We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeously refurbished, authentic riad with modern comforts, maintaining old warm charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laaroussa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Laaroussa to your Saves list
Riad Laaroussa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Fes
New York
1 review
“Gorgeously refurbished, authentic riad with modern comforts, maintaining old warm charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

From the moment we stepped onto the property we felt transported into luxury. After spending our first few days in Morocco at supposed "five-star" hotels, we were blown away at the quality and beauty of Riad Laroussa. What a refreshing and wonderful surprise right in the heart of the medina!

Wonderful and attentive staff, very friendly and accommodating. Dinner at least one night is a must, the resident cook might just make one of the best tajines in all of Morocco!

I would highly recommend Riad Laroussa to anyone traveling to Fez!

p.s. Riad Laroussa was made even more like home by the friendly greetings of Bill and Tom, the owners' yellow and black labrador retrievers!! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    40
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
415
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We loved staying at Riad Laaroussa, everyone was lovely. The two dogs Bill and Tom were clearly unloved before we arrived, and a bit more affectionate than the cats!
We stayed in the Grey Suite, and it was the perfect room, although there were a lot of stairs, as our private staircase didn't connect to the rooftop. It was exceptionally quiet, as the local mosque seemed to be on the other side of the house. It is nicely stylish without being obviously styled.
Meals were mainly on the rooftop, although one evening was a bit cooler, so they moved dinner down to the courtyard, with the twinkling of the fountain in the background. Breakfast included nice with fruit (the only time we were offered fruit at breakfast) and pastries, and the three course dinner was nicely varied (we ate there all three nights, so they had to vary the options!).
The guide they use was excellent, and he took us out for the whole day on our first whole day. Then Samira took us to the market and it was lovely to see the shooping process in a different culture - quick warning, if you are remotely vegetarian or squemish, avoid all produce markets!
We went for a massage, which was a nice change from the hectic-ness of the city, but we didn't have time to use the full Hamman. Hopefully next time!
We only had three nights there as we were moving onto Meknes, but we could easily have moved in for about a month! Fred is a lovely Frenchman, who worked in London for a while, before buying the Riad about 3 or 4 years ago. It has been fully renovated, structurally it was sound, and we did discover a few of the "before" pictures in our stairwell.
We're trying to work out when we can go back, but annoying Fes has restricted reliable transport from the UK - we'd flown to Marrakesh and used the trains to get there, as we figured that was our best chance of managing to get home on time. One of our fellow guests had had his flight cancelled, so we glad we'd gone to that effort. Hopefully Easyjet will start flying there soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The Riad, the staff, the rooms and the food; -all great ! What more can I say ?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

It was wonderfull week ...famousand various food everydays,very nice staff, incredible beautiful riad !!!! special congratulations for Sabbah ,Samia and the "chef" Fatima .the party for the 09 09 09 on the terrasse was a dream...Thank you again to Fred -the ownner -for his organisation , all my friends were very very happy !
we hope to be back next year...
Natch ,Sao Paulo

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Walking through the main ( hidden and unprepossessing) door from bustling narrow streets of Fes into Riad Laaroussa through the is a complete surprise, like arriving in an Oasis of calm and luxury.

I was not expecting the scale of the rooms, height of the ceilings and intricacy of the original restored decorations. We stayed in the Green suite and felt like royalty.

The service was perfect for us, not sycophantic at all but attentive and friendly. Fred was a charming host and got the perfect balance of being available and super helpful but giving us our own space too. He also did a great job at advising us on an itinerary for our whole trip and hiring us a competitively priced car.

The local wines available are are huge plus as is the enormous comfortable roof terrace,

The only possible downside i felt that Hamman was pretty expensive ( though i guess you are paying for the setting) and for the price offered i did that there could have been more choice of menu at dinner. However the quality and quantity of food was superb.

I would definitely return .

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Riad Laaroussa is the type of place that you should go to if you want a few days to take time out and think about things, read a good book, eat good food and just relax. It's such a contrast to the Fez's busy bustling Medina. The staff were wonderful and there is a real family atmosphere that you just can't find in the run of the mill hotel chains. We had the green suite, which my 2 yr old loved because of the loft ladder up to the mezzanine bed. I was a little less enthusiastic about him climbing up to those heady heights so possibly not the suite for a family with very little ones. All in all a very relaxing and memorable pit-stop for us.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We arrived as strangers and left as Friends, Samira, Fatima, Hind, Sabah - Thank You - for welcoming us into your kitchen and your hearts. You all made our visit to Riad Laaroussa a highlight of our trip to Morocco and a wonderful memory. The Riad is beautiful with large designer generous rooms and facilities including a Hammam, great location. Don't look elsewhere for accomodation the Riad is PERFECT!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Laaroussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laaroussa

Address: 3 Derb Bechara | Fes medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fes
#1 Spa Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Laaroussa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Medina of Fez, Riad Laaroussa opens its doors to you for an exceptional place in a relaxed atmosphere. An immense 17th-century palace, 8 suites and rooms surround a beautiful courtyard with orange trees so that you can relive the splendor of Fez. A huge terrace, a variety of spacious living areas, comfortable and warmly decorated and a very caring staff are at your disposal to make your stay memorable. At Riad Laaroussa, you can also enjoy our spa with a private, authentic hammam and relaxing massages as well as enjoy quality Moroccan cuisine on one of the terraces with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Laaroussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laaroussa Fes
Riad Laaroussa Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laaroussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.