We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay in welcoming Fez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Skalli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar Skalli to your Saves list
Riad Dar Skalli
Derb Guebas, 21 | Batha Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in welcoming Fez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We (partner and I) have just returned from a chilled out, warm and relaxing stay in Fez and nearby Moulay Idriss. We stayed in Fez at the start and end of our trip and chose riads in different sections of the medina to experience as much as possible of the maze of alleys and shops which change depending which section you are in. We had booked Dar Skalli before our arrival and as directed, took a taxi to the fountain and phoned them so the lovely and cheerful English speaking manager could come and meet us and escort us to the riad. The room we were given was huge -that's huge!! - with colourful bedding and an area of comfortable sofas in the usual bright Moroccan colours. The bathroom was up a set of quite steep but charming iron banistered stairs and the bath was so deep that it felt like a swimming pool!! What was great was that there was no problem with hot water so a happy hour was spent soaking! The room was on the ground floor and conveniently next to the patio - but except for breakfast we weren't aware of any major noise - you are however in the middle of the busy and thriving medina so a bit of noise from the streets outside is only to be expected. As is always the case, the lighting in the riad bedrooms is not European - Morocco electricity seems to favour more subdued lighting, but it was certainly better than others we have stayed in. We stayed in three different riads during our trip and agreed that this was certainly the best all round. It is close to the medina but a few streets from the main throng, the staff were very helpful and friendly and we would be happy to recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Fez.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
56
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We are a familiy of 4, with 2 young boys aged 5 and 2 and have just spend 12 nights here in Fez at Riad dar Skalli. It has been a magical experience. The Riad (hotel) has treated us very good. We got a good price for our room and did not expect all that much, ut have been very positivly taken care of. The Riad has an ideal location for exploring the medina. The people of Fez are veryv welcomming, friendly and hospitable. We have not experienced any inconvinience or hassle all. Good tips are to drink lots of mint tea (to maintain a balanced stomace) and give some of your self

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this Riad. It is nice, clean and well maintained. The owner lives there and looks after you during the entire stay. We stayed in the Malaika suit, the rooms were cleaned every day and beds were comfortable. The owner Karim can speak good english and french. It is convienently located near the entrance of the medina and one can safley go to the food street even late at night. We would highly recommend it and will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was a wonderful start to the year, with new friends, new experiences, and memories right from the start.

We took off to Fes to rejuvenate ourselves, relax and explore a new country. The holiday was great with many memorable places and experiences. We ended our stay and started the New Year at the Riad Dar Skalli, the staff exceeded themselves in offering us a wonderful, friendly efficient, service. We arrived on New Years Eve and soon became part of the international party atmosphere so well created by the unstuffy, relaxed atmosphere in the Riad. It was an inclusive event, the staff all worked very hard to ensure we had a good time, we certainly did but the real pleasure was that they did too.

Despite our small room (we booked late) it was very comfortable and nicely decorated, very clean and well cared for. The terrace offers fabulous views over the city to the Middle Atlas mountains and a real sun trap for those searching for rays in the winter months.

We thoroughly recommend Riad Dar Skalli and hope to return ourselves before too long.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

After the excellent reviews we expected perhaps a little more. The rooms are clean and well decorated. The riad itself is beautiful and well situated for access to the medina and tourist restaurants. The rooms do not all face inwards which means they are quiet at night. This was one of the main reasons for our choice as we have found in the past that sleep in many charming riads can be disturbed by noise from the courtyard. There are the usual [ for Morocco ] loose fittings such as taps and shower-heads. The staff were welcoming and efficient but in all honesty we felt that there was a lack of generosity. The breakfast was typical and satisfactory but certainly nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I really liked this Riad. It was a beautifull, spacius riad with verry nice, hospitable people.
Located just 5 minutes from the action.
Reasonably priced, especially for what it offers.

One small downside was that the shower did not really warm up. But considering the rest it did not bother me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This Riad is architecturally beautiful and beautifully restored, much of the work done by Karim himself, the devoted owner and manager. Fez was was our first stop on a Moroccan tour, so we did not fully appreciate until later just how great the hospitality and most especially the food was. Wonderful, wonderful Moroccan cuisine there, upon request with adequate lead time, and charmingly presented. Karim is a hospitality artist. He set us up with whatever accommodations and entertainments we proposed, including bottles of decent, regional red wine for a friend we met there, a pleasant and reliable Grand Taxi driver, a "clean and modern" hammam, and the very best of young, native, English-fluent medina docents (Fettah).

Our room was spacious and interesting. The private bath was a bit drafty and damp, but rich in its own way, historic and very much in the ancient spirit of the house and the city.

For some reason, at the end of our visit, we had to come up with cash to pay the tab. This was inconvenient and took a few, sometimes awkward trips to the one ATM that worked with our card. To be fair, I am not clear whether this is something this Riad does routinely, or whether some temporary glitch with a bank or a credit card system was to blame. Overall, a beautiful, memorable time in a fabulous house in an incredible city. And even a good deal, not overpriced.

Karim is a global/Euro kind of guy, so he is more liberal-minded than you might expect. He is fine with guests who drink alcohol socially, or with gay couples staying there, for example.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Skalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Skalli

Address: Derb Guebas, 21 | Batha Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Skalli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Skalli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.