Jean Claude decorated the riad himself.
- The Location: The riad is easy to find and only a 5-10 minute leisurely walk to the main gate.
- The Food: The breakfasts were the best. Freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and yummy croissants were the staples. We did eat dinner at other restaurants, but after trying the dinner at the riad one night, we stayed put and only ate at the riad after that. The dinner was delicious! Lots of fresh vegetables, huge portions and very tasty.
- The Staff: The staff were so nice and did everything to ensure that we had a great stay.

As you might be able to tell, I highly recommend Riad Jean Claude.

If you are looking for a fabulous riad with great service, a great location and reasonably priced, Riad Jean Claude is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jean Claude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jean Claude

Address: 10 bis Derb El Miter, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Jean Claude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jean Claude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.