We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa Fes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Tizwa Fes to your Saves list
Riad Tizwa Fes
15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Fes
chicago, il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at quite a few riads around Morocco, but this one was hands down the best. The staff was very friendly and helpful while the premises was clean and all the rooms were spic and span. The design was impeccable and the lobby smelled nice too (which is a big plus in my opinion). I felt like they took care of details and went out of their way to be thoughtful. The breakfasts were very good and kept us full. I cannot say this about the other riads we stayed at. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    26
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
87
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited in March and located on the edge of the old town. Arrived in the evening. First impressions were that the place was dark and dingy. Very difficult to see in order to complete arrival forms. However, the following day the same room looked good in the daylight. We had ordered breakfast for 9am which did not appear. On trailing down all the stairs found the staff were waiting for us to tell them we were ready. Breakfast was excellent but on the second day was quite poor. Rooms were 'interesting', strange shape. Quite comfortable but bathroom was tiny and low beams. On our last day one of the staff took one of our party to visit several restaurants so we could choose. Did not regret our choice but would look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor is superior to all the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this beautiful riad for five nights earlier this month. The booking and payment process, conducted chiefly by e-mail with the owner, could not have been made easier; similarly the arrangements for collection from the train station.
The property itself is truly a home from home, and we were made warmly welcome by the extremely hospitable and attentive staff - Simon, Anas and Nadia - from the very beginning to the end of our visit. From the delicious breakfasts on the sunny roof terrace to the complimentary pots of freshly prepared mint tea, every consideration is given to making the guest feel trulycomfortable.
We stayed on the second floor, in a huge room (number 1) with stained-glass windows and an ornate wooden ceiling; the lavatory is slightly separate and the shower room and walk-in wardrobe area situated up a short, if also quite steep, flight of stairs. There is an iPod dock in every room, which is a thoughtful addition, as television would certainly be out of place here.
The city of Fes itself is a true delight, and no visitor could possibly remain unchanged after experiencing even the briefest encounter with the medina. Be prepared for an omni-sensory treat!
The riad lies on the periphery of the old town, and very handily situated close to Place Batha, from where the exceptionally cheap 'petits taxis' can take you anywhere local. You're also not far from the enchanting Jardin J'nan Sbil, a veritable oasis in this otherwise hectic city. In short, Riad Tizwa is an idyllic, and also very convenient, place to choose as your home from home while visiting this ancient and mesmerising Moroccan city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

No recommended, although a beautiful building, rooms and lounges were cold, dark and unwelcoming. Welcome on first night left a lot to be desired, had to fill forms in by torch light!
The shower was a nightmare and dangerous.Breakfast on first day very good with great views upstairs but second day they ran out of various items and not so good.
Extra tea charged for not like other riads
Location good, staff ok but noisy at night

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in Fes for one night during our trip to Morocco but having experienced the Riad Tizwa in Marrakech there was no other place we would've chosen to stay in. Our expectations were met in every detail. We stayed in a large room on the first floor, with poster bed and a wonderful bathroom. The breakfast was incredible, served anytime anywhere in the Riad. The staff are very helpful and their English is very good. If you travel to Fes, you must experience this Riad - the best there is.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are great and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group of 10 friends from Italy who stayed in Fes the night of 06 October. We were originally all booked in Riad Cordoba (right next door) but because Riad Cordoba did not have the 2 single rooms available, we were allocated 2 rooms in the Riad Tizwa. It was a wonderful surprise because Tizwa is a wonderful place, very tastefully decorated, the patio has a mystical air, the 2 rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff were nice and helpful, including Miriam, the Manageress. We didn't take any meals there because our deal was with Riad Cordoba, but the impression was that the meals would have been very good! It is located in a quiet side street, just off the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have visited the Riad Tizwa many times over the last 5 years and it has consistently provided excellent, warm service. The setting is magical and relaxed. The rooftop breakfasts are a delightful way to start the day - delicious and peaceful. The staff are efficient, friendly and always engaging to talk to.

I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely - the roof top room has a private p[enthgouse feel to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad al akhawaine
Riad al akhawaine
#34 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#14 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Tara
Riad Tara
#17 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#44 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#23 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa Fes

Address: 15 Derb Guebbas | Douh Batha, Medina Fes, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#26 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, calm sanctuary Riad Tizwa Fes is located in what is quite simply the best area of the medina - Batha. Situated only 50m from car access, the house is both easy to find and simple to get to, leaving you to discover the beautiful UNESCO world heritage walled old town. The wonder of the medieval souks awaits. There are 9 rooms in total in this painstakingly restored, stylish and spectacular traditional Faisian Dar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Tizwa Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Hotel Fes
Fes Riad Tizwa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tizwa Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.