We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful riad!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tafilalet

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Tafilalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Tafilalet
17 Derb Miter Zenjfor | Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful riad!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I spent two nights in Fes in the Riad Tafilalet and everything was so nice! It's inside the medina protected by Unesco, a labyrinth of streets and it's very nice to wander around...a few minutes from the main attractions.....and if you need to go outside the medina, just few steps and you are at one of the main city doors, Bab Guissa, where you can easily take a taxi.
Inside the riad is really beautiful, the people working there are very friendly and if you ask them for information and city maps, they are ready to help you. I had dinner one night in the riad and it was excellent: healthy food with a lot of variety. Breakfast was very good too. Rooms very clean, sweets as a welcome....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed a night and were very impressed with the Riad.
Each room overlooks the courtyard and if your room faces the Medina it is a nice view from your window.

The terrace also has a nice view of the Medina.

The breakfast was buffet style and unfortunately Moroccon breakfast is very un appetizing if served cold. Would have preferred if they had served hot food as most Riads in Morocco do.

Please keep an eye out for the rowdy boys outside the Riad who harass the guests to show the way to the Souks, using the reference of your driver and the Riad manager and become very aggressive when you request them to stay away.

The Riad is north of the Medina and great for a car drop but is an extremely poor location for a walk to the medina center. Also, there is nothing in the vicinity except the five star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed there just for one night, and we got the last available room. This was definitely not the best, but never mind, the terrasse is just amazing and it let you forgett about the small and quite dark room! The view over the medina is just great. Go there at night, it is fantastic. We had dinner there, and the 2 guys just serve one menu. It was great! If you want to drink alcohol, no problem. Just buy a bottle of wine or beer in the Riad next door. You can take it with you and drink it with your dinner. The restaurant in the Riad Dar Tafilalet do no sell alcohol, but they do not have any problems, if you bring your own. We can recommend this little, nice Riad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Riad Dar Tafilalet was a perfect place to stay for my friend and I during our recent trip. They have everything you could want during a vacation: beautiful & comfortable rooms and central spaces, friendly & helpful staff, gorgeous view, excellent food, and good location. Near an entrance to the medina, the riad is a great spot from which to explore Fes and it's got easy to access taxis to drop you in various spots around town. Mohamed was an excellent host and he went above and beyond in meeting our needs during our stay. We didn't eat dinner in the riad, but breakfasts were amazing and the staff were all friendly. The view from the roof is incredible and an excellent place to start or end the day. I would recommend the riad highly.

Room Tip: You would want to know what floor your riad is on, if stairs are challenging for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first stay in a Riad. Nice experience, friendly and warm staff. Very authentic Moroccan feel. The food was average.
The rooms, though nicely appointed were a bit dark as was the courtyard.
There are no windows on the ground floor and the main door is always locked.
The rooftop is very nice at night and the wi-fi reception was the best we had in Morocco!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Riad is located on the high zone of medina so from its terrace you can see all Fez from altittude..

Location is also great, easy to find and close to the medinas exit...

Staff is amazingly friendly and helpfull, and hammam is also amazing!

We enjoyed a lot the food also!

Really worth staying in Tafilalet!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a pleasure of staying at Riad Tafilalet for two nights. It is a beautiful property (check out the roof top terrace!). Our host Mohamed made us feel like at home. He always has a great smile and is always there when you need him. Breakfasts and dinners were delicious - and this is where I got hooked on tajines. I would never hesitate to stay at this riad again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Tafilalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tafilalet

Address: 17 Derb Miter Zenjfor | Medina, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Tafilalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Tafilalet Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tafilalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.