We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming perle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Perle De La Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Perle De La Medina to your Saves list
Riad La Perle De La Medina
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16, Derb Bennis - Douh | Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming perle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Charming riad with beautifull panoramic roof garden for breakfast. Very kind staff. Nice typical moroccan-style room (only the shower needs a restauration). 5 min walking to the touristic BabJeloud and safe at night.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
33
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

From the moment we entered this five story magical Riad in the warren of old Fes Medina, I was captivated by the interior design. We were immediately offered and served mint tea and cookies in the center courtyard and had a large room on the first floor. Because we were tired after a long travel day, we accepted the offer to eat in the Riad's restaurant and the food was quite good. Mornings we had breakfast on the slat-covered roof (no elevator--but it was good exercise). The tiles, wood carvings and ornate furniture were all fantastic (literally) and the management was very solicitous--picked us up at the train station, arranged for an outstanding guide. Just keep in mind that you'll have to walk about two blocks to the Riad, as it is in the Medina and the closest parking place for cars and taxis just outside the wall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I was initially disappointed to stay here because the first riad I had selected was booked and this riad had not been written up in the guide books I had consulted prior to my trip. However, our travel agent highly recommended this riad and it turned out to be a wonderful choice. The riad was graciously beautiful and felt genuinely antiqued, not one of the newly constructed riads attempting to pass itself off as the real thing. The staff were discreet, but attentive, friendly, available at a moment's notice, and made us feel like we were staying in a family home. Our room was very large and comfortable with 15+ foot ceilings. The food was all very good, at times excellent and the breakfasts were outstanding. Though located near a school, it was quiet, and it was easy to find, in an area that felt safe and which was well lit. Coming back to the riad after the hustle and bustle of the medina felt like retuning to a peaceful oasis.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Convenient location, gorgeous house, airy terrace with a good view, affectionate staff, and great food. What else could you want? We will definitely come back and recommend the spacious and cool suites across the patio.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Did not stay but had dinner here as recommended by my guide. It was all microwaved (we heard it). The food was stale and inedible. The ghastly smell made me wrench badly.

At 350MAD p/p, it was a total rip-off and the only single bad memory from our entire trip. Pretty enough riad but it was the worst meal we had in Morocco and for many years (since trip to Sumatra).

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elfarouk, Manager at Riad La Perle De La Medina, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Thank you to note that the clients have seen the menu and choose the dishes that we prepared for them and we had to change one dish that they didn't like after and they ate well even the first that we had to change, each kitchen has a microwave but not to warm dishes and more the clients has been accompanied by a guide and who recommendate us for them by all the clients he brought to the riad for dinner and he knows that we cooks on demand and that is why he give us a call to book before and after the meal the customers was not satisfied with something after the guide was about price and we did not like that the clients leave unsatisfied and on my order the clients paid only 500.00 MAD from the total of 924.00 MAD and they was happy to finish.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Beautiful ryad, with mosaics and a wonderful terrace on the roof where We enjoyed some delicious breakfast. Huge de luxe rooms, a bit "cold" for our taste, and really an impeccable service. I want to emphasize how good they have been through this event:
Our lost day in Marocco my wife lost her camera on the taxi to the airport. Well, they where able to find it and send it back to Us in Italy!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We had a really great time during the Sacred Music Festival last year : romantic and cosy, very exciting, relaxed, this trip was perfect and that hotel was perfect for this trip.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Andalous
Dar Al Andalous
#38 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#46 of 92 in Fes
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#22 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#15 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Damia
Riad Damia
#44 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Perle De La Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Perle De La Medina

Address: 16, Derb Bennis - Douh | Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Perle De La Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mysterious Medina of the city of Fes is a cradle of art and knowledge, an architectural masterpiece holding the heritage of twelve centuries, and it is a place of refinement on all levels. Among its differently ornamented palaces, there is a charming pearl in the medina: Riad the Pearl of the Medina is a sumptuous palace rearranged professionally while preserving its authenticity to serve as a house of hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad La Perle De La Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Perle De La Medina Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Perle De La Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.