We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar El Menia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar El Menia to your Saves list
Dar El Menia
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Derb el Menia | Talaa Kibira, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Charming and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

During my recent three week visit to Fes, i slept in eleven different riads and dars. Dar el Menia was one of the top places in terms of beauty, quality of service and food, as well as comfort.

It was not easy to find it as it is not marked correctly on the map on their webpage, and google maps dont help a lot when it comes to Fes medina. So the best is to have Issam pick you up somewhere to bring you to their place. Its position is in the very heart of the medina, a narrow derb (passage) which gives an authentic feel to the place.

The staff including Issam, Mustafa and Graham the owner was very friendly and gave good servis.

The dar itself is amazing - like a little palace with a lot of decoration by zellij and carving. The rooms are set up in the same style, and while this is a relatively cheap option, you feel like you are sleeping in a five-star oriental palace. The rooms is well equipped with all a traveler might need, there was heater as well, the towels of course, and the amenities in the bathroom.

The breakfast was served just oposite my room and there was plenty of bread, jams, butter, egg omelete and drinks.

I left this place with a very good feeling and I have to say I really liked it. They give what they promise, and more.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    29
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
70
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had a great trip even though the weather was mixed (completely normal for January) Graham and his small team really go out of their way to ensure that all needs are met as far as possible to make for an enjoyable stay and to get the most out of the medina neighbourhood. The rooms are comfortable with heating and hot water, breakfast provides a good start to the day and the décor is authentic - you have a real medina experience guided by Graham and his team.The Dar El Menia is very centrally located and easy to locate in what can be a very confusing environment. All of the main medina sights are only minutes walk away and the roof terrace provides an additional vantage point to relax and observe this fascinating mediaeval city. Steep steps in this traditional building - but there is a double bedded room on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ground floor bedroom for those averse to steps! It is otherwise a surprisingly quiet location even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Yes, the accolades tell it all. Great breakfast, charming fittings, many of copperwork and the little local touches in the decor were quite nicely done. Also being near to the Cafe Clock was wonderful. The business arrangements were clearly and properly communicated. Now given the price, one can get a very central, decent modern style hotel in say Marrakech for example. But here one goes for the experience.

However, just a few comments. First is that the place uses "natural" air conditioning. I was there in September, and the large fan was quite adequate.

Second was that the directions could be more explicit, given the way alleys go off in all directions often without names and the lack of house numbers. This riad is of course in one those alleys. We were quite upset with the local kids pestering us offering directions - for a fee of course. They won't go away and we couldn't even think properly.
Even a low quality Youtube clip would have helped (as in other places) or various landmarks.

But of course as recommended in the website, one could have bought a local phone card and called ahead to be met at say, the Ain Azliten parking lot. This part of the experience was not a nice introduction to the medina, although we got over it pretty quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at Dar El Menia for 5 nights. I found it exactly as described on the website. The decor was lovely and the room comfortable and clean. Nice view from the roof. (The stairs up to the roof and rooms are very steep.) Breakfast was good and the maintenance man and his wife who cooked and served it were nice. I ate dinner there one evening and that meal was also good and very plentiful. We couldn't eat it all. The location was perfect - just around the corner and you were in the Medina and it was also very close to the car park and Cafe Clock.
Graham booked me an airport transfer, a transfer to the train station and a half day tour to Volubilis, all of of which were problem-free. Volubilis was certainly worth the visit (but very hot). I can't remember the driver's name, but he was pleasant and drove well.
The only thing I really didn't like about Dar El Menia is that the doors to the rooms cannot be locked, so you can't leave valuables locked in the room. Also, one evening a new arrival mistook their room and walked in on me while I was in bed because the doors are open.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It is true, when you are spending and entire day inside the Fes Medina you need a place to chill and recover from all the information you get on the streets. Dar El Menia was this place for us. It was strategically located, really close to the “blue gate” and easy to find (we never got lost once in 4 days, which is quite a feat). The Riad is beautiful, with a great terrace, and our room was comfortable and clean. Awesome breakfast and a well-equipped common kitchen (in case you want to cook dinner one day, or put your beer/alcohol in the fridge). The best part is the staff. Isaam was a great host, always willing to help, providing information and tips of the Medina and the surroundings. He’s a really cool guy (and well-versed in the German language), and we had great talks on the terrace. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for affordable accommodation, a hard to beat location and excellent service. Hope the return soon.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are less noisy, as the lower level room is close to the kitchen and a common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Myself and three friends stayed here in 2009 - this is a long overdue review! :) We absolutely loved our stay. We were picked up as promised and given tea our first night there. We loved hanging out on the rooftop, having breakfast and talking to other travellers. The pictures on this site do it justice. If I got back to Fes, I'm staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I loved Dar El Menia! It's a lovely place hidden in a gem that is The Medina in Fes. Being a first timer in Morocco, I was worried that my friend and I would get lost, especially in the medina. It is literally a maze but the people at Dar El Menia made it seem like a piece of cake getting there. Our flight from the airport arrived an hour late and we had scheduled a pick-up(HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) and we were worried the pick up guy would leave but we found him there waiting and we were so thankful. The trip from the airport went smoothly and when we arrived at the medina we were met with a guide from Dar El Menia. He was super friendly and led us through the maze to the riad. From the outside it looks grim, but inside it is gorgeous with classic islamic architecture. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were so friendly. It was also a lovely view from the terrace. Dar El Menia is located perfectly in the medina and I highly recommend it to anyone looking to have a pleasant stay in Fès.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar El Menia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Menia

Address: 7 Derb el Menia | Talaa Kibira, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Menia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar El Menia lies in the heart of Fes (Fez) Medina, former imperial capital of Morocco and the world’s largest medieval medina. Fes is a UNESCO World Heritage Site but it is not a museum it is a living, breathing city and Dar El Menia provides the perfect luxurious base to begin exploring the old and the new. This dar, or courtyard house, is at least 250 years old and has recently been completely restored using local craftsmen, techniques and materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar El Menia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Menia Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar El Menia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.