We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place in Morocco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jaouhara

Save Saved
You added Riad Jaouhara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Jaouhara
11 rue de la Poste | Place Batha, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 163 Fes B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Pleasant surprise -- and head and shoulders above the other "four/five star" hotels in Morocco. Beautiful grounds with gardens and a small pool in the courtyard which was immediately enjoyed by my two teenagers since it was 105-degrees outside. The whole thing seemed to be like out of the movies to us. You could choose where to be served in the courtyard, either in the open tables or the enclosed Sultan-like couches and tables behind the curtains! We lived without a/c the first night and it was incredibly hot but it's becase we weren't working the a/c correctly (our fault). After that, we got it going and it was a pleasant temperature. A great shower. Very spacious room: we booked a "triple" and it included a bedroom with one large bed, a bedroom with two twin beds, and a living room area in between. The bathroom was adequate as well and a nice size (though the water leaked out on the floor-- seems to be a common occurrence with European and Moroccan showers). The room was a little noisy as a lot of partying went on until the early morning on the street below. We coudn't believe how great the meals were. Elaborate yummy awesome Moroccan food, and so much of it! All cooked and served by the manager and his helper. Breakfast the next morning was just as awesome and elaborate. We toured Fes and loved seeing the old city, but after seeing the sanitary conditions, we skipped the "traditional" lunch at the restaurant in the city center and headed back to the riad where we, impromptu, asked if they would serve us a light lunch. We're thinking you know, cucumber sandwiches. Well, they whipped up a huge Moroccan meal again: cous-cous and vegetables, Moroccan salads, kafka beef meat balls in sauce, fruit and cheese for dessert, it just went on and on. And with each meal they brought us still water, sparkling water, Coca Cola (our request) and fresh mint tea. It was a wonderful oasis. Wifi near the reception area. Clean hotel. When we needed some special items on the spur of the moment, the beautiful young lady who handled reception took care of it for us and was so nice the whole time. I wish every place we'd stayed had been this awesome. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you stay here. From the grounds to the rooms to the staff to the food, I don't think you can ask for any more!

Room Tip: Choose a room low to the ground level when it's hot in summer; choose a higher room closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Such a suprise when you open the doors from the Medina to see this jewel! Such a beautiful staff and extremely friendly staff that went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of and safe! Loved eating in the courtyard and soaking our feet in the pool after a long day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Great room, great hotel, great food, great service. Abdoul treated us like royaty. I would highly recommend this place. Still here, so I can't expand right now. I recommend using the travel source across the street for a guided tour which makes trying to negotiate this wonderful but complicated city even more of a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Overall, found this to be really nice stay. We had a very large room/suite and Abdul (who made the picture complete in his Fes and babouches!) was very helpful. He helped with the luggage, escorted us to another restaurant one night, and served us breakfast with a smile. The breakfast was nice, with plenty of food. The orange juice in Morocco is amazing. We had dinner at the riad the night we arrived and it was also good.

It's also worth noting that the fragrance of citrus blossoms in the courtyard is intoxicating! Really a great treat over breakfast or as a welcome back after a day out touring. We found it amusing when we recognized that the photo on the front cover of our tour company's folder (Experience It Tours) was taken in the courtyard at Riad Jaouhara.

The down side? Granted, this was my first stay in a riad, but I was surprised at the lack of light--natural or otherwise inside the room. There are tiny windows with wooden shutters to help keep out the noise, but it was still very noisy outside throughout the night. I would strongly recommend not getting a room facing the alley, if possible. We could hear children and animals into the wee hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the alley, if possible. It was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I investigate our lodging choices prior to selection and I was a bit hesitant to choose this Riad mainly due to the small number of reviews, but I am so happy that we stayed here.
The Riad is beautiful, lovely courtyard and in an excellent location. Once you walk through the door you fall in love with the beauty and peacefulness. Our suite was large and clean with hot water in the bathroom and included a television (that we never turned on) and a minibar (no liquor served here but there is a bar in the nearby Hotel Batha). The meals were delicious. We stayed for four nights and had breakfast each morning and dinner on two evenings. The food was excellent with way too generous proportions. Such great service! Abdul handled everything for us (and others) flawlessly! He is truly the gem of this riad. He does it all from bag handling, reception, serves meals, etc. Several times we saw him running all in order to do multiple tasks and please the guests and with all this work he seemed so happy and eager to please. The location is ideal (and felt very safe) just step out the door and you are in the souk. The staff was very hospitable and eager to help and please however they could. We really enjoyed our stay and I highly recommend Riad Jaouhara.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Riad is AMAZING!!!! It is Fes in every possible way. The gentleman whoworks there does everything, bag handling, reception, serves breakfast, takes your laundry to the cleaners, buys plugs, poses for pics, ...everything with a great smile. Thanks to HIM and the Chef, and the lovely lady at reception, our stay was superb. The room was impressive...ample, spacious, great lounge, bathroom, the beds cozy, extra blankets for the cold nights, A stone throw away fromthe souks, security 7/24, great views, great mosaic work, ....and above all their breakfast was amazing. Nothing like Fes hospitality at this Riad. Loved it, would go back over and over...

Room Tip: a room with view to the patio? We had one facing the riad, yet it offered just a great a view ...peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
573 helpful votes 573 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We are currently on a tour of Morocco and this was our second accommodation. We spent three nights at this riad. The riad is quite lovely, with its center courtyard. There is a small pool and fountain. This area is inviting!

We were given a double suite. The room is very exotic with beautiful ceiling decorations and the walls are decorated with period tiles. It's a very impressive room. Unfortunately, due to the very hight ceilings, at least 18 feet high, the reverse A/C (heat) was not enough, and the rooms were very cold, but we got used to it, and there were plenty of blankets in the wardrobe, which we ended up using!

The bed linens and pillows are a little tired, but were clean.

The bathroom was fine, as well.

Food:

We were on the half-board or "demi-pension" plan, which meant that it included breakfast and dinner, but we opted for the breakfasts only after the first night because, we were the only ones dining in, and it was a bit sad being the only ones there. But, the food was very good quality and delicious. Presentation was also great, and very Moroccan. No complaints about the quality and presentation of the food!

Staff:

Very nice and helpful; they really do try to please, and for that, we're grateful and appreciative!

Need to Know:

There are a lot of stairs to deal with to get to the rooms; we were on the third floor. People with mobility problems should alert management.

Location:

The riad is just a few steps away from all the shopping and historical sights within the medina. By the way, the entire area felt very safe.

On the Wish List:

Wi-Fi, although complimentary, was limited only to the courtyard area, but not inside the dining room, near the reception, and definitely not in the rooms. With the cold days of Fez a few days ago, it was not pleasant to linger outside.

Pet Peeves

One night, around 8:30 pm, I came downstairs to use the wi-fi, and the stairways were dark (switches are easily found though), and the entire courtyard area was pitch-black. While I appreciate there is no "around-the clock" staff, but safety reasons, I think a few lights should be left switched on, on the stairways, and a few lights in the courtyard.

Overall, however, I would recommend this place for its location and service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jaouhara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jaouhara

Address: 11 rue de la Poste | Place Batha, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jaouhara Riad is a place where time suddenly ceases to run and we are drawn back harmoniously to live great memories of this historical site. The riad was built on early twentieth century by one of the well known families of the spiritual city of Fez, the Jouahri family. This is a place where fascinating traditional Moroccan art is joined by state of the art modern equipment for a maximum pleasure and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Jaouhara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jaouhara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.