We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Moroccan Hospitality in a Magical Medina!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ibn Battouta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Ibn Battouta
Save Saved
You added Riad Ibn Battouta to your Saves list
9, Derb Lalla Mina | Avenue Allal El Fassi, Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Moroccan Hospitality in a Magical Medina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Designed for a romantic getaway but equally welcoming and comfortable for families with kids. Located a few hundred metres away from Medina entrance but that was great because road access was fantastic. Hosts made sure they added a personal touch to service. Anas, Siham, Fatimah and the others were very gracious. Specifically the options they offer for excursions, hammams etc. were excellent because it takes care of "things to do" thinking for the guests. The breakfast is delicious, very fresh and abundant! Riad is very well maintained and beautifully decorated. I read in one of the reviews that glass canopy was not good but I must say it was very useful when it started raining crazy. We would highly recommend to stay here if you visiting Fez.

Room Tip: If you are with kids, better to avoid the Suite Samarquand. It has a beautiful mezzanine floor bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corbeil-Essonnes, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I arrived in Riyadh, or the reception was very warm ... quiet and beautiful place.
My room, luxurious and very clean, super comfortable mattress ... and the bathroom, a luxury ..
If you are lucky enough to go to Fez, enjoy this riad, the food is really neat and refined ...
I will return happy with friends because this place is magical...
I am also delighted by masssages and steam room, too much happiness ..
The management and service, everything is great and nothing to say!
Going back to the Riad, I recommend it highly ..
Thank you again to you ... and I will not be long.
Nicole

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We chose Riad Ibn Battouta based on Trip Advisor reviews and hoped for a classy relaxing stay in a boutique hotel.
How wrong we were!
The first bad experience was the night we arrived. Our bed had used sheets with curly hair and sweat smelling pillows.
When we kindly asked the manager to change the sheets we started a hurricane. All the hotel personnel joined the "party".
We were told that the hair we found was probably because the washing machine was not designed to wash the hair off and the sweat smell of our pillow came from the cleaning detergent they were using.
Nevertheless they finally agreed to change the sheets and this time we were "lucky" -no hair, no sweat smelling pillows.
The second bad experience was at the next day's breakfast. I will not comment on the overall quality of the breakfast, I've had worse.
The thing I will like to comment though was the fact that we were refused a second glass of orange juice. "The oranges bought for the breakfast juice were counted and there si none left".
I must specify that at 20 meters from the Riad there were literally tons of oranges for sale at the market at 4 Dirham/kilo.
We had to change the room that day as the "Sindabur Suite" became available. We were absolutely charmed by this suite when we saw it on the Riad web site.
Here we had the third awfull experience when we entered the bathroom. There were only two light bulbs giving as much light as two small candels.
Our torch light revealed the "cleanliness" of the place. Please see the attached photos and decide for yourselves.
Again, we started a bigger hurricane when we asked the management to send somebody to clean the bathroom.
This time the stains on the toilet were caused by "the black soap used for bathroom floor washing".
We were even told that this kind of attitude (asking for a clean bathroom and fresh-cleaned bed sheets) is not "tollerated" in such a boutique hotel.
At the end of the dispute the manager said he will offer us a free weekend on our choice in the hotel to "forget" about the "small incidents". Of course this didn't meterialise (as we would spend another couple of nights in such a place!!).
Regarding the room temperature I must specify that it hardly rose over 17 degrees centigrade with the air conditioning (set on heating) working all night.
This is far below the comfort zone in my opinion.
We had the final surpirse, the day we left when we were told that our first night dinner (for four persons) was 175 Euros!!
Final word: AVOID this Riad!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a place when you leave and it gives you a wonderful, memorable feeling. I arrived quite late in the evening (past dinner time), yet, I was welcomed and was immediately served with dinner (of which food was delicious and presentation of the food was excellent). My room was on the 4th floor, but it was decorated nicely and it had a porch. The one that differentiates this place among the other two riads I stayed was the services. Thanks to Anass and staff, they did a great job in making sure the guests feel at home. The attention to details was amazing (even the breakfast was served in a uniquely Morrocan way - see pictures). Even though there were other guests staying at the riad, we were made sure we had enough privacy too. This is a great example how warm the guests will feel if the owner runs the riad with his heart!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Couldn't be a more lovely appointed riad in Fes. This place was well decorated down to the pillows on the bedroom couch. The owner, Anass, and his wife were a very helpful person and were available at all times (when do they sleep?). Well situated in the Batha neighborhood, close to the medina, Batha Museum, Mellah, etc. Would recommend to anyone interested in exploring Fes!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

All riads have their own flavour. Of the three we stayed at between Fes and Marrakech, this was the most opulent. Our rooms (both on the second floor) were massive and lush. Would put any 4-star suite to shame. The rooms are massive, quiet, and beautiful.
We didn't eat dinner here, but the breakfast was fine and on our last day, they were kind enough to arrange our breakfast at 730 am, which is very early for Morocco!
They arranged a tour guide for us and it was absurdly cheap and well worth the money. More, they sorted out all our taxis and so forth.
This riad also has TVs in-room, so you can watch BBC world and foxfilms if you want to just chill out in the evenings. Other riads don't always have this facility.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors a bit quieter, darker in pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Fez itself is quite a crazy place for the uninitiated but the riad ibn battouta provides sanctuary from the hustle and bustle and quite frankly is a tonic for the soul. The manager (I forget his name, sorry!) is a true gent in every sense of the word and nothing is too much trouble, the same applies to all his staff as well who obviously like the guy and respect him. The food is fantastic, the decor is tremendous and the rooms are out of this world, I could go on and on. We booked this trip through luxury-riads.com who were by far the cheapest for this riad and even cheaper than the stated priced in the hotel! Come back again? My bags are already packed; this is the type of place that makes going to work 9-5 worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ibn Battouta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ibn Battouta

Address: 9, Derb Lalla Mina | Avenue Allal El Fassi, Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ibn Battouta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.