We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Yacout

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Yacout to your Saves list
Riad El Yacout
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family and I knew we were in for a special treat at Riad El Yacout, as I developed a wonderful email relationship with Kriselda, the manager, prior to arriving in Morocco. She was helpful in offering ideas for our stay in Fez, to make the most of our time. She reserved a driver for our journey from Marrakesh to Fez, as well as Fez to Chefcheouan. Kriselda was willing to make any arrangements needed throughout the country, as well as offer her personal expert recommendations!
She arranged our two days in Fez with the utmost care. We toured the fascinating medina with our excellent guide, "Banana" (his popular nickname). I highly recommend his services. In addition to the medina, we visited the beautiful ceramic and mosaic factory, Art Najil. We also visited the mellah. The following day, Kriselda set us up with a driver to visit Volubilis and Meknes. We could not have been happier with all the plans!
Our stay at Riad El Yacout was akin to living in a palace. Sumptuous fabrics, gorgeous mosaics and exquisite furniture abound in the main area. Breakfast was lovely and filling. Eggs are available on request. I highly recommend a dinner at the riad and ordering the "salad" course. It was a feast. We were brought 13 different little plates... all delicious!
Our room was on the second floor, and luxuriously decorated. We had a separate room with twin beds in addition to our 4 poster canopy queen bed, sofas and a dressing area. And a very large bathroom.
Kriselda is quite special and she will add special to your stay at El Yacout!
Khadijah was also just lovely, and both women are more than ready to help you with anything!
The entire staff was very warm and helpful.
My family and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at El Yacout and felt very much at home!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello again,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is a great compliment to me and my team, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at Riad E Yacout.

It is always a pleasure helping our guests and making sure they enjoy every moment in Beautiful Fez and our riad.

Hope to see you soon in the near future...

Best Wishes and Happy Travels

Kriselda & and the Yacout Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    54
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
38
100
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Located in a renovated old merchants house, this riad is a truly spectacular location. Right near the Blue Gate into the Medina, Yacout has a stunning courtyard and large rooms, as well as very friendly service. It is also nice a quiet - a welcome relief after the hustle of the medina!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi again.

Thank you for your review, we always like to hear from our Guests about their stay.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in our place in Fez. and of course im sure you know that you are always welcom back.

We do have to agree with you on one thing, our Riad provides that calmness and Tranquility one needs after a day of exploring through the streets of the Fez Medina. Nothing a cup of tea by the water fountain cant fix :)

Hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes

Kriselda ATHIMULAM and the Yacout Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The riad el Yacout is a palace in dimensions. The large courtyard is surrounded by a dozen very large marble pillars, sufficient to hold up many 19th century public buildings. The bedroom seemed to have its original decoration, with elaborate casement ceilings, painted with geometric devices, some looking like clocks without numbers and a handsome four-poster bed with curtains. Heating was necessary and we made generous use of a very rattly airconditioner. Service was congenial especially when we discovered one could ask for omelettes at breakfast to bypass the relentlessly sweet offerings which are standard fare in Morocco.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello again.

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests as this is the stepping stone to achieving customer satisfaction.
At Riad Yacout, we like to show off the traditional aspects of the Riad, while we do try to keep the riad as traditional as possible, we do take great care to ensure that the modern comforts for a Luxury holiday in timeless architecture are provided.
You are indeed correct, breakfast in Morocco is usually a sweet affair :)

You are more than welcome back anytime.

Best Wishes
Kriselda and the Yacout Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a less than pleasant stay in the desert, we headed towards Fez for a stay at Riad el Yacout.
We were not prepared for what was hidden with the ancient walls that we walked through to get to their doors.

We were greeted in English (thankfully, as im not multilingual), by a stunningly attractive South African lady, Kriselda (the hotel manager). Her professional service, attention to detail and simple caring manner made our stay at riad yacout our most memorable part of our Morocco travels. Kriselda and her staff are all friendly, kind and ever willing to help. We dined at the in house moroccan restaurant, and were impressed when she, rolled up her sleeves and started assisting in service for dinner too, it was a particulary busy night. Now thats service !

The rooms are this riad, are all well thought out, (you can see it in the way things are arranged and the attention to minor details), it has all the modern conveniences one would need to have a comfortable stay. TV/phones/toiletries/ etc.

This hotel is clean, organized, and a telephone call to reception will get you any assistance that you might need.

I will definitely be back !!!

Thank you Kriselda and the Yacout staff for taking care of us.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor near pool....pretty view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Our Dear Guest.

