We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Tizwa Fes to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa Fes
15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Fes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife and I took a 3 week break to see morocco and really lucked out. This riad is beautiful. Real simple to find, friendly and just sorelaxed. There is a real home environment here ( and they are environmental too)

We had trekked down from south of spain in to tangier and made our way on the overnight train to marrakech (which was like lying on a hard board and being shaken all night ) - but it saved quiet a bit of time (so we found out when we took the train north to Fes),

We first stayed in marrakesh which was really comfortable, so we booked the riad in Fes too. This riad is so beautiful and grand, but it still feels like a home. It was also relaxed and the staff were very good.

The Marrakesh staff helped get us from riad to riad and even made a packed dinner for the train. The long train!

Fes is more pretty and grand as a city and far more cultural. The riad is easy to find and they got us a guide to help us navigate through those impossible streets (watch our for the donkeys)

It was also romantic and the room was huge. Like really big.

great place to be

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    25
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
82
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Gorgeous riad in the Batha neighborhood of the medina. As someone mentioned, cabs can go to the square about 4-5 mins walk from the riad -- a plus. We stayed 2 nights in #1 which is basically an apartment in 2 floors - 1 large BR/living room, 1 shower/toilet, 1 toilet, and a walk-in closet (which can realistically sleep 1 person as long as they are not claustrophic). Its like having your own awesomely decorated house! A great haven for us.

Samir and Taha were very helpful. You can ask for breakfast anytime and anywhere (your room, the courtyard, the terrace) and they will get it for you. Free WiFi. They also serve food but we ate out.

The only suggestion I would make to mgmt is to put a mirror in the bedroom of Suite 1. It was tiring to go up and down the stairs (and the steps are steep!) just to get to a mirror. Someone else mentioned that the shower and toilet do not have a partition -- we were mostly OK with that, just part of the charm of the riad.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Riad Tizwa was a great refuge in the bustling city of Fes. We felt comfortable in the spacious and beautifully appointed courtyard and the dining room. Our room (#1) was large and welcoming. The tile work throughout the riad is spectacular and we loved the bathroom with the copper sink. Samir and Taha were very helpful. Would definitely stay there again if we are in Fes.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Riad Tizwa - the title of my review sums it up!

A much needed holiday before my friend and I had a nervous breakdown from work related stress and cancelled holiday in April due to the volcano, we were looking for somewhere that would treat us kindly, enable us to feel relaxed, provide beautiful surroundings and for not exorbitant amounts of money! Tall order? No! From the moment I fired off the first email enquiry, a reply shot back from Richard which immediately provided peace of mind of the efficient and hospitable service we were to receive from then on.

We arranged through the Riad to be collected at the airport and upon our arrival were greeted warmly by Miriam, a lovely warm and friendly local lady who manages the Riad with an air of calm. Whilst Miriam poured out our freshly brewed mint tea she explained the layout of Riad Tizwa, asked us what we would like to do and how she could help in any way to book guides, told us the best places to go for views, for shopping and for a wonderful hamam spa treatment.

Riad Tizwa is restored to a high standard, reclaiming original architecture and features, providing modern touches of decor in a simplistic and stylish manner - splashes of colour from cushions and soft furnishings, echoing the fabulous colours of the stained glass panels above the windows and the beautiful Moroccan lamps that were to be found in every room. The soft glow of the candles that were lit every night transformed the central courtyard into a magical place to come back to after an evening out or whilst having a fantastic meal in the main salon.

The dinners were probably the best we had whilst in Fez, certainly in the Medina. The ingredients freshly bought that morning in the souk, and served at a time of our choice (just as breakfast is - such bliss), the rose petals strewn across the low tables and the all the little bowls of hot and cold dishes that were served as a starter was just subliminal. The main dishes of rabbit and lamb were divine and the Moroccan wine was an excellent choice to wash it down. All served by a terrific guy called Taha, who usually had an exotic choice of material wrapped around his head because in his words 'his hair is a little bit mad'!

We had booked another 2 nights at Riad Tizwa at the end of our 10 day trip around northern Morocco and the response to our knock on the big oak entrance door was met by Taha, who welcomed us with a huge smile and lots of hugging, saying 'welcome home'! It did indeed feel like coming home, back to our familiar room and surroundings.
Back to the wonderful breakfasts served on the roof terrace, looking at the great views that surrond Fez, the life going on around us on all the other roof terraces - it was another world and one that I would highly recommend to anyone.

The location is absolutely perfect, a safe district, close to the Petite Taxi rank and easy to walk in to the souk and other areas. Our thanks go to Miriam and 'all her boys' who help run the riad and make it such a special place. We send her our very best wishes for the birth of her first child and hope she returns very soon as she promised us.

Riad Tizwa I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This was my second stay at Riad Fes Tizwa and I hope to make it there again soon! The staff of Riad Fes was outstanding and accomadated our every need!

Samir was a great help! He actually met us by the old medina and walked us to the Riad.
He had tea ready upon our arrival and checked with each of our 15 guests to make sure we all were comfortable in our rooms. It's rare to find such care filled service!

If the weather is nice get yourself up on the roof top for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Perhaps the most gorgeous view of the culture filled Fes Medina!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We arrived at Riad Tizwa at short notice after another booking fell through. It is in a convenient area in the medina, close to Batha for car access, and is (relatively) easy to find.

We were immediately made to feel at home with mint tea and a tour of the Riad. The courtyard is beautiful and light, and there is a terrace on the roof.

We had a choice of rooms, all large, comfortable and unique, at different price points. We chose the cheapest and were very happy with the large four-poster bed, bathroom and separate dressing room. The only slight downside to this room was the dim lighting - the Moroccan lamps create a beautiful atmosphere but were not very practical.

The staff were friendly and attentive, and were happy to help us out with any requests or questions about the medina. A definite highlight was breakfast on the terrace - delicious and a great way to start the day in Fes!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Beautiful place to be.

Its one of the most beautiful riads i have seen so far. Fes is amazing and this place is the place to stay.

Great location, breakfast on the terrace is quite amazing and the staff really helpful.

Place to park nearby was helpful too

The room was huge - room 1

Ipod recharging was a life saver

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#29 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.