We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back next time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tafilalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Tafilalet to your Saves list
Riad Dar Tafilalet
17 Derb Miter Zenjfor | Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Will be back next time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great room, fabulous terrace with view of the city, quiet area in the medina, close to the leather tannery and other main spots, interesting walking on the adjacent streets, nearby fruit stand, easy access from the Hotel Jar Jamai gate in the Medina wall (i.e., taxi drop off/pick up), great staff, best breakfast while I was in Morocco, wi-fi, etc, etc. I like quieter places with great, open terraces and this is what the Tafilalet has.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I spent two nights in Fes in the Riad Tafilalet and everything was so nice! It's inside the medina protected by Unesco, a labyrinth of streets and it's very nice to wander around...a few minutes from the main attractions.....and if you need to go outside the medina, just few steps and you are at one of the main city doors, Bab Guissa, where you can easily take a taxi.
Inside the riad is really beautiful, the people working there are very friendly and if you ask them for information and city maps, they are ready to help you. I had dinner one night in the riad and it was excellent: healthy food with a lot of variety. Breakfast was very good too. Rooms very clean, sweets as a welcome....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed a night and were very impressed with the Riad.
Each room overlooks the courtyard and if your room faces the Medina it is a nice view from your window.

The terrace also has a nice view of the Medina.

The breakfast was buffet style and unfortunately Moroccon breakfast is very un appetizing if served cold. Would have preferred if they had served hot food as most Riads in Morocco do.

Please keep an eye out for the rowdy boys outside the Riad who harass the guests to show the way to the Souks, using the reference of your driver and the Riad manager and become very aggressive when you request them to stay away.

The Riad is north of the Medina and great for a car drop but is an extremely poor location for a walk to the medina center. Also, there is nothing in the vicinity except the five star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed there just for one night, and we got the last available room. This was definitely not the best, but never mind, the terrasse is just amazing and it let you forgett about the small and quite dark room! The view over the medina is just great. Go there at night, it is fantastic. We had dinner there, and the 2 guys just serve one menu. It was great! If you want to drink alcohol, no problem. Just buy a bottle of wine or beer in the Riad next door. You can take it with you and drink it with your dinner. The restaurant in the Riad Dar Tafilalet do no sell alcohol, but they do not have any problems, if you bring your own. We can recommend this little, nice Riad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Riad Dar Tafilalet was a perfect place to stay for my friend and I during our recent trip. They have everything you could want during a vacation: beautiful & comfortable rooms and central spaces, friendly & helpful staff, gorgeous view, excellent food, and good location. Near an entrance to the medina, the riad is a great spot from which to explore Fes and it's got easy to access taxis to drop you in various spots around town. Mohamed was an excellent host and he went above and beyond in meeting our needs during our stay. We didn't eat dinner in the riad, but breakfasts were amazing and the staff were all friendly. The view from the roof is incredible and an excellent place to start or end the day. I would recommend the riad highly.

Room Tip: You would want to know what floor your riad is on, if stairs are challenging for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first stay in a Riad. Nice experience, friendly and warm staff. Very authentic Moroccan feel. The food was average.
The rooms, though nicely appointed were a bit dark as was the courtyard.
There are no windows on the ground floor and the main door is always locked.
The rooftop is very nice at night and the wi-fi reception was the best we had in Morocco!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Riad is located on the high zone of medina so from its terrace you can see all Fez from altittude..

Location is also great, easy to find and close to the medinas exit...

Staff is amazingly friendly and helpfull, and hammam is also amazing!

We enjoyed a lot the food also!

Really worth staying in Tafilalet!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#4 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Tara
Riad Tara
#17 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tafilalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tafilalet

Address: 17 Derb Miter Zenjfor | Medina, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Fes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#22 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Tafilalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Tafilalet Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tafilalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.