Thank you for your very kind and appreciative review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Riad and that everything was up to your liking and standards. We are a small but committed family here at Riad Yacout, and helping each other ensures that all our guests are taken care off.

We appreciate greatly your kind words and of course it will be passed on to all members of our staff.

We do hope that you will be compelled to visit again :)

Regards

Kriselda and the Yacout Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Riad El Yacout is one of those rare all-rounders: great location, beautifully appointed, wonderful staff, and tasty food.

After making my way to Bab Boujloud, turning on Google Maps and thinking, "I got this", I proceeded to get completely lost in the Fes medina. Made my way back out and somehow, luckily, I wound up at the Batha fountain. I called the riad, and Kriselda at reception very kindly sent her colleague Yunnus to collect me. So grateful for that!

After a warm welcome, a refreshing cup of tea and some cookies, I was shown to my room. It was clean, well appointed, and comfortable. I didn't have wifi in the room, but it wasn't a problem to sit in the lobby, which is beautiful.

Dinner is also recommended and reasonably priced. The harira was very tasty and filling, and was served with dates and honey pastries. The kefte tagline was yummy, too. Breakfast was included in the rate, and was plentiful - bread, pastries, fruit salad, yogurt, and frsh orange juice.

I was sorry to leave and would gladly come back amytime!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi there !

We were glad to ensure that you arrived safely to the riad :) No worrie, even google maps cant navigate the wonderful mysterious streets and alleys of the Fez Medina ....

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will be back....

Best of wishes and safe travels

Kriselda and the Yacout team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the Yacout in the medina of Fes, and this is a phenomenal hotel. Around 660 years old, the riad features stunning architecture, terrific rooms, and wonderful food. But the highlight is the service - Griselda (sorry if I'm misspelling her name) and her staff go out of their way in making sure that each guest is taken care of like family. Its location in the medina makes it very convenient as well - e.g., you can have your rug delivered to the riad instead of lugging it around with you as you explore the medina. One of the finest hotels that I have ever stayed in - comparable to the historic palace hotels in India, and the historic hotels in Southeast Asia.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello again.

Thank you for the kind words and the very nice review of our riad. It is greatly appreciated by our staff and we strive to ensure every guest leaves as happy as you :)

It was a great pleasure having you guys here and you were wonderful guests, who are more than welcome back at any time to our riad.

Hope to see you soon.

Kriselda and the staff at Riad El yacout Fez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we stayed in this out of this world hotel for a few nights as a friend orgsanised it for us,this was before we realised that U2 had recorded there album there(which is funny as i am irish),and a few princesses also and i can see why,it is an oasis in the hussle and bustle of fes, fes is amazing and old,full of history,which is amaizing but to step through the door into silence and swim in the pool and just relax in the lavish surroundings, thanks to mohammed you are a professional, yet wonderfully friendly manager,you helped us and made us feel so at home,thanks for making our honeymoon so so special. we will be back
thanks again
Ruairi & Anna

Room Tip: stay here!!!! its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Riad El Yacout, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for the wonderful review, it us much appreciated and will be passed on to the whole team.

Fez is a charming traditional city and im pleased you got to experience a bit of its charm with us :)

Im glad you enjoyed your special occassion and it was with us, hope to see you for your first anniversary ... :)

Happy Holidays

The Riad El Yacout team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#15 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Norma
Riad Norma
#20 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#12 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#22 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Yacout

Address: 9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#16 Family Hotel in Fes
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Yacout 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Old medina of the imperial city fez, Riad El Yacout is an ancient private residence of a rich merchant that was restored by a group of talented Fassis craftsmen to its former glory. When you arrive, you will be mesmerized by the serenity and tranquility that reign in the Riad and by the chanting of the birds and water sounds coming from the marble fountain that is gracefully centered in the courtyard.The winter garden exhales soft and refreshing scents. Take time to taste the mint tea in the comfort of the Moroccan living tradition.Admire the Arabo-Andalusian architecture which detects an art of refined living. Columns and arcades set up meticulously with floral and cursive sculptures marvellously engraved on Plaster and cedar doors.Discover the Moroccan gastronomy and enjoy the delights of the rich and varied Moroccan art of cooking. Our dishes are prepared with the finest spices and organic ingredients to give our guests a taste of the real and authentic Fassi cuisine.The meals can be served in patios, Moroccan living room, terraces or in intimacy of your residence according to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yacout Hotel Fes
Riad El Yacout Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Yacout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.