We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis in Fes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Yacout

Save Saved
You added Riad El Yacout to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad El Yacout
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 85 hotels in Fes
Oyster Bay, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis in Fes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a beautiful Riad just a short walk to the souks. The courtyard is a calm oasis to sit and gather your thoughts (or look through your Moroccan guide books) and the terrace on the roof is large and a really great spot for enjoying your breakfast, which was very good. Dinner (pastilla) was really delicious and some of the best food we had in Morocco. The staff was very charming and friendly. Unfortunately my room was right next to the front door so I was aware of everyone coming in and out - so this would be the only negative experience. I would definitely return to Riad Yacout.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    44
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
31
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We loved everything here - the room, the location, the courtyard, the pool, and the staff. Not to mention the best food we had in Morocco.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We (my wife, I and 2 very young kids: 2 years and 4 months old) stayed at Riad Yacout for 3 nights in May 2012. First of all, the Riad is beautiful with intricate stone work, fantastic tile work and great set up. It has a central courtyard with excellent seating where you have all your meals and also can spend time with your loved ones. Better then the Riad itself are the people running it. The daughter of the owner who had just returned after completing her education in Miami was a fantastic host. She was very friendly, courteous and always ready to help to make our stay extremely comfortable. The rest of the staff was also very good. The kitchen staff made very good Morroccan meals (couscous, tagine, soups etc) and their breakfasts very elaborate. The location is actually quite good with close proximity to the blue gate.
Overall, we had a fantastic experience and would highly highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a great experience in a Morroccan Riad.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard either on the bottom floor or upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We and two friends stayed at Riad Yacout for 2 nights on our trip around Morocco with AMT travel. This place is surely a haven of elegance, style and typical Moroccan splendor. The rooms are very comfortable, good beds, very clean, big bathrooms and good showers and fantastic breakfasts being served in the wonderful courtyard. There are lovely views from the terrace over Fes. The staff are charming, friendly and so welcoming. Also the dinner we had on the second night there was just excellent. The owners daughter, who studied in America and speaks perfect English is very charming and helpful. We used the pool in the courtyard to cool off as it was very hot outside. A gem of a place! A. Diaj

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Following a 10 -15 minute walk from the entrance to the Medina, throught a portion of the Souk and then narrow alleys of residences we arrived at the Riad Yacout. Inside the non-descript door it was a different world. Beautiful ceramic tiled walls, larger pillars in the lobby and a large room with a double bed, a small sitting area and a modern bathroom. The staff were very helpful and our two day stay featured a late afternoon entertainment program of music and belly dancing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had 3 delightful nights at this riad in April, which was booked for us through The Travel Source. This was one of the highlights of our 11 day trip to Morocco. We were upgraded to the Royale Suite overlooking the main courtyard. From the moment we stepped into the riad, we were greeted with the loveliest of aromas emanating from the kitchen (we arrived at 6pm) and the warmest of hospitality and humour from the hostess/manager Senae. The staff were efficient, good humoured and attentive to all our needs. We felt right at home; the meals were sensational and the staff were both rather quirky but well trained - a nice balance. This is a rare find - the place looks nothing on the outside, but is another world within-probably why U2 and Bono recorded an album there in 2008. This is a gracious grand old place, well maintained, like an big elegant rambling country house with lots of places to hang out and big divans to flop into. The rooms are all of generous size with a good size bathroom. If you ask, the manager will happily take you down to the kitchen and give you cooking lessons of your favourite Moroccan dish - and the best thing of all you get to eat it too!!! Thank you again Senae and to your team for a very memorable stay!! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms not on the ground floor are quieter. The view looking down onto the central terrace is deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This guesthouse was the perfect sanctuary in the majestic city of Fes. The interior courtyard is so breathtaking that it was filmed in one of Bono's music videos. We had the opportunity to stay in one of the suites on the second floor overlooking the courtyard.The room was stunning .......it had all hand carved wood furniture with ornate detail in each piece, the ceiling had intricate carvings as well, but the best part was the HUGE bathtub fit for a king!! Each room had a airconditioner / heater in it, as well as, a nice seating area and double sinks in the bathroom. The service was impeccable.....I cannot speak highly enough about the staff. Hammid went above and beyond his duty to make sure everything was top notch. Hammid if you are reading this Thank You So Much!!! Anything we needed they were johnny on the spot. This property also features a pool and an upper level terrace that looks out over the town. The old medina shopping area is a couple of blocks away from this property. The guesthouse provides a delicious breakfast consisting of breads , fresh squeashed orange juice, pancake type things with syrup and jelly, cheeses, and eggs anyway you want them prepared. They will also cook a traditonal moroccan meal for around $16 dollars a person that is VERY GOOD! I would like to warn visitors that the outside of the property is less than desireable and kinda scared me at first....we walked down a dirt /gravel pathway past a homeless man's camp area to this big wooden door with heavy locks and a metal grated peep hole. We rang the door bell and we were all very relieved to be at the right place. I would also like to advise all the women travelers to always be accompanied by a male when you are in the old medina shopping area, there are alot of pick pockets and it is not safe to travel unaccompanied by a male.

Room Tip: I would try to get one of the suites on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Yacout

Address: 9 Derb Guebbas Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#18 Family Hotel in Fes
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Yacout 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Old medina of the imperial city fez, Riad El Yacout is an ancient private residence of a rich merchant that was restored by a group of talented Fassis craftsmen to its former glory. When you arrive, you will be mesmerized by the serenity and tranquility that reign in the Riad and by the chanting of the birds and water sounds coming from the marble fountain that is gracefully centered in the courtyard.The winter garden exhales soft and refreshing scents. Take time to taste the mint tea in the comfort of the Moroccan living tradition.Admire the Arabo-Andalusian architecture which detects an art of refined living. Columns and arcades set up meticulously with floral and cursive sculptures marvellously engraved on Plaster and cedar doors.Discover the Moroccan gastronomy and enjoy the delights of the rich and varied Moroccan art of cooking. Our dishes are prepared with the finest spices and organic ingredients to give our guests a taste of the real and authentic Fassi cuisine.The meals can be served in patios, Moroccan living room, terraces or in intimacy of your residence according to your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad El Yacout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yacout Hotel Fes
Riad El Yacout Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Yacout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.