We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Victoria to your Saves list
Dar Victoria
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 rue makhfia | Quartier Bourajoue, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“A taste of Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Morocco and we couldn't have been happier. Dar Victoria is a wonderfully decorated building and Mme Christine and her staff are incredibly welcoming. Not only is the Riad a show in itself, it is also wonderfully located (2 minutes away from the heart of the Medina). Moreover, for those of you who are worried about logistics and transportation, Mme Christine will have all kinds of recommendations and contacts to share with you (including day-long trips outside Fez with a private taxi driver). Last but NOT least, meals served at the Dar - from breakfast to dinner - are simply amazing!! So sad this trip is over... will come back soon ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Not far from Fez Al Badi,is this unique Dar that was our home for 4 nights.Interesting architecture and tastefully decorated,we enjoyed our time here.Christine and her staff are superb,Nooruddin was helpful in guiding us through the intricate medina,Aiysha cooked delicious Moroccon cuisine and Radia took care of our rooms.We felt very at home and would definatelly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We visited Fez as part of a long touring trip around Morocco, and stayed in Riad Victoriad for 3 nights. I own a riad in Marrakech so I new what I was looking for in Fez and I am glad I found it in Riad Victoria. The owner, Christine, is the best host, although the house itself is simply wonderful, too. No expense was spared when renovating it and the finish is fantastic. We found the location really convenient, just off a main road and we actually found it first time on arrival, despite the fact that it was late at night. Christine recommended a lovely restaurant very close to the riad for one of the evenings and another evening, we had a lovely meal and conversation with Christine who told us all about the history of the house and the hidden meanings of the plasterwork and decoration of the house. Her English is very good which was another great aspect of the experience. I would recommend it to guests who are looking for luxury in reasonable prices with a lovely charismatic host.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days at Dar Victoria. The riad is luxurious: all rooms are equipped with all facilities and embellished with local style. It's so close to the Medina and it opens on a very nice little square full of Moroccan people who simply meet and spend time together.

Christine, the riad manager, is kind and helpful as if you had always known her!

Eating at the riad is also an experience not to be missed: the cooks are great and we found it easier to have food for allergic people at riad Victoria than in any other place we had been so far!

Don't miss the hammam experience: relaxing, purifying, and typical.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I have been travelling to Fes for the last 2 years but never find the right place to stay. But now i have. In the "Dar Victoria": the location is great, breakfast is heaven, linen clothes are what we call luxury. Not only the house is beautiful in its architecture, It is also the best service you will ever get. Christine, Nordine, Aisha, Raida, Mounir are here to help, genuinely !!!
i will say no more, just try it...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collioure66190
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

A great place to stay on the edge of the Medina, in the Andalous quarter. Cheap taxis available just round the corner from pre-dawn to well after dusk. The renovated building is a beauty and unusual even for this city. The welcome was warm, the manageress Christine, a mine of information and a great conversationalist. Breakfast varied and copious (keeping us at table chatting for hours, rather than exploring) and a set dinner that was excellent. Spacious suites - some could do with a bit more lighting - and a lovely communal lounge with open fire. Service was good. Can I find fault? Ummm. Sometimes the perfume of Moroccan drains was a little irritating. But, hey, this IS Morocco and Marrakesh can be much worse.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I spent three days at Dar Victoria, and couldn't fault it. Everything you read in past reviews about the beauty of the house is true - walking from the narrow lane through the heavy wooden door takes you from turmoil to tranquility.
Christine is the heart of the house with eveything taking its cue from her. Her staff are warm, welcoming and helpful, but Christine "makes the place". Her love of Dar Victoria and her absolute commitment to making her guests feel at home shines through.
We enjoyed a wonderful evening at dinner with Christine and several other guests - American, French, English and Ozzie (us). Conversation flowed freely (more or less) in two languages, along with good wine and food. Breakfasts were delicious - especially the Moroccan eggs prepared with olive oil, cumin and a touch of pimento - and the amazingly creative home made confitures!
A day in the souk (yes, it's an up and down maze and no respector of personal space) was made possible and enjoyable by an excellent guide recommended by the riad (his name was Mohammed).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Victoria

Address: 31 rue makhfia | Quartier Bourajoue, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALLY SURPRISING 260 YEARS OLD HOUSE. MYSTERIOUS SYMBOLISM COVERING WALLS OF AUTHENTIC PATIO. 1 ROOM AND 6 SUITES ARE WAITING FOR YOU. IN DAR VICTORIA YOU CAN GET MANY ACCOMODATIONS IN CHARMING LUXURY SUITES. IN SEASON BREAKFAST ARE SERVED ON THE TERRACE OR IN THE COURTYARD. IN WINTER FIREPLACE IS THE BEST PLACE TO LOOK AT THE TV OR READ, LISTEN MUSIC, TAKE A CUP OF MINT TEA. REVERSE AIRCONDITONNER SYSTEM IN EACH PLACE. POSSIBLE TO RESERVE FOR DINNER. OUR STAFF WILL HELP YOU TO DISCOVER THE MEDINA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.