We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK hotel, but definitely a rip-off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Perla to your Saves list
Hotel Perla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue de la Jordanie | Quartier de la Gare, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An OK hotel, but definitely a rip-off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is nothing special, but works as a place to stay in a pinch. My main complaint is with the fact that we were told the simple (cheaper) rooms were booked up, when we were clearly the only people in the hotel. We had to pay extra because of this, and then were also charged more money for "tax" (which is actually included in the original price, like everywhere else in Morocco). On top of all this, the man at reception only accepted cash, claiming the credit machine "didn't work", although we saw him pressing the "cancel" button before showing us the message saying "transaction abandoned". I cannot overstate how frustrating my interaction with this man was. Oh well - at least they had decent wi-fi?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_W89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On the whole, this is a very good hotel. It is tiled and clean throughout, my room was very comfortable, everything worked, (apart from the tv, which didn´t bother me). It had a good shower, a good firm bed with clean cotton sheets.
The day and evening reception staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful.
At 340 Dirham a night, (30.5 Euros), it´s a good budget option.

The hotel is a short suitcase trundle from the train station, but it is not close to the Medina. There are lots of taxis waiting outside the train station which will take you there, or it is a 30 minute walk from the hotel. I walked there and back twice during my visit. It is not strenuous.

If you turn right out of the hotel, then right again to go up the hill, there are a variety of restaurants/cafes available. Some have menus with an English translation, but take a French dictionary for a wider choice.

On the subject of food, I braved the breakfast at the hotel. This consisted of two pieces of not-fresh bread, a cold and not-fresh croissant, and a shiny cake-thing I didn´t bother with. This feast was acccompanied by jam, butter, a foil-wrapped triangle of tasteless soft cheese, a glass of cheap orange juice and a cup of cheap lukewarm coffee. The breakfast was not included in the price of the room, and cost 42 Dirham, (3.75 Euros). While not extortionate, I should have gone to one of the many cafes in the area serving breakfast.
Just as I was about to tuck in to my breakfast, the night receptionist, still on duty, let out a thunderous echoing belch, which reverberated up to the dining area. Maybe it was his way of saying, ´Bon apetit!´.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaveNoFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
318 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is that it is only a 5 minute walk from the train station.

I received breakfast with my room rate. I believe some rates do not include breakfast. Breakfast was OK, and for the price I do not have any complaints.

I was not able to get my tv to work.

Rooms are small, but comfortable.

Room Tip: WiFi only works in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizwa, Oman
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I wouldnt have chosen this hotel myself had i the choice. I was put up here by the organisers of a conference i was visitng... it is walking distance from the main train station... and is in the newer part of Fez, with local stores and cafes around. However a 10 minute walk can take you to the Boulevard Hasan II which is an exciting place in the evenings.

But it is very far from the medina and the older parts of fes...

The best thing about this hotel were the staff members, Othman at the reception and Emad who served us the meals, where excellent hosts.

Had a great time at Hotel Perla.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaMualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located to the train station and several attractions can be reached in 10/15 minute walk, like the Royal Palace and the Mellah where you can visit the synagogue and the jewish cemetery. Across from the hotel there is a grocery store where you can buy refreshments and beer or sodas. Several restaurants are close to the hotel. The hotel staff was nice and they helped us to contact a guide to visit the Medina. Our room was comfortable and clean and we had hot water all day. Breakfast was generous and good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphisdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

When we came in late at night, the receptionist wanted 444 dirham for the room.LUCKILY we wanted to pay by visa and had to wait until the next day to pay since the price was only 420... It became obvious why he wanted us to pay cash
When we went for our luggage in the car he called a 'watchman' to check if our car was parked on a good spot... obviously he wanted some money for it (and no we didn't gave any for such a lauzy help... In Europe we learn to park our car ourselves...).

We were handed the key of a room. when we entered the bed was slept on and there was a dirty plateau with diner leftovers on it. when we went back down we got an other room with a smaller bathroom and a crack in the sink. he later called to our room to tell us to bring the key down of the dirty room instead of coming to get it himself...

Overall a very bad impression abduction only stayed here as a necessity...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E-static
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fes hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

What do you want" Clean, affordable, next to Train Station and a Taxi fare from there to the old Medina is just MAD10.
Can't get a coffee until 6am though and service is .... well 'local' levels of expectation so no probs really.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#58 of 92 in Fes
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volubilis
Hotel Volubilis
#68 of 92 in Fes
3.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Batha
Hotel Batha
#69 of 92 in Fes
3.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#76 of 92 in Fes
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#57 of 92 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#52 of 92 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Address: 15, rue de la Jordanie | Quartier de la Gare, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing